We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect on all counts”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect on all counts”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My Girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at The Bristol hotel. We went for no other reason than to explore the fab city of Bristol and we found the hotel to be a real gem! On arrival we went straight into the attached car park where we found a space immediately. Once packed our ticket was validated and we were told we could come and go as much as we liked.
After a very swift check in we entered our room and found it to be very impressive. We had opted for one of the hotels packages that entitled us to a room upgrade and it did not disappoint. There was far more to the room than we needed but it was a real luxury.
We came and went from the hotel always being greeted with kindness and courtesy from the staff. We also had breakfast the next day and it was wonderful. Along with a incredible spread our meal was accompanied by the playing of a piano.

All in all we loved our stay the hotel was beautiful inside and nothing was too much bother for the staff. We will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    1,204
    355
    112
    63
See reviews for
367
1,939
132
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Really excellent location, there is so much new development in Bristol, and lots happening. The Bristol hotel is the ideal hotel to stay at so you can feel the great Buzz of Bristol.
Great that the parking is free over the weekend, even if you check out early the following day the hotel still allows you to leave your car in the car park.
Staff are all so welcoming and friendly, front of house, staff at breakfast and even the lovely ladies that clean and look after the rooms.

Room Tip: Room with a view. Is noisy if you leave the window open but there is air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandDSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

we have stayed at the bristol hotel twice now and both times were a pleasure. Great rooms, great food and a lovely location. Within walking distance to shops, pubs and theatre. Staff were professional and friendly. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here over a weekend. Parking is very convenient with direct access to the hotel floor you are staying on.
Service is good.
Location is very good for exploring city centre.
However sound insulation in the room we were staying in was very poor. We could hear all the pillow talk and nocturnal goings on of the couple next door.
The rooms were very warm as well with no information as to how the temperature could be regulated without opening the windows(which let in all the noise from the revellers in the street below)
All in all cannot we unfortunately recommend this hotel if you are sensitive to noise.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have stayed at The Bristol Hotel twice now when in town (The 'Spa Day' at the 'Lido' in Bristol is the best in England), and each time it has been quite simply perfect. The staff could not have possibly been kinder, more polite or more attentive but without being at all obsequious or obvious. The lovely girl at reception welcomed us and offered a selection of rooms each whicjh she showed to us patiently- even making the booking, and checking in and out, the service was impeccable. The barman for after dinner drinks was a wizz and knew everything one could know about cocktails and made wonderful drinks with his own charming flourish. The room was lovely, quiet, comfortable and (remarkably, for any hotel I have EVER stayed in) the room temperature was perfect at all times! There where many small details thoroughout the hotel that had been well considered and all the tiny touches with the interior design showed that corners where not being cut with the small things. The perfect stay in a hotel is one where you never notice anything at all- no noise, no discomfort, no lack of anything and that one feels welcome and 'at home' at once. The only things one does notice is how easy the stay was! Can't find single fault and this is the first time ever I have been prompted to write and say what a great pleasure my experience with all the staff and everything about my stay, simply couldn't have been better. I need not say that I can recommend The Bristol Hotel wholeheartedly!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxevolupte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 night as visited the town for the Bristol Half marathon. The reception area / lobby etc is all very nice and fresh and welcoming. The room we had was very clean and comfortable and the double bed was very welcoming. The bathroom was very nice too, amenities provided which helped. Nice flat screen TV, wireless etc. Have no grumbles with this hotel at all and would come back here again if I visit Bristol, which I intend to do as I was very surprised at what a nice city it is. Hotel car park next door which is complimentary on weekends is a big plus especially as you can walk from your room floor to the car park and no need to exit downstairs and back up the car park etc. Did not use the hotel restaurant or bar as went out to meet friends. Hotel is well located to bars, harbour etc.

Room Tip: Requested a view overlooking the harbour at time of booking which hotel were kind enough to provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianchilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just spent the weekend at the Bristol hotel, we booked the 'passion package' .
our room was uprgraded to a deluxe with a river view, i couldnt fault the room, nice and spacious and clean. We we given a 'passion kit' and also champagne and chocolate dipped fruit on arrival.
The service was excellent, the parking was free in the adjoining NCP car park.
The hotel is in a great location opposite many bars and restaurants. It is about a 5 minute walk to the theatre and shopping areas.
We were really impressed with the hotel, the staff were very friendly and very attentive.
Well done to the Bristol Hotel staff. We will definately return.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudger_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing