We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bristol Hotel”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Bristol Hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stop in Bristol or any of their other chain if the hotel is as good as the one in Bristol. I had a seamless professional quality experience that made my weekend so much more enjoyable. One thing a traveller needs is a well run hotel with quality service and that’s what I got when I stopped at the Bristol Hotel on Prince Street. I was advised of updates by the service desk regular before and after my trip which gave me confidence all was OK with my stay for the weekend. The breakfast was very good and the room I stopped in was lovely. The car parking was complementary and right next to the hotel with access to the rooms via the car park. I did feel as though the hotel would go the extra length to meet your needs and that makes your stay even better. Business or pleasure I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the river, 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,829
    1,164
    342
    112
    62
See reviews for
349
1,879
127
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Bristol is now firmly entrenched as our favourite hotel in Bristol. It's close to everywhere, reasonably priced (£125 for a double) and has a good bar and restaurant. The service is immaculate and very friendly (they even gave us the newspapers for free !) We only stayed one night this time but we'll be back ! Travelled by train from London - if you do your research, you can get return tickets for £50 for two. If you drive, NCP parking is next to the hotel and you can get there direct from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river NOT the inside "atrium".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelcham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Bristol Hotel was a great hotel to stay in, we stayed here for the night as we were seeing a show in the bristol hippodrome which was 2 mins walk away, the hotel staff really made our stay a good one and were really friendly and helpful, our room was really clean and up to date, loads of extras in our room and the views of the canel were lovely, i would really recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Couldn't fault the hotel service, cleanliness and value. We felt pampered as soon as we arrived and every effort was made to make our stay as enjoyable as possible even with coming down late for breakfast and checkout. An added touch was the live pianist playing the grand piano at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engagedbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night after it was recommended by my Dad. We found the best prices on line on the hotels own website, and they were doing some good deals, which meant it was much better value to have breakfast and one of their packages(dine on the dock), than just get a room.
The front of the hotel is on a main street, where it's easy to pull up in a car/taxi. There is a car park adjoined to the hotel, and once you have your room card, you can walk straight from the car park, onto your floor in the hotel. As we stayed on a weekend, free car parking was included in the room price....all you have to do is get your car park ticket validated by the hotel.
The hotel itself is nice and modern and seems to have been recently refurbished. We had booked a deluxe room with a king size bed and had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the river. It was a nice spacious room with good views. As some others have mentioned the room can be quite warm, but it's easily cooled with the air conditioning. All the windows open too, and whilst there is a bit of noise from the bars etc opposite, it never bothered us. Some people have mentioned the bathrooms are small, but whilst not massive, I managed to get my wheelchair into ours and move around ok. We only had a shower in our bathroom, but it was a nice large one with a lovely overhead "waterfall" style showerhead which provided plenty of hot water and was lovely.
Part of our deal was a glass of pimms and a 3 course dinner on the first night. As I can only walk short distances without a wheelchair, I was a little worried about the number of steps inside and around the bar restaurant area, but it was never a problem. We had drinks in the bar area and then walked down a flight of stairs to the riverside restaurant and had a lovely window table, with views over the water and surrounding area. The 3 course menu we could select from wasn't massive, but had enough options and we really enjoyed all 3 courses. The drinks prices aren't the cheapest, but then it's not a cheap hotel.
Breakfast the next morning was in the same restaurant and a buffet style and good. The hotel is fairly centrally located and so we had a day walking and sightseeing around the local area.
Overall it was a good experience. Only slightly marred by breakfast on the Sunday morning. As the hotel was quite full, when we went down for breakfast the normal restaurant was full, and so we were put in a conference room with a few other guests. It's an ok room, but nowhere as nice as the main restaurant. We did mention this at reception and said it was a bit of a disappointment and also not in keeping with the rest of the hotel experience. The staff we spoke to were very polite and made a goodwill gesture on our bill when we came to check out. We'd definitely stay here again.
As a side note, the hotel has level access from the pavement into reception and from the restaurant onto the riverside. There are 2 decent sized lifts to get upto your room, and we used a standard room and found there to be plenty of room for my wheelchair. The only issue is that there are several steps upto the bar area, so if you can't walk short distances, you won't be able to access that, but they do have a side route, so you can access the restaurant via ramps.

Room Tip: Rooms on the riverside of the hotel have decent views over the river, but only stay in them if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for just one night to do a little sightseeing in Bristol, and wish we'd had more time. The hotel is in a perfect location for the Arnolfini centre, several galleries, the MShed museum, (fabulous!), the Cathedral and St. Mary Radcliffe, restaurants and pubs.
The hotel's exterior is the only thing that lets it down. It's apparently an old building and it really does need a new finish on the outside. However, once inside, the recent renovations are quite apparent. The reception area and main lobby are very impressive, with comfortable seating areas throughout. Checking-in was fast and our room was on the 6th floor, overlooking the river and the pedestrian areas below. Although small, as most European hotel rooms, are, the room was immaculate and the bathroom was lovely. Beautiful toiletries and good quality linens. The breakfast buffet was varied, with everything from muesli and yoghourt to a Full English, and in a lovely location overlooking the water. We were very impressed with all of the staff - without exception, they were pleasant, professional and helpful. If not for the dull exterior of the building itself, I would rate the Bristol a "Five", and I will definitely stay there again, should I be in the area. Many thanks for a most enjoyable stay, (although too short!).

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the water...lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynB1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester, england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

stayed at the bristol hotel last weekend 2nd til 4th sep booked direct with hotel good price great room on 5th floor overlooking the river really good buzz, great shower / bathroom, ipod dock big tv...massive bed very comfy, didnt do breakfast... lots of good places local if you like a late sleep, would recommend bordeaux quay across river lovely eggs benedict. Yes it is a bit noisy weeknds busy bars across the water, but if it bothers you shut the window and turn on the ac. Great bar boat on the front ( out at front of hotel and turn right walk 5 mins) lots to see and do loved my first time in bristol.

Room Tip: Bath is 12 miles away...def worth a visit...smashing shops and eateries, and the Roman baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing