We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When we arrived the staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. thank you tracy. The hotel was so nice we stayed an extra night. The breakfast was great too. The only thing that was a problem was there isn't enough drawers to put underwear in.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueandtomwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Sueandtomwolves,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at The Bristol Hotel and that your stay with us exceeded expectations.

At The Doyle Collection we understand every guest is unique. Our intention is to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgment and we are delighted your experience was reflective of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    1,174
    349
    112
    63
See reviews for
355
1,892
128
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location. On the dockside with lovely views. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are extremely stylish and classy. There was a special offer on breakfast for £8 but even at the full £12 it is great value. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imlivid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear imlivid,

Thank you for your great review and five stars.

We appreciate your comments on our breakfast and hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Typically bland modern hotel with smaller-than-average rooms. However the location right on the harbourside gives this place its character so try to get a room overlooking the (sometimes noisy) waterfront for great views. Our bathroom had hardly enough room to swing a towel but was beautifully designed and the walk-in shower was excellent. Breakfast in the waterside restaurant was also an enjoyable experience despite the one-size-fits-nobody piped crooning even a few days after xmas!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Funkyteaspooons59,

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate your positive comments and hope they are of use to future guests,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

location is fantastic,and the free carpark, stayed for one night here plenty to visit in walking distance,lovely room and chocolate fountain ,loved the piano playing in the evening very relaxing,and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear trudyW,

Thank you for the "excellent" review and five stars.

We appreciate your comments and are really pleased you enjoyed our Pianist and breakfast at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to The Bristol Hotel in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

..and convenient parking. However, room very compact for a double and that includes the bed! Feel it was really a superior single room. Very pleasant public rooms, but extortionate bar prices. However, the hotel's proximity to lots of bars and restaurants meant we were able to keep within our budget.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntylaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Auntylaine,

Thank you for your review,

We appreciate your comments and if booking again take a look on our direct website for some great packages which offer excellent value and upgrades.

We hope to see you back at The Bristol Hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Location is perfect especially with adjacent (free) car park - a real bonus in city centre Bristol. Stayed in the most basic room - nice decor but be warned they don't have aircon; we were really hot at night and ended up opening a window and were then disturbed by early morning city life (revellers, bins..). Discovered too late a plug in fan in the wardrobe.
Tip for you - I don't like a huge breakfast so we stayed room only (saving £30 per night for the two of us) and ate breakfast at the brilliant and friendly little cafe right opposite which is open from I think 8am.

Room Tip: Basic rooms don't have aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieO111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Jessie0111,

Thank you for the review,

We appreciate your comments and mirror your feedback on our free car parking, I believe we are the only city centre hotel in Bristol who provide free car parking.

We are also glad you enjoyed our Harbourside location.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel, I think, wants to be grand, but in places it is a little tired. In my superior room, the towels were fraying and the bed comforter was actually split and to top it all off there was a really weird smell.
It also has a great location on the side of the water down in the heart of Birstol, but some of the views from the rooms can be pretty bad.
Thankfully I picked up a good deal, as I would have felt bad if I had been asked to pay full price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Kevin F,

Thank you for your review!

I apologise that the hotel did not live up to your expectations, I am sure you will see from other reviews that your experience was not indicative of how we operate at The Bristol hotel.

My email address is mark_payne@doylecollection.com and I would greatly appreciate it if you could drop me a note with details on when you stayed and the name the room was booked under so I may investigate the issues personally,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing