We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

From the beginning of our stay to the end we were totally impressed by this hotel. The free car parking for weekend guests with direct access from most floors was a good start.They had listened to our request for a high room facing the water as that was exactly what we got. The location could not be better, harbourside and within walking distance of all the main attractions and city centre shops. The hotel is stylish, clean and comfortable in both public areas and the bedrooms. We booked the sweet retreat package and loved the wine that came with it.
We had a snack in the bar area the first evening and then a full meal in the restaurant on our second night and really enjoyed the high standard of the food. The breakfast was also great with a good selection available.The staff were all very helpful and polite and made us feel very welcome, We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to some of our friends and family.

Room Tip: At the weekend there can be noise from the bars opposite ie across the water but we were on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Hazelmellor,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and it is great to hear you had a "wonderful weekend".

Our restaurant team were particularly happy with your comments on breakfast and Dinner!!

We are glad you availed of our free car parking, we are trying to make this a permanent feature.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,808
    1,152
    339
    111
    59
See reviews for
340
1,861
126
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

I have used this hotel a few times when on business in Bristol. It's a great location within walking distance of the main Harbourside hub. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished and well equipped. I have used the restaurant and bar and they are comfortable, good food and service and overall the staff are friendly/helpful. I would use this for a city break with my husband, it's good value and feels well run.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Jackie L,

Thank you for your review,

We are delighted to be your hotel of choice when in Bristol.

Keep an eye on our website if you are looking to get away on that "weekend break" we do some wonderful packages which are very good value,

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Bristol Hotel is quite simply fabulous.

Great location on the floating harbour area of Bristol it is right on the water and really well located for Bristol Temple Meads Station and all the city centre attractions.

The hotel itself is very stylish from the public areas of the lobby, bar and restaurant to the corridors and finally the rooms.

The rooms are of a very high standard. Recently refurbished everything works and looks great. The rooms are big and light and well equipped. Quiet with lovely big windows.

From a business perspective the rooms have a large desk, free wifi, Nespresso coffee machines and really comfortable beds with lovely linen. Nice bathroom, although a little compact but with nice towels and products.

The staff could not have been more helpful at reception, in the bar or in the restaurant.

I am really looking forward to my next trip to Bristol so I can stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicporter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear nicporter1,

Thank you for your great review, I could not have done it better if I wrote it myself!!

If you are regular to The Bristol Hotel please consider joining our GHA loyalty programme which offers perks such as complimentary upgrades, water in room as well as other amenities that are ideal for the business traveller.

we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bristol Hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Ok so weve officially come down from cloud 9 now and wanted to share with everyone how fantastic the bristol hotel and ALL its staff were on our wedding day! We held the whole day from ceremony right through to wedding breakfast and reception at the hotel and i can genuinely say that it was the best day of our lives... infact best weekend of our lives, we stayed at the hotel on the friday night and ate in the restuarant. The meal was excellent and all 10 of us that ate were very very impressed! Rooms were clean and tidy and also a very good size (we were given a special rate for the wedding and the hotel really didnt skimp on any details) fabulous rooms and a great nights sleep! On the big day all of the staff were fantastic and i really mean fantastic, everyone was so genuine and friendly and kris who was our mc was just brilliant! I didnt have to worry about anything as the hotel had thought of absolutly everything even pointing us in the right direction for decorations and flowers and also by providing us with a dj who i have to say was top notch... everyone commented on how good he was! We had 100 guests to the breakfast and the food was just wonderful aswell as the wine which was supplied throughout the meal, the waiting staff were also excellent! Everything went so smoothly and we really wanted to show our gratitude! Our `disco` went on till 1am and the staff were still there till the very end! The honey moon suit was also fantastic with complementary bubbley! Also we didnt have to be out till 12 which was brilliant as my new hubby was a little worse for wear! Both days were buffet breakfasts which were also very very nice! I honestly cannot thank the staff enough... from the initial planning right through to the day they were all fantastic (especially jenny and maria) and i would highly recommend this as a wedding venue for anyone that is looking :) the only bad thing is that its all over!! We will definately be coming back to stay at the hotel again! A massive massive thank you to you all.... So to sum it all up... fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic value! Xxx emma and nathan

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma19901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Emma & Nathan,

Thank you for your great wedding review,

It was an absolute pleasure to help make your wedding day perfect for you both.

We hope the Honeymoon gave you a chance to wind down and relax!!

Please call in and see us any time you are in the area and we look forward to having you back in 12 months for your first anniversary.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the umpteenth time we have stayed here. It is a good quality hotel near the city centre and attractions. Decor and ambience are excellent, the majority of rooms are very spacious and of a high standard. Breakfast is good and you can enjoy a view of the floating harbour while you eat and if it is Sunday morning there is a pianist as well. You can park your car in the same building and there is no overnight/weekend charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Ouhouse,

Thank you for your review,

I am glad you enjoy our Pianist on Sunday mornings, Harbour side location and free car parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bristol Hotel in the near future and remember our best available rates are found on our direct website,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I purchased one night at the Bristol Hotel via Secret Escapes for £89 (Deluxe room inc B'fast). The hotel is modern, clean and well equipped. The overnight stay was enjoyable but the following constructive comments would be worth noting by the hotel management and potential guests:

The room was a good size, but the ensuite was small however perfectly adequate with a good shower control;
WiFi worked easily;
I emailed the day before to check on the check in time and received a prompt reply advising 2.00pm, but when we arrived at just gone 2.00pm, our room was not ready. No problem; so we had a cup of tea and returned 30 mins later to be dealt with by a different receptionist, who told us that our room was still not ready. We waited and 10 mins later the room was still not ready (receptionist number three dealt with that). Eventually our room was made ready at 3.00pm. My point is that during this time no one took my mobile number to call when the room was ready or to come and find us - not good;
The room did not have the bath robes, complimentary water and slippers (as advised on Secret Sales). These were quickly provided when raised with reception;
Breakfast was standard buffet style and was acceptable.
Car parking was easy to find at NCP next doot. We received a concession ticket at reception (saving £20) very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for you useful constructive feedback,

Your points make perfect sense and I have passed them on to my front office team to take on board and implement should similar instances occur.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, the secret escape offer was certainly good value,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Do not be mislead by the hotel's exterior appearance. Althought from the outside it looks like a concrete bunker the interior is extremely impressive and polished. I have stayed here numerous times with work and would not consider staying anywhere else in Bristol.

The rooms I have stayed in, although small, are excellently furnished and modern, with a 'boutique' feel rather than a hotel chain appearance. The room service is fantastic, usually at your door within 15 minutes and always cooked to perfection. The staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful. Having stayed there a number of times now the staff serving at breakfast always acknowledge that I am a returning customer, which is something so simple but an excellent touch.

I would reccommend this hotel to anyone and would not consider going to any other hotel in Bristol.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Sean B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review,

As a regular I hope you have signed up to our GHA loyalty programme which offer complimentary upgrades (subject to availability) but it would ensure you get larger rooms when you stay with us!!

Our room service team were also delighted with your comments,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing