We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I am a regular and have always found this particular Holiday Inn to be very clean, comfortable and with good rooms. Reception staff are friendly and helpful and everything you would expect from such a good chain hotel is clearly in evidence. I would not stay anywhere else when in Bristol.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 940nonnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear 940Nonnash

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that our commitments to service and updates to Hotel facilities, are proving positive, particularly for our guests who return visit.

We always do appreciate ideas and suggestions to consistently adapt and improve, so please keep us updated!

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager (HI Express Bristol)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We chose to stay here in Bristol even though we were going on a day trip starting from Bath, as the hotels in Bath were quite a bit more expensive. So the hotel's location right opposite the train station was perfect for us.

Check-in was fast, and the room was up to Holiday Inn's usual high standard - a reasonable size, nicely furnished and warm. Nice comfy duvet. I liked the bathroom, the shower was large and very easy to get in and out of.

Breakfast was okay and included sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs plus the usual bread rolls, yoghurt, fruit etc.

All in all, a very good stay and I'd happily come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest, I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and I will certainly pass on your comments to our team. I know that they will be delighted to learn that their efforts have been appreciated and remembered. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel.

Best regards,
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My Fiance and I arrived at this Holiday Inn due to a cancelled train and were frankly grateful to be let in due the fact we were trying to get in a half past 1 in the morning. Service at the desk was pleasant and helpful.

Rate was very reasonable.

Room was very comfortable, clean and provided everything needed to make ourselves at home. Bathroom was clean and had an incredibly spacious shower.

Breakfast was reasonable with a general continental or cooked breakfast option, although everyone seemed to be ill.

Overall all it was a very nice experience and i thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short comfortable stay in Bristol.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.

Kind regards
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very comfortable room with everything you need for a short stay in the city.Within easy walking distance of the vibrant dock area with its lovely restaurants and night life.parking around the back at £6.00 a day with designated Holiday Inn bays.
Buffet breakfast was okay,continental with sausages and scrambled eggs thrown in.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms and bathrooms clean and bed very comfortable.
Good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back,the view is good too.we were on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentleybelle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arrived late evening for one night on business. Reception staff were very friendly I dis not wait have to wait long to check in although there were many people in front of me. The room was to a good standard finished with all the sockets you may require, even European ones. Very comfortable. The following morning went down for breakfast and although I saw many staff milling about around tables, I had to walk through almost the whole restaurant and look at all the empty tables but could not find one that had been cleared of the previous guests crockery. I settled on a table for four although on my own, as there was a place setting that had not been used. Once going to the self service, there was the standard choice of fare, but the cooked breakfast items were soaked in oil or dry as a crisp! I would suggest if staying here you don't opt for breakfast and find a lovely local cafe in the city instead!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, we very much appreciate your feedback and would like to assure you that the matters you brought to our attention will be looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. The room and the bathroom were small and not really quiet. Breakfast was ok and comprised a continental breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located close to Temple Meads train station. Staff friendly and welcoming. Prices below the average.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank RenatinoAgatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre very soon. Best regards,

Tomas Bartuskevicius
Guest Service Manager,
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
01179304800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This is very close to the train station, in what appears to be a fairly modern building. The staff are great, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The room is clean, however, you cannot escape the hideous 'drain' smell from the bathroom, where the shower has a broken mixer-tap that is so encrusted in limescale that it must have broken many months ago. You cannot watch the tv in your room as the lead to the arial socket has decayed to such a state that you can see wire, and as such, you can only see people through a blizzard! Not coming back here ...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Scott2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

If you have any further questions or would you like to discus it further, do not hesitate please do contact me directly.

Tomas Bartuskevicius
Guest Service Manager - 01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#20 of 39 in Bristol
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £47 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOTICE OF UPCOMING RENOVATION: Our Reception, bar and Great Room lounge are undergoing a major transformation from January to early February 2018. During this time, there will be no food available and guests will receive a continental Grab & Go breakfast. We can't wait to unveil our cool new look! Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing