We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute pleasure”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From start to finish we had a great time at the hotel, from the warm efficient greeting to our departure , the hotel proved a delight , with a car park next door, arrival was easy . The friendly , efficient and helpful staff at every level , made it a pleasure to stay , well appointed ,comfortable rooms , an excellent buffet breakfast and situated in a cracking location we couldn't ask for more.
We look forward to returning

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Stuart M,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with the online travel community. I am delighted that you both had a great stay with us and I am looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you both back to The Bristol Hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,283 - 2,289 of 3,860 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this classic city centre Hotel right next to the harbour and enjoyed an excellent all round stay, with good location, good food and exceptional staff and adjoining parking.
Very pleased and will definitely plan another stay at the Bristol hotel this year and recommend
it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room on the sixth floor away from the harbour and this was quiet and we enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRANDMRSM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear MRANDMRSM61,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you experienced the warmth and friendliness of our team. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back later this year – remember to book directly to get the best rates!

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Born and bred in Bristol and often return. Now stayed at the Bristol on a number of occasions and proving to be some what of a gem. Staff are polite and friendly and the Long Island Iced Tea Cocktails are worth a try. Breakfast is good along with location and parking. In fact knowing the area well, the location and parking is hard to beat if you are visiting Bristol.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Juliesboy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review online and for your phenomenal endorsement. It is always great to receive great comments with the added zest from an originally local perspective.

To be potentially viewed as ‘The best in Bristol’ is an opulent thought and I am delighted we have become your new Bristol base and I look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I was part of a reunion group spending 3 days in Bristol. We were rather noisy, laughing and talking all the time and lingered a very long time over meals. Staff never hassled us or made us feel we were a nuisance and in fact went out of their way to be kind and helpful. The facilities were fine and the hotel very well coated for exploring Bristol

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Rita J,

I am delighted that we were able to become part of your reunion here at The Bristol Hotel and ever more so that we have been able to become part of lasting memories for your group in the future.

I hope we will be top of the list for your next reunion

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night on business and the location was perfect. My room was well decorated, clean and had everything you needed but the bathroom was incredibly small. To use the loo, you had to shut the door!!
Breakfast was very good, lots on offer and very fresh.
Would return and recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kaz&Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Kaz&marty,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that on this occasion you experienced one of our smaller rooms – we do have some rooms that are more geared towards the single business traveller. I am delighted however that this did not determine your overall experience with us.

On your next stay I will be delighted to personally ensure you have an opportunity to experience some of our other larger rooms in the hotel.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We really liked the Bristol Hotel - great central location, friendly staff and nice breakfasts, with a quayside view. No car park, but an NCP next to it, which the hotel make free of charge.
We upgraded to a deluxe suite - which is a nice size....but and here is reason why it's not 5* place is that the bathroom, is ridiculously small not just for a 'deluxe' room, but any room.
I would stay again, despite the small bathrooms - it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevejfarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear swisstoni,

Thank you for your feedback; it is incredibly important to me and my team and crucial as we look to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests. I am delighted to read that overall you felt our product and service generates an ‘excellent value for money.’

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I visited The Bristol Hotel for the night and the accommodation was absolutely fantastic! The hotel was clean and very beautiful, however the highlight for me was the dinner in the restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and the service we received was excellent. Sara was the person who looked after us and she was amazing and really made the evening, she made us feel like we were the only people there!
Would highly recommend this hotel for its accommodation, food and service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Hannah C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts online,

I am delighted you had a great time with us and in particular you enjoyed your experience in our River Grille restaurant. With unparalleled views over the harbour, great locally sourced food and a personal touch from our restaurant manager Sara – its great to read you had such a memorable time with us.

Sara, the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £85 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing