We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely night in Bristol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely night in Bristol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at the hotel, and both times I have had a fantastic stay! With friendly staff and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,773
    1,137
    335
    109
    56
See reviews for
326
1,834
124
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Nice hotel, staff very polite, rooms were very nice, quiet even though in the middle of Bristol, great location, breakfast was great, and view from the restaurant was fab!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomkirnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was a wonderful relaxing long weekend, we booked the hotel as it was close to the hippodrome, we had tickets to see Dirty Dancing as my niece was in the show. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted very walmly and efficiently at reception, our room was inviting and comfortable. We had planned to leave the hotel on Sunday morning, but a few days prior to our arrival we received a very informative email from the hotel advising us that the roads around the hotel would be closed from 4.30am in the morning till 3.00pm Sunday afternoon as The Bristol Half Marathon was to take place. The email offered other parking suggestions should we wish to leave early, or we could keep our room at no extra charge till 3.00pm. We chose to stay in Bristol for the extra day, and extend our break, we will certainly return to this lovely Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Room, and it certainly was just that, the room was situauted at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stop in Bristol or any of their other chain if the hotel is as good as the one in Bristol. I had a seamless professional quality experience that made my weekend so much more enjoyable. One thing a traveller needs is a well run hotel with quality service and that’s what I got when I stopped at the Bristol Hotel on Prince Street. I was advised of updates by the service desk regular before and after my trip which gave me confidence all was OK with my stay for the weekend. The breakfast was very good and the room I stopped in was lovely. The car parking was complementary and right next to the hotel with access to the rooms via the car park. I did feel as though the hotel would go the extra length to meet your needs and that makes your stay even better. Business or pleasure I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the river, 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Bristol is now firmly entrenched as our favourite hotel in Bristol. It's close to everywhere, reasonably priced (£125 for a double) and has a good bar and restaurant. The service is immaculate and very friendly (they even gave us the newspapers for free !) We only stayed one night this time but we'll be back ! Travelled by train from London - if you do your research, you can get return tickets for £50 for two. If you drive, NCP parking is next to the hotel and you can get there direct from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river NOT the inside "atrium".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelcham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Bristol Hotel was a great hotel to stay in, we stayed here for the night as we were seeing a show in the bristol hippodrome which was 2 mins walk away, the hotel staff really made our stay a good one and were really friendly and helpful, our room was really clean and up to date, loads of extras in our room and the views of the canel were lovely, i would really recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Couldn't fault the hotel service, cleanliness and value. We felt pampered as soon as we arrived and every effort was made to make our stay as enjoyable as possible even with coming down late for breakfast and checkout. An added touch was the live pianist playing the grand piano at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engagedbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing