We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

A fairly basic hotel experience. Rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. Car parking is a bit of a problem, the confirmation implies there is no problem, but in reality they only have 20 places on a first come first served basis.

Food in the evening is very basic and as with all HIEs the cooked breakfast is disappointing. Rooms at the back are quite at night but you get the reversing lorries at 6am in the morning.

Very convenient for the station and not a long walk to the city centre itself.

Room Tip: Probably the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 929ScottB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Peter

Thank you for your feedback. I shall pass over your comments over to our team and of course look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With regards to Breakfast, we are about to commence trialling some new items shortly, so hopefully we can make some improvements there to!

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to ask.

Kind regards


John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager (HI Express Bristol)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    298
    155
    44
    28
See reviews for
74
221
72
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I am a regular and have always found this particular Holiday Inn to be very clean, comfortable and with good rooms. Reception staff are friendly and helpful and everything you would expect from such a good chain hotel is clearly in evidence. I would not stay anywhere else when in Bristol.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 940nonnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear 940Nonnash

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that our commitments to service and updates to Hotel facilities, are proving positive, particularly for our guests who return visit.

We always do appreciate ideas and suggestions to consistently adapt and improve, so please keep us updated!

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

John Morton

Senior Guest Services Manager (HI Express Bristol)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We chose to stay here in Bristol even though we were going on a day trip starting from Bath, as the hotels in Bath were quite a bit more expensive. So the hotel's location right opposite the train station was perfect for us.

Check-in was fast, and the room was up to Holiday Inn's usual high standard - a reasonable size, nicely furnished and warm. Nice comfy duvet. I liked the bathroom, the shower was large and very easy to get in and out of.

Breakfast was okay and included sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs plus the usual bread rolls, yoghurt, fruit etc.

All in all, a very good stay and I'd happily come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest, I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and I will certainly pass on your comments to our team. I know that they will be delighted to learn that their efforts have been appreciated and remembered. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel.

Best regards,
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My Fiance and I arrived at this Holiday Inn due to a cancelled train and were frankly grateful to be let in due the fact we were trying to get in a half past 1 in the morning. Service at the desk was pleasant and helpful.

Rate was very reasonable.

Room was very comfortable, clean and provided everything needed to make ourselves at home. Bathroom was clean and had an incredibly spacious shower.

Breakfast was reasonable with a general continental or cooked breakfast option, although everyone seemed to be ill.

Overall all it was a very nice experience and i thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short comfortable stay in Bristol.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.

Kind regards
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very comfortable room with everything you need for a short stay in the city.Within easy walking distance of the vibrant dock area with its lovely restaurants and night life.parking around the back at £6.00 a day with designated Holiday Inn bays.
Buffet breakfast was okay,continental with sausages and scrambled eggs thrown in.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms and bathrooms clean and bed very comfortable.
Good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back,the view is good too.we were on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentleybelle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arrived late evening for one night on business. Reception staff were very friendly I dis not wait have to wait long to check in although there were many people in front of me. The room was to a good standard finished with all the sockets you may require, even European ones. Very comfortable. The following morning went down for breakfast and although I saw many staff milling about around tables, I had to walk through almost the whole restaurant and look at all the empty tables but could not find one that had been cleared of the previous guests crockery. I settled on a table for four although on my own, as there was a place setting that had not been used. Once going to the self service, there was the standard choice of fare, but the cooked breakfast items were soaked in oil or dry as a crisp! I would suggest if staying here you don't opt for breakfast and find a lovely local cafe in the city instead!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, we very much appreciate your feedback and would like to assure you that the matters you brought to our attention will be looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Manager,
Tomas Bartuskevicius
01179304800
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
339 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. The room and the bathroom were small and not really quiet. Breakfast was ok and comprised a continental breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located close to Temple Meads train station. Staff friendly and welcoming. Prices below the average.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RenatinoAgatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre very soon. Best regards,

Tomas Bartuskevicius
Guest Service Manager,
gsa@hiexpressbristol.co.uk
01179304800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#14 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Address: South End, Temple Gate House, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing