We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal, but wouldn't want to pay full price”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel, I think, wants to be grand, but in places it is a little tired. In my superior room, the towels were fraying and the bed comforter was actually split and to top it all off there was a really weird smell.
It also has a great location on the side of the water down in the heart of Birstol, but some of the views from the rooms can be pretty bad.
Thankfully I picked up a good deal, as I would have felt bad if I had been asked to pay full price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Kevin F,

Thank you for your review!

I apologise that the hotel did not live up to your expectations, I am sure you will see from other reviews that your experience was not indicative of how we operate at The Bristol hotel.

My email address is mark_payne@doylecollection.com and I would greatly appreciate it if you could drop me a note with details on when you stayed and the name the room was booked under so I may investigate the issues personally,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,433 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Spent a night here on a sporadic day-trip to Bristol, as ever, based on reviews on TripAdvisor. We were looking for a boutique hotel, and there don't seem to be many in Bristol, so we booked here. It's all good. Excellent service from the staff - I am fussy but would not have a single negative word on service. The room was clean and well-equipped (including Nespresso). We booked a deluxe room, and it was a little small, but fine. The only negative comment was the bizarre see-through door to the bathroom, which was odd. Bedding was good quality, Egyptian cotton sheets, great covers, and dressing gowns and cosmetics etc. The bar was lovely, again great service, and the restaurant atrium is wonderful, with great views over the canal. Parking is great. In factor, this hotel ticks all the boxes, and was great for a trip to Bristol, especially given how central it is.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Apuldram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Apuldram,

Thank you for the review,

We are glad we met your criteria whilst with us, and it is very pleasing to see you received such great service, that after all is the hallmark of any hospitality business.

We hope to see you again when you return to Bristol,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at The Bristol Hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and will definitely be back again when up in Bristol. Parking was in the adjoining car park which was great and very convenient.
The ambience at Breakfast was delightful with the resident pianist and we enjoyed our breakfast immensely whilst looking out onto the quayside. Many many thanks for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamMartin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Teammartin1952

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at The Bristol Hotel and that your stay with us exceeded expectations.

At The Doyle Collection we understand every guest is unique. Our intention is to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgment and we are delighted your experience was reflective of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stay in this hotel regularly when travelling to Bristol. The staff are always very accommodating and the facilities are good. Rooms are comfortable with lovely reclining chair for relaxing which is a nice addition when away from home. They are always lovely and clean with all the normal facilities. The bathrooms are finished well but are cosy with not much room to manoeuvre between bath and toilet. This isn't a factor for me but might be for some, if cleanliness and comfort are your no 1 considerations when choosing a hotel then The Bristol could be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcoyne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear KCoyne2013

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at The Bristol Hotel and that your stay with us exceeded expectations.

At The Doyle Collection we understand every guest is unique. Our intention is to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgment and we are delighted your experience was reflective of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My second stay at The Bristol (work related) and we used the conference facilites as well as the hotel. Everything was perfect and nothing was too much trouble and I can highly recommend a stay at this hotel (the beds are amazing!).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Lucy T,

Thank you for the great review and five stars,

We are delighted you had a great stay while with us this week, it is also very pleasing to see you enjoyed our conference facilities at the hotel.

Remember if booking again our best available rates are always found on our direct website,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Arrived with a lovely welcome from a lady at the desk, which I got her name because she was most helpful. She upgraded our room to a Quayside view kindly and recommended a few bits to do in Bristol as we were spending a weekend there together. Our room was sensational! We were warned there could be some noise due to the Christmas season with clubs/bars nearby which wasn't a problem. We were on the 6th floor and there was little noise, but what do you expect if you want to be in the thick of it! In the morning, I used the gym facilities and we then had a gorgeous breakfast, with live piano music and a good read of the Independent paper, the food and coffee was lovely. Nothing was too much bother and it was a great stay. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Quayside Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Aisling S

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at The Bristol Hotel and that your stay with us exceeded expectations.

At The Doyle Collection we understand every guest is unique. Our intention is to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgment and we are delighted your experience was reflective of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Bristol Hotel is excellently placed for central Bristol and with a big car park next to it - really convenient. receptoin friendly and dinner in the restaurant very nice with good service and good quality meat particularly.Breakfast lovely and to be recommended. Standard rooms (called superior) however are very "bijou" with very small bathrooms and very badly designed taps on the sinks which get waterlogged in seconds dripping on the floor. if you are looking for a spacious relax do not book the standard rooms. Even more unfortunate was the fact that the shower poured water all over the floor so we were puddling within minutes and it was flowing into the room (we had noticed a wet carpet the night before but assumed it had been an accident). unacceptable maintainance and very poor to put us back in a room which is clearly not fit to be used. However the manager who came to sort it out was excellent - and very helpful and we could not fault his customer care. we may just have been unlucky. be aware too that if you get a waterside view room (lovely in the sunshine) you will have lots of noise into the night from the restuarants and clubs on the waterside.

Room Tip: don't go for the cheapest room - not worth it - and avoid the waterside if you want to sleep wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth99B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Ruth99B,

Thank you for your review,

It is of course disappointing to see you had some issues in the room while with us but positive to see we were able to fully resolve the issue for you.

We appreciate your positive comments on breakfast.

We hope to see you back at The Bristol Hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £87 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing