We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at the Bristol Hotel for the last four years to be at the Harbour festival . We booked for the Friday and Saturday night . This is a very nice hotel, staff are very pleasant ,rooms lovely and of a high standard ,the beds are very comfortable.The hotel is is in the best position and the car park is next to hotel and the hotel validate your parking ticket so there`s nothing to pay.The Breakfast is excellent and a great variety so suit everyone , we would stay here again and would recommend this to all friends, family, in fact anyone .Bristol has so much going on its a great place to visit too .We will be back.

Room Tip: We have stayed on road side and waterside and found neither was no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear LynneT,

Thank you very much for your review.

Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone and I'm pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend with us.

We hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Raphael Herzog
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    1,165
    342
    112
    62
See reviews for
350
1,881
127
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I bought an offer on Secret Escapes and was really pleasantly surprised with hotel's fantastic location and great offer. Staff are lovely here and the room was exactly the same as main photo on trip advisor. We had a room overlooking the river and it was lovely and quiet. Beds were nice and everything we needed ironing board, hair dryer and even natural paraben free products and a proper coffee machine if you drink coffee or fab tea choice. The breakfast was fab just help yourself to fab bacon, sausages etc all excellent qulaity. Even the free cocktail was massive. Free car park next door with private entrance and you can walk out on to the harbourside at the back. Their restaurant has loads of awards but didn't try for dinner wish we had now. Couldn't fault our stay thankyou to all the staff.

Room Tip: river view rooms are quiter we had a 6th floor room - call beforehand to request one very helpful st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear annsouthend,

Thank you so much for your review.

Feedback such as yours is a great boost to everyone as we make ever greater strides to look after our guests. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance they looked after you the way they did.

I look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Raphael Herzog
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Booked to stay here for 2 nights for a city break to Bristol.
Very pleased with our choice, great location, lovely room, well appointed, modern and clean. Great bathroom and wonderfully comfy bed.
The breakfast buffet that was included in our rate ( as was the parking in the NCP next door) was delicious. A wide choice of lovely produce both hot and cold.
Bar prices a little high but not extraordinary.
Would stay again and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickprugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear vickprugby

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with other travellers

I'm delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I hope to see you back soon

Kind regards

Raphael Herzog
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are lovely, great view on the 6th floor and close to all the great bits of Bristol.
Buffet breakfast is really good too and all the staff are friendly and helpful.
Emmanuelle sorted some extras before we arrived which was really good and free car parking too.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Ocmilo

Thank you for taking the time to write a review online

I'm delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your positive comments on breakfast, room and on our staff

We hope to see you back soon

Kind regards

Raphael Herzog
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Arrived after a scorching hot day spent in Bath. Friendly receptionist and a quick check in. Lovely, bright room with fab bed and gorgeous toiletries in modern bathroom. Slight disappointment that there was no fridge in room especially as it was so hot. Slightly noisy air con. Overall though a lovely stay in a perfect location for buses, city bus and shops and many eateries. Delicious food in restaurant with friendly staff. Loved the Nespresso machine.

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room is on the street side, trees hide the view from many rooms on harboursi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggierose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear maggierose-7

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with other travellers

I'm delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and We hope to see you back soon

Kind regards

Raphael Herzog
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I'm basing my review primarily on the experience I had when checking in. I arrived at 2pm to check in at this hotel and was told that my room wasn't ready and had to be checked. The man who was checking me in claimed to be a manager, but certainly didn't act like one. I was then told check in is in fact 2pm onward. So hypothetically I asked my room could be ready at an
unpredictable hour in the day say 5pm to which the manager said yes. So this manager was telling me if you arrive at the advertised checked in time 2pm you are not guaranteed a room.
So you could be paying the full rate for a room you don't even get to use the whole time! When I explained how ridiculous this sounded I was given a condescending confirmation of my
comments. To make matters worse I even had called beforehand to make sure my room would be ready for 2pm.

The other staff I interacted with were quite friendly for the most part. Their top tier deluxe room was of an average size big but the furnishings were nice enough and had a decent view of
the harbor. I could see some of the rooms had terrible views of the dingy center of the hotel so we were lucky. The location of the hotel was quite good and I enjoyed the atmosphere
of the lounge area. The English breakfast was pretty standard. I've noticed quite a few high rating reviews of this hotel which I'm perplexed by as I didn't find the hotel to be anything
extraordinary.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vinny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Mr_nyc_guy,

Thank your for taking the time to review our hotel

I appreciate your positive comments on the room and the location however I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in overall and I apologise for that.

I would just try to respond to your issue regarding check in to the best possible way.
Unfortunately we always do our best to allow the guest to check in from 2pm or before however sometimes check in time is delayed as over the weekend we usually have loads of guest checking out after midday which makes it challenging for our team to clean over 100 rooms in 2 hours which I'm sure you can appreciate. I could see as per our record that the room allocated was not ready when you came at 2pm however we've offered an alternative room but this was declined as you wanted a river view on the 6th floor. My reception manager was trying his best to get this room ready as soon as possible and I apologise if you felt that the service he provided was not acceptable. The room was ready within 15 minutes and a complimentary drink was offered as an apology for the delayed.

Once again please accept my apology and I hope that the above explained a bit more the reason in the short delay in getting the room.

Please do feel free to contact me directly next time you are in Bristol so that I could look after your reservation personally.

Kind regards

Raphael Herzog
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great location for seeing the centre, evening dining, relaxation. Ignore the exterior because things look up considerably as soon as you walk through the door! Staff were highly trained and very helpful. The room (608) was away from the lift shaft with a decent view and very well appointed. Had cocktails in the bar after dinner and there was a great buzz, pianist, beautifully lit and bags of atmosphere. Free parking in the NCP next door. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catussehaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Catussehaut,

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad you've enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback on the atmosphere in the bar, the room and the free car park.

I appreciate your comments on the outside and it's definitely not a true reflection of what you can find inside!

Hope to see you back soon

Best regards

Raphael Herzog
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Doyle Collection, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing