We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 1 let down”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Only 1 let down”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend in Bristol to celebrate a family birthday. The hotel is ideally situated on the centre and within walking distance of bars and restaurants. The hotel room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. However, some relatives returned for a drink with us to the hotel. After a couple of drinks the place filled with a wedding party, an we were then ignored by the waitress THREE times when we required a drink! When my husband complained at the reception, it was a further 20 minutes before the manageress came over, and by this time we were going to retire. It was there loss, as we were spending £45 per round! We would still probably stay at the hotel again, but would perhaps choose to drink elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor and were not disturbed by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear LilW,

Thank you for the review,

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us but clearly we got it wrong with regards staffing numbers if you were unable to get you a round of drinks prior to retiring for the evening.

I am sorry the service did not live up to your expectations on this occasion but rest assured we will use your feedback to ensure the same issues don’t reoccur going forward.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    1,165
    342
    112
    62
See reviews for
350
1,881
127
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hugely impressed . We had two rooms , staying over for a 50th birthday. All staying loved the place. Centrally located overlooking the harbour with free parking. Our rooms had superb river views. The rooms are large , lots of storage , very well furnished, good wi fi and a really top notch coffee maker. The staff were very competent and very friendly. Excellent. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Stephen Herlihy,

Thank you for the excellent review and five stars.

It is great to see you all had an enjoyable weekend to celebrate the 50th Birthday, and I am glad you availed and enjoyed our complimentary WIFI and nespresso machines in the bedrooms,

remember, if booking again our best available rates will always be found on our direct website,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. The room was really large with lots of windows and a view over the harbour. The room was very modern with an expresso machine. The toiletries were of a good standard. The bathroom was a good size and modern also. There was a lot of cupboard space and an iron and board in the room which was great.We stayed on a Saturday night and didn't hear any noise at all. The staff were also polite. The only downsides to this hotel were that the heater was fiddly to use, the shower wasn't very powerful and the extremely long wait times at the bar and for breakfast. The breakfast tasted fine and the piano player in the breakfast room was a lovely added touch. The free wifi was great as some hotels still don't offer this service. Overall I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel and I would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear LondonShorty,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback.

It is great that you enjoyed your weekend break with us, and great to hear you enjoyed our bedrooms and free WIFI.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

This is a well located hotel for the centre of Bristol and Harbourside. The bed is very comfortable but the bathroom is minuscule. Great shower thought! The heating wasn't on and the room was freezing. Despite getting it to work the heating didn't ever get the room warm. Friendly reception staff

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear RichB0510,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am sorry the room temperature was not adequate on this occasion. unfortunately we still have some rooms which are centrally heated (as opposed to air conditioning units) and on this occasion it appears not to have been sufficient.

I will ensure we revisit the core temperature of the hotel to ensure other guests don’t experience similar issues,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for two nights over the new year and attended their party.
The room was very comfortable although lighting was a little dim.
The Party was excellent with live entertainment and good food. The wine list was very reasonable too.
The hotel's location is fantastic. We had a day spare after the party and had a wander round. Everything seems to be on the hotel door step.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPassions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Travelpassions,

Thank you for the review,

It really must have been a New Year party to remember if you are reviewing us in march!!

We currently only have limited space available for New years 2014 so if you have not already rebooked, do so quickly to avoid disappointment.

Thank you for your great feedback, we appreciate it,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I spent last weekend here with my husband and his parents. Really impressed with staff - so welcoming and efficient on arrival. We had emailed previously to request a room with a view of the harbour for my in-laws as it was a 50th birthday pressie and indeed their room was superb! Our room had less of a view (a low wall / roof!!) but the room itself was great. Toiletries lovely and all really clean and modern. Tea and coffee facilities all good (great coffee machine!). We were also given our choice of newspaper each morning, which was hanging on the door - very nice touch.

Breakfast was excellent - cooked breakfast as well as a good range of continental breakfast choices. Buffet style - all fresh and yummy. The view from the dining room was superb. The only downside was that on Sunday we were seated in the over-flow room as it was so busy. Not as good, but we weren't up early enough to get a good table (we ate at 9:30).

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night as part of Secret Escapes deal. The only downside was that we ordered sides with the wellington but it actually came with mash anyway - a shame as we had to pay extra for sides that we didn't eat.

Check-out was less successful as they over-charged us (confusion over dinner put on our room the first night) and despite our carefully explaining what the error was, it took three print-outs of the bill to get this sorted. What should have been a simple deduction became a bit of an ordeal.

All in all though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a harbour view - it was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear SleepyEP,

Thank you for the great review,

I am glad you all had a great weekend for the 50th Party.

If returning, remember our best available rates are always found on our direct website,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I grand place to stay, from welcome at check in to bar, restaurant and check out everything was spot on. The attention to detail was incredible.

In a place of this quality I expected the food to be unreasonably priced but, was pleasantly surprised at what was on offer for extremely reasonable prices.

Just perfect

Room Tip: Just stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirjoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sirjoker,

Thank you for your review and five stars.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also the food on offer.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing