We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A seriously good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A seriously good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

You get a sense of it as soon as you drive up to the front entrance. Smart, elegant, professional. What's amazing is that everything is exactly where you want it- and all the fittings are modern and up-to-date without being gimmicky. Like the hotel, the staff are smart, professional and efficient. Their watchword seemed to be "Of course....."

Lovely riverside location but also in the city centre, walking distance to the attractions, excellent conference facilities, cosy lobby, nice food- the list goes on.

Add in a "Nespresso" machine in the comfy bedroom and there's only one conclusion- " this is a seriously good hotel!"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deji W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Deji W,

Thank you for the great review and five stars.

We are delighted you enjoyed so many of our facilities to include conference centre, lobby, food & nespresso machines.

We hope to see you again in the near future when visiting Bristol,

Sincerely

Mark payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,777
    1,138
    335
    109
    56
See reviews for
327
1,838
124
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Staff very professional in this hotel ;;car park next door all sorted ;very easy to get out of ; great location;a stones throw from georgian square ;other side the quays
The hotel is the neatest and cleanest of any i've been in ,very precisely designed and coloured
Staying there for professional conference

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealdeadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Therealleadbird,

Thank you for the excellent review.

We appreciate your comments on our location and free car parking facilities.

I hope you enjoyed your conference whilst with us and look forward to seeing you again the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark payne
General manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times over the last few months on business. The location is central, easy to find and best of all the car park is free. I've always had excellent service at the reception. There's a small bar area and nice restaurant. The food is very good on room service, evening meal and breakfast in the restaurent. If you are lucky to have a rear bedroom then you will have a nice view of the river. I've read a few comments about the noise from local restaurents at the back of the hotel but I've never experienced this. Overall it's a lovely hotel with a quality restaurant and is very convenient with everything you need for a short business trip.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarkiefrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Clarkieform,

Thank you for the great review.

We are glad you enjoy our hotel facilities and we hope to continue the complimentary car parking for 2014.

If you stay on business more regularly if might be worth having a look at our GHA loyalty programme which offers members great rewards once joined.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Went for a couple of days to visit my sons who live in Bristol and we were very impressed. My husband requested a river view, and we were not dissapointed, thats exactly what we got and they even managed to provide sunshine!. (it had been raining non stop for a few days until we arrived here). One of the best places we have stayed. Room lovely, breakfast very nice and staff and service very friendly, efficient and helpful. Nothing would of been too much trouble from the reception desk through to the bar and breakfast staff. (I hope the praise on here is passed onto the staff). You deserve the praise you get. Only criticism is that all the products at breakfast was good quality with 1 exception, the tomato ketchup. Only a small thing i know but vinegary tomato sauce on a lovely breakfast was the only downside. Keep up the good work, we will be staying again!
Thankyou for looking after us so well. (We run a Bar/Restaurant in Exmouth so to be looked after so well after the busy Christmas period was very appreciated )
Lynne and Andy, Exmouth, Devon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweety118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Tweety118,

Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you had a great stay with us while visiting your son. And the fact we delivered sunshine is an added bonus!!

All of the team here at the hotel review the comments on tripadvisor, good and bad as ultimately taking feedback on board is what influences the changes we make on a daily / weekly basis to the operation.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bristol,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
Genera Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bristol and I must say it was a very enjoyable experience.This hotel is situated on the waterfront a easy walk to town and the shops.
The hotel is decorated to a very high standard and has every thing that you might need for a city centre hotel.
Breakfast was good there was the usual selection of goodies plus a nice touch was that there was a pianist playing on the sunday morning throughout the whole serving.
The staff were all very helpful and made us feel very welcome.
On the first night we stayed in a delux king room facing the road side the room was very large but it only had a shower plus the walls seemed a bit thin, we could hear other guests next door, on the second night we had a queen sized room which was smaller but it had a bath, neither bothered us that much but it might be worth confirming before booking.
A plus for this hotel is the complementary car parking, the car park is next door and it is an NCP secure car park which means a lot if you are a concerned about your vehicle.
Great Hotel Good location

Room Tip: Ask if rooms have a bath or shower walls a bit thin in the delux rooms road side room 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skinnypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Skinnypete,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at The Bristol Hotel and that your stay with us exceeded expectations.

At The Doyle Collection we understand every guest is unique. Our intention is to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgment and we are delighted your experience was reflective of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed here this weekend for 2 nights (17th Jan - 19th Jan). I have stayed here once before 3 years ago and I have to say it is still a really nice hotel, same top quality standard and great value for money. I saw the hotel on hotels.com for £75 a night, I booked directly with the hotel as they were happy to match the price I saw online, I ended up paying an extra £5 a night and had breakfast included, which was well worth the small extra. On arrival we had a free room upgrade to a waterfront facing room, spacious, very clean, big double bed and a coffee making machine with espresso shots included in the room! The staff were very friendly on arrival, offered to bring us an ice bucket to our room whenever we required (no tray charge!). The breakfast was the best I have seen in any hotel I've stayed at. All you can eat fry up: sausages, bacon, vegi sausages, beans, mushrooms, hash browns etc. unlimited all you can eat continental, croissants, bread, salami, cheddar, brie , yogurt & fruit. Fresh fruit juice, tea & coffee and also a man playing piano above the seating area. You could also tell that the food was of a high standard, unlike a lot of these buffet/ all you can eat type breakfasts. The standard check out time was also 12pm which surprised me, great for my hangover. I would definitely stay here again and again. Should be 5*! better than the other hotels in Bristol which claim to be 5*.

Room Tip: Check prices online first, hotels.com etc. Staff will match online prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ryanp19,

Thank you for the five star review!!

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us last weekend.

It is great you got such a good offer also on the rooms, we encourage guests to book direct when possible as we will always offer the cheapest rate.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

To be honest I don't really know where to begin when reviewing this hotel. The location, facilities and decor are great in every aspect. I don't know where they recruit their staff from but they're so friendly, helpful, efficient and nothing seems too much trouble for them, it just adds to the entire experience. I stay all over the country and to be honest I'd say these are some of the best hotel staff I've had the pleasure to meet. Even the food, including room service, which I find can be a bit hit and miss in even the best chains is lovely.

This is one hotel I'd thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestieHenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear WestieHenners,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience at The Bristol Hotel and that your stay with us exceeded expectations.

At The Doyle Collection we understand every guest is unique. Our intention is to create individual moments of warmth and acknowledgment and we are delighted your experience was reflective of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing