We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium or small, cold or hot”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A great location on harbour-side. Pleasant, friendly staff. Guest rooms are finished and furnished to a good standard. The room service food is over priced and under quality, same for the evening restaurant food. Lots of other choices nearby. Breakfast is fine, what you'd expect, pretty standard.

Having stayed here 4 or 5 times (it's a work booking, little choice in that) you should know the rooms are either medium and okay, or small (TINY) and really not okay. The heating is set for the whole hotel either on or off, so you're either too hot in summer (cannot open a window, too noisy) or cold in the cooler months.

Never pay rack, and then you'll feel it's value for money. Fine for a one night business stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsumerJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Consumerjournalist,

Thank you for the review,

I am wondering if you have signed up to our GHA loyalty programme. I only ask because as a regular guest there are some key benefits which may eradicate some of the issues you mentioned.

Firstly, we generally try to upgrade (availability permitting) all our GHA loyalty programme guests where possible, the benefits of this are two fold in your case, one all our deluxe rooms are our largest and also they all are fully air conditioned therefore no matter what the temperature of the hotel, you would be able to control your individual bedroom temperature.

There is no prerequisite to joining the programme and benefits become available immediately, if this is of interest just ask our front office team during your next visit,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,450 - 2,456 of 3,780 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

this room was one of the nicest I have stayed in, and certainly the best smelling room! a beautiful bathroom as well with top quality spa products. the restaurant overlooking the river was also a pleasant place for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear ShaneL,

Thank you for the review and five stars,

We are delighted you enjoyed the bedrooms and felt the hotel had a great fragrance,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Nice room, a little small but perfect for one. Lovely design and very clean. My room was on the road which was a little noisy especially when the bins we're being emptied early!
Ordered room service as was staying on own for business. Food wasn't great: very small portion and a little bland. Breakfast was excellent however and I had a lovely full English.
Overall a nice stay for one night, excellent location just a few little things to improve.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank saraht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Sarahh2,

Thank you for your review and recommendations.

As a learning organisation we will certainly use these during our team briefings this week to look at how we can make some subtle changes to improve quality.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The last time I came to Bristol for work I stayed at The Grand and liked it but I have to say The Bristol will be my hotel of choice from now on. Location is excellent for me and there are no end of places to eat. My room was large with a big TV and very comfortable bed. Bathroom was a bit small but had everything you needed and the toiletries smelled great.
Breakfast was a bit of a wait there were four of us but even though there were lots of empty tables it took a while to seat us but i'll just get up a bit earlier next time. Good nights sleep and one happy traveller.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank lassibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Lassibley,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review,

We are delighted to have converted you to The Bristol Hotel!!

If booking with us regularly it might be worth getting n contact with our sales team regarding rates, alternatively, our best available rates will always be found on our direct website,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We chose The Bristol Hotel for our weekend visit based on the other reviews on TA and it's location. We had a great welcome from Becca, very friendly and helpful, giving a lot of super tips based on the type of activities we were looking for. We were given a high level Deluxe room, waterside, just as requested and promised to us when we booked. The room was huge, with a big comfy king size bed which delivered 2 solid nights sleep. The only down side (and therefore the rating of 4) was the size of the bathroom which was a bit awkward when getting in and out of the shower. I'm not sure how the other room types compare for the bathroom size. But still, was ok really, with a great shower with strong water pressure, and nice toiletries as well. The many windows were double glazed as well as incorporating a second sliding window probably to help drown out the noise from across the waterside. We slept like babies and weren't disturbed by any noise be it in or outside of the hotel. The location is great and a good starting point to discover the city centre and surroundings. We managed decent walks up to the Clifton suspension bridge, and to Stokes Croft and Gloucester Road. Around 10 minutes walk from Temple Meads station meant an easy arrival and departure. Tips:Raj for Indian, The Apple for Cider, Beer Emporium for, well, beer, and a great little Crepe place minutes down the road. Take in ALL the street art (Banksy rocks but there's oh so much more). Wander through Clifton to the bridge and back down to Cabot Tower for some amazing city views. Can highly recommend The Bristol Hotel!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Andymaxx,

Thank you for the great review, and also for you kind comments on the hotel, I know Rebecca was especially pleased!!

I think your recommendations on where to visit and what to see whilst in the city are top class and would second them,

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've stayed here twice soon to be 3 and this hotel is fantastic. I stay in Bristol for work and this hotel is nice relaxing hotel to stay after a days work. Staff are friendly and certious, room service is great especially if you don't like going down and having a meal for one. The Full English Breakfast is one the best I have had in a long time. Great for Business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tappy-WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Tappy-westsussex,

Thank you for the great review,

We love to hear of guests staying with us on multiple occasions as everything we do is done with the intention of making you feel at home from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

To pass the time travelling down the M5 to Bristol, I decided to read the TA reviews on the Bristol Hotel, which until then I hadn't previously read. We had quite a good deal with Secret Escapes, which included dinner on the first night, so a quick glance at the position in the rankings was enough to reassure before booking.

I was a little concerned by the reviews describing small bedrooms but I needn't have worried, our deluxe room on the 6th floor was more than adequate. Stylish, very comfortable super king sized bed, HD tv, Nespresso machine and a very nicely equipped bathroom - rainfall shower with wand, toiletries from the White Company. The room looked out over the road but there was no traffic noise. No noise at all in fact, corridors and neighbouring rooms all very quiet.

The staff were all friendly and efficient, housekeeping were invisible yet did an excellent job, everywhere was spotless.

My one reservation concerns the restaurant, we booked our free dinner for 8.30 in good time for the kitchen closing at 9. The food was ok but I had the feeling it had been lying around as mine was certainly not hot enough. The breakfast buffet was good, I asked for porridge which was definitely freshly prepared. The coffee could do with improving.

The location of this hotel is excellent, right on the waterfront and within walking distance of the majority of attractions. We even walked to the Clifton Suspension bridge but that was up hill all the way! We enjoyed Bristol but were disappointed to have missed the Gromits.

Room Tip: Go deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Poppybase,

Thank you for your feedback and five stars, it is great to see you enjoyed your weekend break.

I am glad you enjoyed your room, I appreciate we do receive comments on some of our rooms being small, what I would say that 170 of our 187 rooms are all the same size as the room you would have had on the sixth floor (all rooms on the sixth floor are similar size). The best way to ensure one of our larger rooms is to book a deluxe room.

I have passed on your comments regarding your dinner to our Kitchen team, rest assured all food is cooked to order.

We hope you to see you both again when visiting Bristol,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £72 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing