We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night stay”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed last night (Saturday), there was 4 of us for my friend's birthday. I have stayed here previously. Free parking at the weekend is great and the NCP car park is attached to the hotel. No problems getting a space. The reception is very smart and perfect check in. There are two lifts. One wasn't working but as an apology when we checked in they gave us all a voucher for a drink for the inconvenience. This is well above what a normal hotel would do. Lovely touch, great start. Had a nice size room, nice and smart with decent bathroom. Really liked the shower, big head and also a separate hose for hair washing. Nice comfy bed, all very good. Had a few drinks in the bar at the beginning of the evening and ended in there. Great service from the barman and waitress. Lovely cocktails available and it's over looking the water. Location of the hotel was perfect for us, close to a number of lovely restaurants to wobble to in our heels!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmynAdamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,680)
There are newer reviews for The Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,814 - 2,820 of 3,680 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

Any hotel that is happy to take on a family of 7 (incl. 5 under 7 yrs of age) would be in my good books! I had to attend a conference and brought my family - for them to explore Bristol. The Bristol Hotel fitted our budget and were willing to take all of us in ONE family room. The location was very convenient as we were 10min from the Cathedral. Our views on the 5th floor were excellent as we were overlooking the river. Breakfast was very good and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JensonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I had to travel from Penzance for day surgery at Bristol Dental Hospital & needed a hotel in central Bristol for a one night stay. Arriving at 9 am, the very pleasant receptionist explained they didn't have any rooms ready but undertook the necessary paperwork & said they would prioritise preparing our room. On our return, the receptionist enquired about my welfare, & gave us the room key. The room was a good size, immaculate, lovely views & easily controllable heating. Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will certainly be back for a social visit. Thank you to everyone at the Bristol Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2ndmrsrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I've stayed in the Bristol hotel a couple of times when in Bristol on business. It's situated right along the dock, in the middle of a really buzzing area with lots of bars, restaurants and shops right on the doorstep. Both the hotel and the local area feel very safe and comfortable, important if you're traveling alone. The views out over the dock from the hotel are great and the soundproofing is good enough that even on the first floor there is very little noise bleed through.

The hotel felt pleasant in lots of ways. There were nice spaces to sit and relax for a few minutes or grab a quick chat with someone, and the conference spaces also worked very well. My room was small but perfectly formed, with a comfortable double bed and a good sized desk to work at. We were in a cold snap when I visited and I was aware it could have been warmer but given that most hotels are far too warm, this wasn't something I would have complained about. It's worth bringing a jumper though if you feel the cold. Though they will give you a little extra room heater if you need it.

I didn't go for an inclusive breakfast and I was glad about this since there are so many cafes and bars nearby it seemed nicer to get out for a few minutes. Although the breakfast room overlooks the water and it would have been nice to eat there. There was food served as part of the conference I was attending and it was all very tasty and served with a smile. Staff were generally very efficient throughout but also pleasant.

The hotel gym was reasonably well equipped with cardio equipment and a couple of weights machines. I missed not having any hand weights (except some medicine balls) but that's personal preference.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again, for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterside room. And if you're particularly sensitive to noise, better to be on the up...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belfastgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Our first time at this hotel and very impressed. It's in a great location overlooking the floating harbour. Although the weather outside was cold and horrid, the staff were friendly and welcoming with the bar a particularly relaxing venue. Serving local real ale too. How cool is that. Our room on the top floor overlooking the harbour was nicely sumptuous with all the goodies we've come to expect from a quality hotel. The restaurant, again with harbour views, served an extensive buffet breakfast to a good standard. The evening meal, a la carte or table d'hote we felt could have had a bit more choice and the food was slightly disappointing when it arrived. Again though the staff were friendly and efficient and we had a pleasant meal. To find the adjacent NCP car park free to residents was an added bonus. We just left our car there all weekend as the hotel is so central to most attractions. We will definitely book this hotel again and strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbour provides a great atmosphere
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us.

I'm delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance they looked after you the way they did.

The best rate are available on our website and we look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Raphael Herzog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have stayed at the Bristol Hotel several times now and have always thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are always friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and on this occasion when I left a note asking for more milk etc from housekeeping they went out of their way and made sure that absolutely everything was replenished - more than we could possibly have used. The food as always was lovely and we especially enjoyed the old boy tinkling away at the piano whilst we had a leisurely breakfast reading the papers. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be going back again for a few weekend breaks next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This really is a good hotel. This was a repeat visit and it was just as good. It is well placed, very clean and modern without being minimalist! Very nice staff and great hotel bar. Free parking is a huge plus. Will return again!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £82 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing