We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hayling Island
1 review
“All good”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I find little to fault with The Bristol Hotel. A great view from the front, not a problem from outside; even on a Saturday night.

Only thing there is a little inter floor room noise and carpet could have been cleaner. Very minor quibbles.

Nice touches included a great range of teas, in room coffee maker and friendly service. Would come back and recommend the hotel foe anyone wanting to enjoy the area from a very convenient location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Lance N,

Thank you for the amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted that you had a great time with us over the weekend. Its pleasing to read that you have enjoyed the additional features of our deluxe room category – great coffee in the room is an excellent way to wake up in the morning!

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Bristol Hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    1,174
    349
    112
    63
See reviews for
355
1,892
128
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Maybe I had read too many reviews before we got there but I had really high expectations for this hotel. When we arrived I was really impressed by the reception/lobby area, it was modern and had a bustling atmosphere. We were welcomed and swiftly checked in. We made our way up to our room and were pretty disappointed. When I was booking the room I asked if we could possibly have a harbour view room. I know its not always possible, especially on a busy weekend but I still felt quite let down when our view was pretty much the other side of the hotel! Not very pleasant, aside from that, the room was very small. We didn't sleep very well either as the walls were very thin so we could hear everything! It also got very hot because of the size. It was probably the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. That wasn't a big deal though as I can appreciate that rooms can be smaller in city hotels. On the positive side, when we returned to the hotel that night we had a drink at the bar where they had some lovely live jazz music which was great. I was really looking forward to breakfast as it was going to be in the restaurant which faced out to the harbour and looked beautiful; however I suppose it was a busy morning as we were sent to the 'overflow' breakfast room at the front of the building, disappointing. The breakfast was very nice and we had lots of choice. Overall we left feeling a bit let down as this was for a special birthday celebration, unfortunately I don't think we will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnysally12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Sunnysally12,

Thank you for your feedback; it is incredibly important for me and my team and integral towards our continued efforts to improve our service and product within the hotel.

I am pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us; however it does not reflect our usual high standards we strive to achieve.

I do hope we may be able to tempt you in to returning to The Bristol Hotel ; if so - if I could possibly encourage you to contact me directly so I can personally ensure you will have an all round great personal and memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Gareth_byrne@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Bristol hotel was very nice, clean and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The hotel room was cosy and the bathroom on the small side, but had everything that you would expect. The bed however, was short, with both myself and my wife's feet hanging off the end but as it was well after midnight when we got to bed we did not report the problem and we slept OK. In the morning though we also noted that there was a definite roll towards the middle in the bed and that it must have been made for hobbits. The breakfast was good though and for it to be included in the price appears to be a little bit less common nowadays, but very welcomed. The car park next door is complimentary though you still need to collect a ticket as normal and then get a pass on check-out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mooncat76,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to read that you both had an overall good experience with us – however I am sorry that you experienced problems with the size of your bed.

Hopefully this will not deter you from trying us again. Please do contact me directly – I would be delighted to personally look after you for any future bookings to ensure we can deliver on both product and service.

Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Gareth_byrne@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel proved a very good base for our two-night stay visiting Bristol for the first time. Being able to walk straight out and walk along Floating Harbour (with its cafes, restaurants, attractions) made this a good location. We parked in the NCP car park next door, left the car there for 36 hours, and the hotel gave us an exit ticket when we checked out. We walked everywehere we needed to get to.
Staff were helpful. Walls quite thin (or was this because of connecting door? - could hear conversation next door). Restaurant has nice view over the Harbour, but felt a bit short of space at busy breakfast time. Overall: clean, fresh, bright and modern, convenient and friendly. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Specify air conditioning if you need it. Our room faced other rooms but was very quiet and peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear HertsCouple,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

I am delighted to read that you both had a great time exploring Bristol and that you found the location of the hotel a great advantage. The complimentary car parking does assist in creating a stress free visit to the centre of Bristol.

Please do let me know when you return - I would be delighted to ensure you are allocated a room that will not have interconnecting features. I look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Don't be put off by the hotel's sixties slightly shabby looking exterior, internally its
very modern. Some of the internal public spaces are a little gloomy, but the room I
had (top floor, river view) was very bright and well decorated. The espresso machine
was a nice touch.

The breakfast buffet was served in the restaurant that overlooks the river/marina and was
well stocked with good quality food. The serving staff were very nice and efficient.

I very much enjoyed my stay, and while it was a business trip this time I would consider
their staying there again if I was visiting for leisure.

Room Tip: Top floor river view room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scsjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear scsjason,

Thank you for your great review!

I am delighted to read that you have had a great experience with us and I am pleased we have made your business trip pleasurable.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to relax and enjoy the hotel and to help you explore the beautiful Bristol area. Hopefully we can become your Bristol home away from home!

In the meantime, don’t forget to book the best rates directly with us - Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business. Check in was speedy and staff were polite. Offered me a room with a harbour view which I accepted. Room was spacious and clean although at 6ft the bed was far too small. Breakfast was fantastic and I felt that staff across the hotel wanted to offer the best possible service. A bottle of water was offered to me on check out and I found this to be a very nice touch. Great hotel and I would recommend. However I can only rate it 3 stars as my sleep was interrupted by having such a small bed. If the bed was of a reasonable size I would happily have given 5 stars.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Chris1080,

Thank you for your review of The Bristol Hotel,

I am delighted to read that our team managed to deliver a memorable service throughout your stay. I am disappointed that you were unable to sleep well. We would have been delighted to arrange a more suitable room had you brought this to our attention.

Hopefully this will not deter you from trying us again. Please do contact me directly – I would be delighted to personally look after you for any future bookings to ensure we can deliver on both product and service.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Gareth_byrne@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed one night and specifically wanted a city location, The Bristol matches this perfectly. As other reviewers have said it's worth trying to get a room with a harbour view. The food was excellent and staff superb very professional and friendly. The only 3 disappointments we had a superior room which was great but had a very small bathroom, for example the shower screen touched the opposite wall, did not do justice to the very spacious room. The decor could have been fresher, and the dining room grille, fab setting with huge glazed frontage created drafts on the cool evening. It would have benefitted from more modern glazing units or triple glazing. Not a deal breaker just a contrast to the exemplary service & setting.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordTravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear BradfordTravellog,

Thank you for your feedback; it is incredibly important to me and my team and crucial as we look to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests.

I am so sorry to hear of your few disappointments with your stay; however I am pleased to read that my team delivered great service and that you both had an overall enjoyable stay.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing