We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The staff here have been fabulous. As an ex-hotel receptionist myself I can be a bit critical but had a great experience from the moment I arrived. Friendly, sincere people. Ran a course here too and Margarida in the conference centre deserves a special mention for very thoughtful service! Room was mostly comfortable although bathroom was tiny and bed a little bit of a dip in the middle. Glad I was on my own! Restaurant food was good too - although restaurant doesn't open until half 6 and I like to eat earlier. Free parking in NCP a nice touch for a city hotel. Would definitely use again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank pubg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Pubg1,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review,

It is great to receive comments from someone who knows and works in the industry as I guess you have a better understanding of the effort required to get things right, every day!

We appreciate your comments on our staff, and delighted you availed of our free car parking.

You are correct in our restaurant does not open until 6.30pm, however other options available prior to that time are Shore Cafe bar, The River Lounge menu & Room service, I know they are not as extensive but they are equally as tasty!!

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,519 - 2,525 of 3,860 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Spent a weekend here whilst visiting family.
Couldn't fault the hotel, modern with great interior design
Bedroom was practical , bathroom a fair size for a hotel room. Very clean and the furnishings were well thought out with chair & footstool, large bed, Krups nespresso coffee machine (hubby now wants to buy one) plus a kettle and tea bags etc. bottled water in the room too.
Iron & ironing board, hair drier and nice toiletries
We only had breakfast which was included in the price .the room over looks the river, so you have a great outlook in the morning watching the world go by.
The breakfast was fab, everything you could have wanted hot food, yogurts fruit cold meats cereals, and plenty of tea and coffee. Newspapers were available too.
We went out each day and Bristol is a great city, so much to see and do.I will review some of the places we went to. Beware of the stag and hen do's that happen on Saturday night....lots of welsh brides.....When we returned to the hotel which is in walking distance of the bars and restaurants they had chilled water available in the foyer which was a nice touch.
The car was in the NCP car park which joins the hotel ,you can walk through the hotel straight into the car park which is free as the hotel give you a card to get through the barrier...it would have cost £20 per day otherwise..wifi is in the rooms free of charge as well....
The price was very good, when breakfast,car parking and wifi are all included.
I booked through Expedia via quidco and got the cash back too..
So to summarise a great hotel, good food , knowledgable staff , reasonable price ...You can't go wrong...

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor with not much of an outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Heather109,

Thank you for the great review and we are delighted you had a positive weekend stay whilst visiting friends in the city.

It is pleasing to see you availed of our free car parking, I believe we are the only city centre hotel to offer this complimentary. Also the nespresso machines really are a great value add on to anyone who enjoys a caffeine hit to get going in the morning!!

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As others have noted, the bathrooms are exceptionally small. The place is clean and the staff provides world class service. The beds are very comfortably soft. The walls are thin and it is easy to hear others coughing or on phone calls, but oddly, I could not hear anyone's TV. There seemed to be a problem with the plumbing on the 3rd level, and there was a funny smell from the drains. Friends on other floors did not have the smell in their bathrooms. The restaurant is very nice and the breafast buffet offers a lot of choices to start your day. If they have the baked egg and vegetable custard, cut into rectangles, be sure to try that.

Room Tip: The drains on the 3rd floor are smelly - try to get a different floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marti3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Marti3710,

Thank you for your review.

I am genuinely unsure as to what the odour was from the drains, and please accept my apologies for having to endure same. I am not sure if you reported this to our team to see if there was anything we could do?

I have asked my maintenance team to review the entire 3rd floor this afternoon but nothing was reported from the review, hopefully it was a one off and we will certainly be extra vigilant and look out for similar comments over the coming days.

Thank you for your feedback,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is great for being near everything. Five minutes to great shops, two mins to the waterside and near enough to night life to enjoy it without the noise spoiling your stay, although I would suggest a pair of ear plugs may help a deeper sleep. The rooms were clean and well decorated. The bathroom in our room was ridiculously small but how long do you spend in the bathroom.. The reception staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was expensive at £12.50 each for continental breakfast but there are restaurants very nearby that do great breakfast. Parking at the ncp carpark next door was free for the duration of our two night stay.most other hotels did not provide free parking and their breakfasts were more expensive. Defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddiesmum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear maddiesmum21,

Thank you for taking some time out to leave us a review.

I am delighted you found our location suitable for you requirements, and also very positive to see you found the hotel to be great value for money.

Remember if returning our best available rates are always found on our direct website,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice hotel , car parking brilliant , Breakfast very very good staff very good , Double bed uncomfortable , we kept rolling to the middle , smell of cigarette smoke in corridor from smoking rooms ,same old droning music noise from hotel outside bar area (I think) apart from that hotel good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Anthony A,

Thank you for your review of the hotel,

we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast offering and free car parking.

I am sorry to hear there was an odour of smoke, we have two smoking rooms available in the hotel and soon hope to make the switch to completely smoke free,

we hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Tom (physics grad from Bristol) Michelle (theatre direction grad from Plymouth) served us an excellent club sandwich in the bar on arrival.

Room and bed were excellent. However, we were on the wrong side of the building facing the harbour and the din at night (music from clubs over the water) was horrendous and lasted until about 02.00 hrs. The staff next morning were most apologetic and said there had been numerous complaints and the hotel management was going to take the matter up with the council.

For some reason the lavatory backed up and so did the bathroom sink. Just unlucky I think and I am sure that it will have been fixed by now.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the road which is quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 380Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear 380mac,

Thank you for your review, I will ensure both Tom and Michelle see your comments.

I would agree that the front of the hotel is quieter than the harbour side; however the waterfront is still what majority of return guests prefer, there is something about water!!

Please also accept my apologies for the issue with the lavatory, once reported we can usually remedy this immediately, I am unsure as to if you reported the problem whilst with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a nice corporate hotel and is very close to the centre if you are visiting for business. Rooms are a little small and you have to sign up for the hotel loyalty program just to get free bottled water and a free newspaper. These would be standard features in other 4 star hotels. Nice lounge area for evening drinks and good breakfast as well. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your review,

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

With regards our GHA loyalty programme, although we offer all members complimentary newspapers, car parking and water as standard, whenever possible we will always try to upgrade you to a better room, I assume on this occasion this was not possible but rest assured our loyalty programme members will always get upgraded first if available.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £85 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing