We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, cozy and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, Alabama
2 reviews
“Nice, cozy and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Conveniently located with a nice lounge bar area, breakfast buffet was great. A free car parking facility next door, great room, bath and bed. It was a good choice to stay at the Bristol. Will be back on our next visit. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandilier42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Chandilier42,

Thank you for the five star review.

We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed our beds, breakfast buffet and complimentary car parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bristol Hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,778
    1,138
    335
    109
    56
See reviews for
328
1,838
124
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed on 22nd March 2014 in room 607. I chose this hotel as it was a special occasion and I wanted something a bit more special than the usual Premier Inn/Travelodge which is what I would usually book for a night away as they are within my budget. However when booking, the rate i got was cheaper than the premier inn and travelodge in the local area. The hotel is in a great location, right on the harbour where the night life is. However I could not hear any noise from our hotel room from the many bars that went on till early hours of the morning. There is also alot of culture, shops and market stalls close to the hotel and within a few minutes walk to the hipperdrome. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely smiley, polite row of receptionists. We were booked in within minutes by a very attentive and chatty gentleman, who asked lots of questions about our stay and seemed to show an interest in why we were there. We received a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room which was beautiful. It had lots of extra finishing touches including an expresso coffee machine, bath robes and slippers, We had a lovely card left on the bed from the staff congratulating us on our anniversary and even some complimentary cocktail vouchers for use in the bar. The room was clean and well equipped. The bathroom was modern and had a powerful shower and a bath. I have to say that both me and my husband commented on the bed and how comfortable it was. I suffer with my back and always struggle with hotel beds but this was the best hotel bed iv ever slept in. Breakfast was amazing. Coffee served at your table rather that the usual cofffee machine im used to. Proper butter served on slate plates rather than butter packets. Fresh pancakes coming out regularly, home made smoothies as well as fresh juices, 3 choice of sausage (pork, tomato and pork/leek) all of a high quality, scrambled and fried eggs, fresh salmon, cheeses and meats. the list goes on. All topped off with very attentive staff, an amazing view over the harbour and a man playing the piano. Amazing atmosphere. We used the bar on a couple of occasions and the two members of staff on there were great. Very polite and checking regularly that we were ok. I think the lad was new as he was being shown how to make my cocktail but he will do well as he was very friendly and came over to our table and asked if i liked his cocktail and his hot chocolate. Both of which were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for this hotel and all its staff. Whatever we asked for we got with a smile. Cant wait to return which we are planning on doing soon. Thankyou so much to everyone at The Bristol Hotel

Room Tip: Many rooms have a harbour view. We had room 607 which was a lovely room but did not have a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear bertybertty,

Thank you for the wonderfull, comprehenive review of the hotel, we also loved the photgraphs.

We appreciate your detailed feedback and are very pleased that you enjoyed so much of what we offer our guests.

When returning, remember to keep an eye on our direct website as we have some fantastic packages and promotions running.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bristol Hotel in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My mother and I booked a room for two thorough Hotels.com, and we didn't know we had book a room with a double bed instead of two single beds until we got there. However, when we asked the staff there if we could have two single beds, they were quick to agree and gave an amazing room with two double beds for the same price. We were very impressed :)

The room was also very neat and spacious, and the beds were comfy. The only thing we found slightly confusing was getting to the hotel. As foreigners, we aren't familiar with the public transport system in Bristol and we were not sure of how to get there from the Bristol Temple Meads station. We could not find directions on the website and Google Maps suggested a 15 minute walk, which was difficult, considering the size of our luggages. We managed to find directions though (we took either bus 8 or 9 from the station to the City Centre! I hope that helps anyone else who might be as lost as we were) and we are very satisfied with our stay overall. :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Demetere,

Thank you for the great review.

I am delighted we were able to accommodate your request for a twin room and exceed your expectations.

Bristol can be difficult to navigate as it largely follows a one way system around the city. If coming from temple meads and walking I would suggest following signs for the Harbourside, one should be able to get to us in approximately seven minutes (without heavy luggage). With luggage I would suggest a taxi which costs under £5, so if there are two people it will be close to what a bus fare would cost but more direct and less stops.

If booking again be sure to check out our direct website where we guarantee best available rates,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I booked in here for one night because we were attending the Hi-Fi show the next day. The room was a good size and very clean. The staff were friendly. We were given free parking in the car park next to the hotel and it lasted all day the next day too.
The hotel is centrally located and excellent for walks along the river. The bar is relaxing and we ate in the hotel restaurant. The food was very good and the prices were also acceptable. Only down side was that the room was hot during the night and a little noisy having opened the window.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingFlybygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Beijingflubygirl,

Thank you for your excellent review,

We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us.

If returning, remember, to check our direct website for best available rates and packages,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Good central location with free parking and Wi Fi. Reception area and lounge very gloomy with dark, overpowering colours, not a pleasant space to be in. All staff we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. But personal space was a key issue, we paid for a De Luxe Room which was (apart from the bed) very small, and the bathroom simply tiny. The view from our top floor room overlooked the water and hills beyond and was nice, apart from the horrible seagull excrement all over the window. Breakfast was the only meal taken which was very average, weak tasteless juice, very poor coffee, and of course the extremely small table !!
Sorry we are unlikely to return....
John & Margo May, Truro, Cornwall

Room Tip: If staying over a weekend rooms at the front of the hotel would be much quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNM1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Aprilyam100,

Thank you for your review,

It is pleasing to see you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us especially the comfortable bed, complimentary car parking and WIFI.

It is disappointing that our ground floor décor and bedroom size did not meet your expectations or tastes.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked due to central location. Asked for Upgrade & was given one..

Well located to get around City on foot .

Like the idea of car parking being on the same floor as your room (but not for the Deluxe Rooms!!).

Staff very helpful, Clean room & Breakfast overlooking the Harbour.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d1marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear d1marks,

Thank you for the review,

We are glad you approve of our complimentary car parking and central location.

Just to clarify, we have Deluxe rooms on all our floors and one can park on that same floor, with the exception of the sixth floor as the car park only reaches level 5.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bristol hotel again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our second stay at The Bristol and we paid for a better room than our last stay. At check in we asked for a room over looking the Harbour and a very helpful receptionist Tracy, said no problem and allocated us a room on the first floor. When we got to our room, it was facing the front of the hotel on the main road, so i went back to reception and Tracy apologised and didn't realise the room she allocated us wasn't harbourside. She came with us and showed us two other rooms harbourside we could chose from. The first was a smoking room (didn't realise that these still existed in hotels!) The smell was really strong so refused this straight away and we were shown a small room next door, which we accepted because of the view. After about an hour, we asked to move as the smell of smoke (although a non smoking room) was filtering in to the room and aggravating my wife's asthma. We were moved back to our original roadside room as the hotel was apparently full by this stage so no other rooms available. This was a stunning luxurious room but had such a strong smell of air freshener, we had to open all the windows for the rest of the evening. I can only assume the air freshener was to disguise the smell of smoke that was strong in the whole corridor of floor 1 and filtered under the door in to the room. They even have plug-in air fresheners in the corridors. Another gripe is that we were not told about the free parking when we checked in, we read about it in other reviews when we got home, and consequently paid for two days full rate. This is such a shame because this is a lovely hotel and cannot fault anything else about it, the staff are all really helpful and friendly and give excellent service. We would stay here again if we could be given a room no where near the smoking rooms.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the first floor if you're a non-smoker as it has smoking rooms on thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Ryan289,

Thank you for your review.

We will certainly take your feedback on board regarding the odour of smoke on the first floor.

I am sorry you were not made aware of our complimentary car parking tickets, Although of little solace to you now, I will pass on your comments to our front office team to ensure we don’t repeat the error with future guests.

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing