We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bristol brilliance”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Bristol brilliance”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were looking for a short notice, last minute weekend break, not too expensive and not too far away. We booked The Bristol Hotel on the Tuesday through an online agent and were settled into our room that Friday afternoon. The reception staff, were both able and courteous and explained how we could park our car for free, for the weekend within the next door NCP. This car park is so handy with access provided on each floor of the hotel, so you really do not need to struggle with your luggage, well not too far!
Having had regard to previous reviews, we asked for a room overlooking the marina, which we got, we were in room 135 and it was delightful, overlooking a canal and moorings. The decor is a little tired and the carpet in need of replacing, which it seems the hotel is in the process of doing, well we saw and heard evidence of carpets being replaced.
We had trouble with the room heating and a charming chap turned up and sorted out the room heater, within minutes of us putting down the phone.
The Hotel is well situated for the city centre and the numerous museums. We booked the Bristol Hippodrome, ‘Dreamboats and Petticoats’, for the Saturday afternoon and it was only a five minute walk away.
The breakfasts were as good as any we have had anywhere, although we stuck to the buffet, you could order virtually anything. The service was exceptional, the staff very friendly and helpful. A complementary paper was provided at breakfast, and on the Sunday morning, background music was provided by a pianist.
We had one evening meal within the hotel restaurant which we both thoroughly enjoyed.
You will always find something to moan about if you look hard enough, but on the whole this was an exceptional value weekend break, I cannot recommend it enough!
Regards Drusy

Room Tip: Ask for the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drusiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,890
    1,201
    355
    112
    63
See reviews for
366
1,933
131
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My partner and I booked the sweet retreat package, considered it to be very good value. Chocolates and wine to the room and breakfast included.The rooms are simply stunning, clean and modern bathroom. Good location. Friendly staff and good breakfast. No complaints whatsoever and would definitely recommend. Super - cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuonViaggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have just come back from this hotel and had a lovely stay. Good bedroom and en suite (although a little small). The breakfast was really good and they really made our little girl welcome with hot chocolate and a special princess seat!! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would really recommend this hotel. Lovely location too....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmudgeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Bristol hotel manages to combine both elegance and calm in such a way that my 8 day stay was so enjoyable that I was quite sad to leave! The staff are to be commended for their courtesy, efficiency and, above all, friendliness. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The room was warm, comfortable and very clean and the overall atmosphere of the hotel was such that it is a hotel I would recommend without hesitation. It is situated on the canal, and offers both a scenic view and the nearness of a vibrant nightlife without, however, noise being intrusive thanks to the double glazing in the rooms. It is only a short walk from Bristol City centre and Bristol Cathedral, and Queen Square, which is just across the road is an inviting open space with elegant architecture.

Room Tip: If you have time to admire the view, ask for a room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

In Bristol for business, so I did not book this hotel, this was done centrally by the firm. But I'm glad I stayed here. Terrific setting overlooking the Floating Harbour. Rooms a little small, but comfortable. Weird TV control system( Freeview) was frustrating but apart from that, I'd recommend the Bristol.
I ate dinner one evening and was really pleased with the quality of the cooking, the waiters and restaurant manager(ess) were lovely.Breakfast ( a buffet) is good ,too, with plenty of choice.
The restaurant has great views looking out over the harbour and all the people streaming to work over the bridge.
Best of all, as I left, the receptionist noticed that the timing on my car park ticket meant that I had parked just 6 minutes too early to take advantage of the free overnight parking. So it would cost me £6 for 6 minutes! "That's wrong" she said, and passed me a "free parking" ticket! Thank you Hotel Bristol! Real customer care.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My family and I stayed on a Saturday night. The hotel appears to have been recently redecorated and refurbished and has the appearance and presentation of somewhere considerably more expensive. Our rooms were large, well equipped and comfortable with good showers. Effective double glazing prevented any noise from the street. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is perhaps rather quiet at weekends, and so although we did not hear noise from other guests, that may be because there were none close by - the walls did seem a little thin. The only significant disappointment was the restaurant, which was bland and overpriced (laminated menus are always a clue), although the breakfast, by contrast, was excellent. At advance booking rates of less than £90 for a double room, our stay was truly excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rog2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Friendly staff, nice decor, good views from harbourside upper rooms, great location, city centre parking included.
We were on the top floor which is a slighty strange structure appended to the roof of the carpark. The floor in the main room wobbled a fair bit which made the tv shake. The room wasn't huge and neither was the bathroom but they were well appointed.
Being so central means that the mains sites are all nearby.
I'd look to stay here again if we're in Bristol.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konono_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing