We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy neighbours”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Have stayed at The Bristol quite a few times without any problems, that's why we always come back. Checking in was faultless again, and it was a nice touch to be welcomed back. Room spotless as always.So after a night out to see a band it was back to our room, the room we stayed in had a connecting door, and once the couple arrived back next door we could hear everything. Luckily enough all they did was talk, right up until 3 am . Not the hotels fault, but will not stay in one of those rooms again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with connecting doors unless you need one.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear PaulKay62

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am glad you had a warm welcome back from the team, repeat customers are the bedrock of our business.

We appreciate your comments on our interconnecting rooms, of course should you be back in the Bristol hotel going forward we can allocate you a different room type.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,680)
There are newer reviews for The Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,188 - 2,194 of 3,680 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Brilliantly located by the harbour and easy access into the centre - 10 minute walk.
Lovely presented hotel. Good balance of comfort and chic style.
Pleasant staff.
Breakfast was very good. Large range of foods available and beautiful setting in restaurant overlooking the river complete with a man tinkering on the piano.
Rooms were spacious, toiletries good. Nice coffee machine in room/iron/ironing board/hair dryer etc
Very nice stay here and would 100% go back again no doubt.
It's nice to stay in a hotel room which has windows you can open for fresh air too.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and had a good view over the park
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear MissBLondon,

Thank you for the excellent review and five stars.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would endorse your recommendation of our sixth flor rooms if one is after a view.

We hope to see welcome you back again in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I arrived on the 15th Feb with my boyfriend it was a little something special for valentines weekend - we was greeted with very friendly staff I think its one of the best hotels I've been too :) I had a Queens deluxe package with wine on arrival cant fault any of it... lovely bar and the breakfast was amazing! the staff are always willing to help had a lovely sleep in a great room! - thank you for making my weekend so special :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybeckybex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear LadyBeckybex,

Thank you for the review and five stars.

It is pleasing to see you both had an enjoyable stay with us over valentines.

We hope to see you again next year,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

booked for 1 night as we were going to a show at the Hippodrome.. birthday treat for me! lovely room with water side views... 5 minutes walk to the Hippodrome....to begin with the room was cold but that was soon put right with a portable heater brought to the room and the duty Manager coming in to sort the heater out....great choice of food for breakfast...only down side was no tea making facilities in the room which for the price of the room I would have expected!!!
this was the only thing that let it down!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Carol667,

Thank you for the review.

I am glad the hotel was convenient in terms of location to the Hippodrome.

All our bedrooms have tea / coffee making facilities, they can be located in the drawer under the television set. Some of our guests see the Nespresso machines and assume we only do these but we do also offer Tea / Hot chocolate and a selection of herbal teas.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bristol hotel in the near future,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in a 'second tier' room and it was fantastic. A really good size bedroom, compact bathroom, but with a bath and the room had a lovely view of the harbourside (can be quite noisy at night). There were plenty of in-room refreshments, including a Nespresso machine and the complimentary toiletries were also great quality. The breakfast buffet had a very slight queue, but the food was fresh and plentiful - including vegetarian sausages - which are quite rare in a large hotel. The staff were also friendly and helpful, after both of our room keys failed to work on arrival! Other good perks were the free parking (normally £20 per day) and free wifi in the bedrooms. The location is spot on - right next to all the action, Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CooperFuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear JJAnman,

Thank you for the great review of the hotel,

We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary WIFI and Car parking and also felt the location suited your needs.

We also appreciate your comments on our vegetarian sausages.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed as part if a group in business. Great hotel with a strong style, rooms are spacious and well appointed
The rooms next to the gym can be a little noisy especially first thing in the morning
Would stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katmilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Katmilne,

Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the conference was as successful.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A fabulous hotel, friendly staff and great location. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had two great nights sleep. The location is great, right by the restaurant filled part of town. There were nice touches in the room - good quality toiletries and a Nespresso machine. All round a great weekend in great accommodation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KaraBee755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Karabee755,

Thank you for your excellent review and five stars.

We appreciate your positive comments and are glad you enjoyed our toiletries, nespresso machines and found our beds comfortable.

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £82 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing