We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One Night Stay”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Trowbridge
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great One Night Stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend, we arrived early and asked to if we could leave our bags and we were able to check in and go the room which was great as we were out with freinds for the rest of the day. Every member of staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice. Also the free parking was a great bonus as we could leave the car there after check out and go shopping. If we have to stay in Bristol again we will definately stay here,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrowbridgeCheeselet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Towbridgecheeselet,

Thank you for your comments,

We are delighted you had a great stay with us over the weekend and additionally pleased you availed of our free car parking to get some extra shopping in when you left the hotel,

Glad we could be of service!!

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,869
    1,185
    352
    112
    63
See reviews for
362
1,911
129
697
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaior, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I booked this hotel to host an international convention. Having not run an event of this nature before, I was slightly nervous. Christie, the events organiser was brilliant, making very useful suggestions and nothing was too much trouble. On the day, we were looked after by the Operations Manager and everything was very well organised. The finger buffet was excellent and the audio-visual equipment worked faultlessly. The rooms were comfortable but the bathrooms rather small for a 4 star hotel. However, this was compensated for by the hotel's excellent situation, right int heart of the Historic Floating Harbour. It was the first day of summer and it lived up to its billing, so the waterside evironment was buzzing with boats, ferries and action of all sorts. It was a good choice for the convention and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DhBahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear DHBahiya,

Thank you for your review and vote of confidence for all hosting international conferences!!

Majority of our guests staying with us do not even realise the adjacent building under the car park is a conference centre, but the fact they are separate means there is little disruption on either side for all guests.

Christy was delighted with you comments and hopes to welcome you back to the Bristol hotel in the future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed on a midweek break for one night. Our room was a superior double, clean and modern overlooking the harbour on the fourth floor. The room was on the small side for what I imagined a superior room to be. I was disappointed that the bathroom did not have a bath, only a shower. We had quite a disturbed night with loud music and people shouting at the clubs around the harbour until around 3am. The bed was on the small side and the mattress not comfortable at all, it sagged in the middle, which added to the lack of sleep. However the hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the harbour an the SS Great Britain is a pleasant stroll away. Also parking is excellent.Breakfast was also very good with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bath if you dont like showers. Ask for a room not overlooking the harbour if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Nicola S,

Thank you for your review,

we are glad you enjoyed our location and the SS great Britain is certainly one of the best tourist attractions Bristol has to offer, I have been twice this year myself!

It is disappointing to see you were disturbed by noise during your stay, although it will be of little solace to you it is rare to hear of loud music complaints midweek.

If you are back in the Bristol area in the future, please mail me direct and I will be happy to personally look after your booking and ensure you get a room with bath over looking the harbour,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

One night stay in a deluxe room. From the welcome at reception to check out this was a very good experience. The hotel was very busy including two weddings but there were always sufficient staff and they were all excellent. Room wasn't that big but beautifully decorated and equipped with excellent TV, coffee machine, fantastic bathroom etc. Air con a bit rubbish. The location of the hotel is superb being with a few yards of the harbourside which a great area to wander, eat and drink with loads to see. Breakfast was superb. Good quality food, kept hot and fresh on the buffet. Service first class in the restaurant. And, an excellent point, free car parking in the adjacent NCP. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Midsussex,

Thank you for your kind review,

we are glad you had a good stay, as you pointed out we had two weddings in the hotel over the weekend so very busy indeed.
great to hear you availed of our free car parking also,

we hope to welcome you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dane End
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is of good quality. My room was of contemporary design with a nice view of the river. The only issue (with the room) was the tiny bathroom (actually only a shower not a bath - not mentioned by reception/during booking). The gym is nothing more than a token gesture.
The restaurant is attractive and the quality of food was good (reasonable hotel prices).
The main attraction was the location, right in the centre of the city with the quayside bars & restaurants, shopping & queen square etc adjacent.

Room Tip: If you want a bath, make sure you say at point of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisG_N10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear ChrisG_N10,

Thank you for leaving us a review,

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and felt the location was suited to your needs,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I returned from 2 nights at Hotel Bristol yesterday and while some aspects of it were good, I did leave feeling that the service wasn't what should be expected and that was disappointing as the hotel clearly makes an effort in many other areas.
I wanted to take my daughter to stay in Bristol for 2 nights as a treat for her 10th birthday and I chose the Hotel Bristol for the good reviews and the photos, as it was her first time in a hotel I wanted her to really enjoy it. The location is super and the parking is great as it's easy to carry the bags into the hotel. The checkin was slightly brusque with more emphasis being put on charges and credit cards than any sense of welcome with a smile. Our room was a disappointment mainly due to the slightly bizarre view - we were on the 4th floor and the room has a large window which simply faces another wall opposite, so all you see when you walk in is a bank of other windows facing you like a gulag. The room is called a superior double which rather implies it's better than a normal double but it's clearly their basic room which isn't obvious when booking. My daughter loved the bed and the bathroom was good (I have yet to see a large hotel bathroom so this one was small but well stocked and very clean) though the carpet was tired and there were scuffs on the walls. The room was thoughtfully stocked with a hairdryer and iron and tea which were all useful, the bed was small but very comfortable and beautifully made up. All in all, though the room was a slight disappointment it could have been worse, and there were positive aspects to it such as it being quiet. There really isn't much the hotel can do about the booming music from the bars across the water.

The only sour notes were the service. On the Monday the 27th I let my daughter order room service for lunch as a birthday treat. She was so excited and spent ages chosing what to have from the menu but then when I phoned to place the order, for what seemed like a very long time nobody was answering the phone. I started to feel a bit frustrated and called Reception who told me that they'd had this complaint from others and that they would take my order and pass it on. A simple apology would have been nice to have had, I'm not usually that fussy but the sense was that somehow I was a bother and I didn't think the person on the end of the phone had very good manners. Later that day we decided to go to the bar and then have dinner to celebrate. I wanted her to have a mocktail as I knew she would love the shaker and the procedure and the decorated glass. However we sat in the bar for 15 minutes and there was nobody serving. In the end I again had to make a trip to Reception to ask, I stopped a guy with a room service trolley who was very sweet and said he's ask for someone to go to the bar to serve. When the woman did arrive again there was no apology, she just took our order. I know this may seem slightly petty but I did feel the day that had supposed to be full of first time treats had deflated as the service was just not up to a basic standard. I really don't know why this was, maybe they were busy or short staffed but a smile and an apology go a long way. After this second disappointment I took my daughter elsewhere for dinner as I didn't want to risk anything else being delayed or offhand as it was supposed to be her special day but I have never felt less special and I have stayed in a great many hotels.

The staff we met in the lifts and who brought room service were all lovely. I guess my frustration is that having planned the trip for a few weeks I chose the hotel for what is looked like it could provide - a special place to celebrate a special time - but got the feeling that guests are a bit of a bother who get in the way of running a business. I really had wanted to enjoy it and find the positive in it and if I was travelling for business I think the hotel would be fine and could recommend it for that, but if you want to feel welcomed or looked after I would be inclined to look into other options.

Room Tip: Check what view you will have if that is important to you as you can't assume you will be lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acefood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Acefood1,

Thank you for your very comprehensive review, it is great to get such detailed feedback as ultimately it helps us improve.

Clearly you felt left down by some of our service levels during your stay and I am sincerely sorry about this, I have sent on your review to the team to ensure all are aware of your experience, providing individual luxury and experiences are what we are about, clearly in this instance we failed.

Rest assured we will use your perfectly reasonable comments to ensure the team are being extra vigilant going forward,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here overnight because we had an early start at Bristol hospital. When we arrived, they did not have an record of our booking but we were shown to the bar where we were given complimentary drinks. Within a couple of minuites we were given our room which was excellent. It was spacious, spotlessly clean and the coffee machine and selection of coffee was amazing. The breakfast did not dissapoint either, there was a massive choice to suit all and it was taken overlooking the waterfront. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Parking is on site at the multi storey and the mix up at reception (maybe because i booked through a third party) was delt with perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda12048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Linda12048,

Thank you for your "excellent" review of the hotel,

We are delighted you had a great stay and availed of our complimentary car parking,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing