We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms, shame about breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good rooms, shame about breakfast.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arrived late evening for one night on business. Reception staff were very friendly I dis not wait have to wait long to check in although there were many people in front of me. The room was to a good standard finished with all the sockets you may require, even European ones. Very comfortable. The following morning went down for breakfast and although I saw many staff milling about around tables, I had to walk through almost the whole restaurant and look at all the empty tables but could not find one that had been cleared of the previous guests crockery. I settled on a table for four although on my own, as there was a place setting that had not been used. Once going to the self service, there was the standard choice of fare, but the cooked breakfast items were soaked in oil or dry as a crisp! I would suggest if staying here you don't opt for breakfast and find a lovely local cafe in the city instead!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, we very much appreciate your feedback and would like to assure you that the matters you brought to our attention will be looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    298
    155
    44
    28
See reviews for
74
221
72
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
339 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. The room and the bathroom were small and not really quiet. Breakfast was ok and comprised a continental breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located close to Temple Meads train station. Staff friendly and welcoming. Prices below the average.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RenatinoAgatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre very soon. Best regards,

Tomas Bartuskevicius
Guest Service Manager,
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
01179304800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This is very close to the train station, in what appears to be a fairly modern building. The staff are great, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The room is clean, however, you cannot escape the hideous 'drain' smell from the bathroom, where the shower has a broken mixer-tap that is so encrusted in limescale that it must have broken many months ago. You cannot watch the tv in your room as the lead to the arial socket has decayed to such a state that you can see wire, and as such, you can only see people through a blizzard! Not coming back here ...

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

If you have any further questions or would you like to discus it further, do not hesitate please do contact me directly.

Tomas Bartuskevicius
Guest Service Manager - 01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
223 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

And in that sense you're never disappointed - similarly not overly impressed either
It's handy for the station but a little remote from the centre and therefore lacking any kind of infrastructure nearby - no convenience stores - just one ( very good) Italian restaurant
Maybe better in the spring or summer when the 10 minute walk to a more interesting venue would not be so problematic
Don't come here expecting too much - oh the car park is great value

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Hotel is opposite Bristol Temple Meads Station, great location, very convenient for shops, restaurants etc. The Reception staff were extremely helpful, answering questions and moving us to another room immediately when we had a slight problem. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, good hot shower and fluffy towels! Will definately return.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel (overlooking car park) and there was early morning noise when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
It is always great to see such warm feedback coming back from our guests. All reviews, are of course much appreciated as they help us to develop and improve on areas.

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very, very good reception staff - helpful and welcoming. Room very pleasant and protected from noise of traffic. Breakfast is pretty basic - but as expected ... regretted the microwaved 'snack' a very expensive ready meal of the cheapest kind, and no, I wasn't convinced that cardboard nan was a suitable substitution for garlic bread with the Cannelloni...... but very convenient for the station, a good place to get to other part of Bristol and if you want to eat out a very reasonable 'Spoons around the corner and an Italian if you turn right out of the Hotel. Overall very pleased to have such a well-presented and comfortable room - clearly newly refurbished - and above all to have had such excellent staff on duty whilst I was there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlytoptwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review.

If you would like to discuss with me your experience further, please feel free to contact me at any time. Our Bristol team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stop in Bristol and stayed at the hotel due to its close proximity to the main train station. Bus to the airport goes from the station and town is a 15-20 min walk. The staff were very friendly and appeared to do everything they can to help. There is free breakfast but we left too early to take advantage of it. The room is typically for a holiday inn - very basic but clean. They provide a cot without charge and there was free wifi. Good value and would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Hi Lu_rvs,

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you would like to discuss with me your stay further, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind Regards,

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager - 0117 930 4800
sgsm@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#14 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing