We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice touches put it a cut above”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
norwich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice touches put it a cut above”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Room was very nice, equipment particularly nice - a full size iron and ironing board are NOT common, even in really posh hotels.

Room was large, bed was large, TV was high spec (Toshiba); contrary to the parking details on the website, parking (in the adjacent-and-linked-NCP) was totally free, important in Bristol where parking is a bit of an issue.

Sound insulation between the rooms may be an issue - on the last night, I could have made a transcript of one side of a 5 minute telephone call.

I don't know about noise from the restaurants and bars opposite - it was no issue at all for me, but I was there sun-thu. Friday and Saturday night might be more challenging.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugbear6502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,808
    1,152
    339
    111
    59
See reviews for
340
1,861
126
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Loved the Bristol Hotel. Location perfect, price reasonable, staff helpful and friendly, rooms spacious and bed comfortable. Amazingly, there was a Krups coffee machine in the room - a bit of a step up from the mini kettle! Highly recommended for a night out in Bristol's Harbour area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgcward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break in Bristol staying at The Bristol Hotel. We had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the Harbour and it was most pleasant. Hubby was really impressed with the coffee machine and I loved the Temple Spa products. The room was clean but we had a blocked sink for the whole of our stay even though we did report it to housekeeping. We've never been to Bristol before and found the location of the hotel perfect. The harbour houses many restaurants and has a great vibe to it. It was a little noisy at night but the bed was so comfy and we slept really well. You will not be short of somewhere to eat but would not recommend Tikka Flame. However we would highly recommend Graze which is a short walk just up from the hotel. The breakfast produce was of a high quality and the staff very attentive but not in your face. All in all we loved Bristol and our day trip to Bath so much so that we intend to return and we would definitely stay at The Bristol against and would recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the sixth floor over looking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Miffy21,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel,

We are delighted you enjoyed our temple spa products, and I would certainly agree with you on recommending Graze for anyone looking for a decent restaurant near the harbour side,

We hope to welcome you back some day and hopefully you will give our River Grille restaurant a chance,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My partner and I stayed earlier in Spring and would echo the comments about not being put off by the exterior of the hotel (it looks a bit like a 60's office block) - the interior is well decorated and maintained with large, clean and comfortable rooms. The staff were attentive but not intrusive and were keen to ensure we had everything we needed.

The only negative from our stay was an extrodinarily long (hour and a half) wait for room service breakfast - which when delivered was wrong and missing many items (including the tea - you can't start a day without tea!). This said, on check out we mentioned it in passing and the receptionist immediately offered us a credit to our bill which wasn't expected but was most welcome. Of course mistakes can happen but the hotel dealt with the issue exceptionally well.

The icing on the cake was the honesty and helpfulness of the staff as my partner left her jewellery box in the room, which contained several quite expensive heirlooms and items, when she noticed she called and the hotel arranged special delivery of it back to us.

We will definately stay again and would encourage others to do so too! Great location, great parking, great staff and powerful showers :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Dan S,

Thank you for the great review and we appreciate that although we did not get the rooms service order correct in the first instance that we were forgiven for making amends, generally this is all we ask of our guests - the opportunity to put things right!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
503 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel building attached to a multi-storey NCP car park is not exactly pretty to look at, but its location is ideal and the inside is very well appointed and nicely decorated. And complimentary car parking right next door in the centre of Bristol, (a city that seems, having worked there for 20 years, to detest cars), is very welcome and is a real selling point. We booked a two night Secret Escapes package over the Bank Holiday weekend in a deluxe room with table d’hote dinner one night and were very happy with the offer.

On one side, the hotel faces west looking through or above mature waterside trees towards the bustling harbourside area full of bars and eateries. The east side overlooks Prince Street, which due to traffic restrictions is not the busiest city centre street you’ll ever experience. What we didn’t realise until we stayed is that there are also rooms that look into a dark and uninviting central courtyard, the floor of which appears to be flaking green paint. We think management should do something urgently to improve the courtyard outlook for unlucky guests with things like interesting sculptures, planting and soft lighting.

Lucky for us, our 6th floor deluxe room, which comes with complimentary robes & slippers, water, newspaper and cocktails on one night faced the water. We don’t think we would have enjoyed our weekend so much if we’d had an internal view standard (superior) room. The 6th floor, which seems to be an ugly steel structure added as a late afterthought, extends above the car park as well as the hotel itself. It’s set about a metre back from the building edge so 6th floor rooms are probably smaller than those on floors below. As you’ve probably seen in pictures and read in other reviews, the room itself was very nice, but not particularly large – we estimated only about 22 sq meters. Sound travel between rooms wasn’t too bad. We’ve had better, we’ve had worse, but you could definitely hear the snoring from next door. They’ve tried to reduce noise from outside by adding secondary glazing inside the main double glazed windows but there’s no denying you’ll be able to hear things from across the water. The loudest sounds are likely to be low bass thumping from the Lloyds Bank amphitheatre, if there’s an event on over there but, to be fair, all that finishes by 11pm. There was a nice 26 inch LCD TV with a really good picture. As far as we could tell, unlike some other chains that only give you a limited number of TV channels, it had all the major Freeview TV channels, but the radio choice was for some reason restricted – by way of example, you can’t get Magic Radio, which we like to listen to before bed. We tried the Wi-Fi for two short periods. The first time it kept dropping off so we gave up, but the second time it was fine. We were happy to find that the in room safe could accommodate a wider 15.6 inch screen laptop. Like most hotel robes, men will probably find that the cord ties up half way between waist and armpits! We’ve never found out why so many hotels buy them like that. The bed was about 5 foot 6 inches wide and had a really good, comfortable, supportive mattress that was almost a foot thick. We didn’t like the pillows – you get two each – one flattens to nothing as soon as you put your head on it, the other’s hard and lumpy – we think these could be improved. And like many hotels, the duvet got much too hot, but then it was too cold outside of it. So the pillows and duvet don’t make for a good night’s sleep, which is a shame given the great mattress. We think if hotels nowadays are going to use duvets instead of sheets and blankets they need to have both summer and winter weights. It was also nice to have neutral curtains instead of the really heavy 1980’s dark patterned style you get in so many other hotels. The small internal bathroom was well designed and the over-bath shower with glass screen had good power with lovely hot water and hardly any of that loud water running noise you often get through hotel walls. They have used really good pale tiles in the bathroom but management will need to start a programme of grout maintenance pretty soon as it’s starting to go black in the wettest places. Be warned – a room here could be pretty cold. May was of course unseasonably cold in the UK and our room felt freezing when we arrived. There was a radiator in the room, which was cold, but there was also an air conditioning unit, the instructions for which said it could be set for heat. That didn’t happen. After the chilly air coming out didn’t get any warmer we went to reception who confirmed there was no heat to be had, but they kindly offered us a portable heater, which we declined. That was good of them, but surely a hotel of this standard should have room settings that allow guests to warm up the room if they feel it necessary. Lucky for us, being west facing, the sunny bank holiday weather meant that our room did warm up naturally, but only after 4pm.

We had a great meal on the Saturday night in the River Grille and will post a separate review. As stated by others, the piano and saxophone players created a lovely atmosphere. Generally, there are so many good places to eat in the area you could probably choose the best 30 and never eat in the same place twice in a month. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, but we did go down both mornings before the busiest periods. Lucky we did in a way. The system of a single manager slowly admitting guests for breakfast is so poorly thought out that queues even built up with just a few couples arriving close together with most of the tables unused. And it was clear that the kitchen couldn’t refill some of the hot items as quickly as it should have been able to. On our first morning we passed by the empty hot food dishes but the husband on the next table came back to his seat after waiting 10 minutes having failed to get a fried egg. But they do bake their own rustic bread that we think is the best we have ever had in a hotel breakfast buffet and they make a good cup of tea – just a shame the pots are only half filled. As stated by others a pianist playing relaxing music on a Sunday morning is a real nice touch. We were looking forward to our inclusive cocktails but it seems you are restricted to martinis and that’s just about it. Pretty poor we thought. So we just had wine and beer instead, which was obviously much cheaper for the hotel – maybe that’s why you can’t have others.

Yes, like most places, we think there are things that could be improved upon, but get the right room at the right price and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel – we may even return ourselves one day if we’re in Bristol for a show or something.

Room Tip: On arrival you can upgrade to a deluxe room for £30
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear MandH-eurotrippers,

Thank you for leaving us such a comprehensive review, there is a lot of useful insights for us to review and implement.

We are glad your overall stay was a positive one and extra pleased with your review on the River Grille. Our new menus & management team have worked hard over the past three months and it appears good progress is now being made in the outlet.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future, hopefully you will have seen some improvements (in July we have 72 rooms scheduled for new carpets and re-grouting which will further enhance the product,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I stayed over the weekend of 24/25/26th May 2013 with 5 other close relatives for our daughter's wedding in Bristol.
We were treated extremely well by all the hotel staff for our entire visit and the food, service and rooms could not be faulted.
We especially enjoyed the little touches such as the pianist playing in the lounge area during breakfast and lunch.
Before we sat down to a fabulous lunch at the River Station, we dropped-in from the Registry Office for an aperitif at the hotel and were suprised and delighted when a member of staff on seeing our daughter in her wedding dress, brought her over a bottle of bubbly on-the-house.
What a lovely gesture !
We fully intend to return in the near future and explore Bristol further.
Well done to all the staff at The Bristol Hotel for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: We noticed that for a small supplement that we could have booked a room overlooking the water and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philthesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Philthesaint,

Thank you for leaving us a review,

We are delighted we were able to enhance the overall wedding weekend with our accommodation.

We hope to see you back again soon,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked two rooms for myself and friends. Location was excellent close to all the nightlife and bars on the harbour which was great on a sunny day. Good, friendly service and the hotel was very busy which is always a good sign. Parking was free for not only your stay but the full day after you have checked out which i thought was a nice touch. Would recommend if your looking for a good quality hotel that is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear DS84,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel,

we are delighted you had a great two day break, and even more so that you availed of our free parking which we will agree is exceptional value!!

We hope to see you back soon,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing