We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, by train station & for airport bus.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel was just up the road in front of you from the train station - which you can also catch an airport bus from too (currently £6 one-way).
Our check-in and staff was excellent - Silvia (italian) nice friendly girl. Our room was on the 6th floor (top), and although it overlooked the main road and traffic, it was quiet due to double-glazing and extra depth glazing too. Our room was very clean, spacious, flat-screen TV, tea & coffee making, drawer & wardrobe space good. Table & chairs in room. Hairdryer. En-suite bathroom, with lovely walk-in shower (all tiled), toilet & washbasin with mirrors & shaving point plug. Very quiet room.
Breakfast included in price - basic - cereals, toast, croissants, sausage & scrambled egg. Juice/tea/coffee machine. Although we did not bother with breakfast in hotel.
Bus stop outside takes you to City centre (not far), Broadmead shopping centre and Cabot Circus mall. Buses also take you close to the Bristol Hippodrome theatre.
Apparently there is a Wetherspoons within about a few minutes walk, but we never bothered to find it. City ferry within walking distance of hotel.
In fact, we have stayed at the Holiday Inn near the airport but now we have found this delightful hotel we would stay here - thoroughly highly RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2011

Dear Wellie4Somerset

I would like to thank you on behalf of my team for the great comment posted and also for sharing your Bristol experience with your fellow travellers.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

The hotel is opposite Temple Meads railway station and its position makes it ideal as a base to visit Bath and the sites of Bristol, such as the SS Great Britain. My room at the back of the hotel was quiet, clean, comfortable, well decorated and well maintained. The only minor criticism I would make is that the lighting in the bathroom was not bright enough: shaving was a little difficult as a result. All of the staff were polite and helpful. A buffet breakfast is available in a spacious area next to reception, and consists of cereals, bread (and a means of toasting it), Danish pastries plus scrambled egg and sausage. There is a lift that serves the upper floors.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxonpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2011

Dear Solo Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online. I am glad to hear the team has provided good customer service and that the hotel met with your high standards. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Lisa De La Cour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Below expectations, but very very pleasant and nice

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank GeorgeT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2011

Dear GeorgeT1,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a comment regarding your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that will fell below your expectations on this occasion.

I hope we will see you again in the future.

Regards
Lisa De La Cour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The staff at this hotel were very welcoming and helpful. When my Priority card proved to be out of date they went out of their way to make sure my points were attributed to my correct account. The hotel was clean and comfortable.
The only downside was that the temperature of the shower was tepid and the croissants at breakfast had been left in the warmer far too long and were hard. These are only minor comments and were amply made up for by the pleasant staff

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tooththetooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2011

Dear Tooththetooth,

Thank you for taking time and letting us know your views. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff so helpful. Your comment regarding the breakfast is much appreciated and has been passed to our Breakfast department to review and improve the level of standards. With regards to shower temperature, we have talked to the maintenance team to ensure shower temperature checks are carried out more frequently to ensure we know of any problem before the guests.

We hope to see you again in the future

Regards
Lisa De La Cour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

With HE Express you know what to expect and, sadly, the UK version is nowhere near as good as the USA version. It is an unattractive building with tricky access and a noisy location. In our two night stay we had a sink which barely drained, a weak shower and a room heating system which didn't work at all. The staff certainly cared and did their very best to make us comfortable but the fact remains that a refurbished office block is a bad place to start when designing a hotel and it shows. Breakfast was standard fare but a bit better than average for the HE chain. Great location for main train station and easy for walking into town. Parking is extra (a fact not obvious from the web-site) and we suspect that, overall, there are better places to stay for the same money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Dear Keswick Traveller

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the team for posting a review online. Please be reassured that maintenance issues have been discussed and approriate actions are taken to correct them. Also we are glad to hear that the team has provided good customer service as we strive to maintain and deliver a high level of service standards.

Thank you again for your comments
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Didn't really plan on being in Bristol, but thanks to Easyjet diverting our flights here and then keeping us for 4 hours at the airport whilst they advised they had no more hotel rooms to give passengers from 20 diverted planes, before deciding to bus people to the centre of town to catch a train back to London at their own expense, i discovered this option just opposite Temple Meads station and though why not,especially as it was 5am and extremely cold.
The good news was they had a room. So Easyjet obviously don't try hard enough to locate this option 4 miles from the airport in the centre of town. £92.00 got me a room which was basically a travelodge type room in a previous life, and of a dated variety.The main downsides here are: Vending machines downstairs empty Sleep quality was rather bad as the air conditiong system rattled with the very cold weather all night. Doors slamming in the morning and you could hear the cleaners making lots of noise with hoovers etc from about 9am in the morning.
At least it was warm which was more than can be said for the temperature outside that night and was thankful they did have a room.
If I do venture down to Bristol again, I will try another hotel however just out of preference rather than necessity.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Dear Outrun78

I am sorry to hear that you have had an unpleasant experience with the cold weather and diverted flight, however, am glad to know that we were able to accommodate you in time of needs. Your comments regarding housekeeping and maintenance have been passed on to the relevant personnel to action. We hope your return to Bristol in the future is better than the last visit as it is a cosmopolitan city with numerous tourist attractions.

Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Great location opposite the main train station in Bristol. Clean & functional, fairly comfy beds, but nothing more - a Travelodge really.
They make a big thing of their "Complimentary Breakfast", but it was truly awful. Dry bitty scrambled eggs, over-cooked hard petrol-station sausages (possibly just 0.5% over the minimum % needed to actually call it a sausage rather than a banger!) & a few pastries. Staff not interested in clearing tables or restocking food overly swiftly (even had to hassle for a fork to eat my grim food with). Would really far rather they charged for breakfast & offered something decent!
But, for it's price in a city centre, after a long work day when all I wanted to do was collapse on a bed out of the snow, if was fine. Please don't book with the expectation of anything more glamorous or luxurious!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBristol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2010

Dear VH1975

We would like to thank you for taking your time to post your comment. Hot Breakfast were introduced early part of 2010 into all Holiday Inn Expresses as added value to the customers. It was unfortunate that the breakfast service and items were not our usual high standards. Your comments regarding the service has been passed back to our Breakfast team to review, investigate and improve the level of standards

Regards
Sharine Carrow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#14 of 39 in Bristol
1,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre

Address: South END Temple Gate, Bristol BS1 6PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £60 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre offers good value, modern hotel accommodation in the heart of Bristol. Located directly opposite Temple Meads Train Station, our modern hotel offers rates including breakfast and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing