We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40th Anniversary dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“40th Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked this hotel because we had used it in the past and had a great reception from all the staff.
They did not let us down this year. I had 250 guests who were all well looked after. The staff were excellent, the room use used was decorated beautifully.

the food was great, served quickly and was very tasty.

Overall the feedback from the guests was excellent, and the experience of organising it was made easy by Karen in the events team.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear CrissieStanton,

Thank you for choosing The Bristol hotel to celebrate such a milestone anniversary. We really do appreciate your comments. I will be delighted to pass your great feedback to Karen in our events team.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to assist you with your 41st anniversary .

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,773
    1,137
    335
    109
    56
See reviews for
326
1,834
124
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room was clean & comfortable. The shower was lovely. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice & as much tea and coffee as required. Hotel is in a very good central location.Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sharon W,

Thank you so much for your amazing 5 stars.

Overall – its clear to read that’s you had a great stay. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I had a delux room, which was very comfortable and clean. The nespresso machine was a nice touch. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

The location of this hotel is very central, and having arrived in Bristol on the train, it was helpful not to need a car to get to various places in the city.

All in all a good experience and I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear KCO2011,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am thrilled you have had an overall great stay with us. Being only a 10 minute walk from the local Temple Meads Rail station and in the heart of the city is a real plus.

We are looking forward to having you back with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent black tie event. Perfect venue for the number of people in a good location - very central to the city and not far from the university. Superb food and service - particularly from Oscar who really entered in to the spirit of the evening. Catered well for our needs as a club with service fitted around the speeches, and welcome drinks served on arrival. Was easy to communicate with the hotel and organise the event so we would definitely look at using the hotel again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elenwyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear elenwyatt,

Wow! Thank you for the 5 star review.

I am delighted to read that you had a great event with us and that Oscar looked after you so well. Indeed it would be fantastic to have you back with us next year.

Do not hesitate to let our dedicated meeting & events team know if we can be of any assistance between now and then.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

From check-in to checkout an a great stay. Was in town for a business meeting and a friend suggested the Bristol hotel. Room was great and a fabulous location can't say anything about food as i didn't eat in the hotel. Next time i am in town i will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear matt a,

Thank you for your review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us on your next Bristol visit; hopefully we will be able to tempt you into dining in our River Grille Restaurant next time.

Sincerely
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

brilliant. great location, lovely staff, great huge bedroom,
very handy with parking connected to hotel, loved it. breakfast also very good (full english buffet style- the best way!)
Opposite Pedro's bridge which leads staright to @Bristol and the lovely waterfront area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear rick88,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the warmth and friendliness of our team and the breakfast. Such a great start to the day, panoramic harbourside views and fantastic locally sourced breakfast.

Hopefully we can tempt you back for another visit and to also try our evening a la carte menu.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here again on my way to Bath and I think this hotel just keeps getting better and better. Had dinner last night in the restaurant - they sure know how to make a great martini and the food a great improvement on last time. The rooms as normal were beautifully clean and the decor just right. Thank you .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beccy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear beccy18,

It was such a pleasure to have you back with us at The Bristol Hotel.

I am delighted you had the opportunity to spend your evening in our fabulous River Grille during your stay. It is such a nice way to spend an evening by the harbourside with our new seasonal, locally sourced a la carte menu. Panoramic views, sumptuous food, great cocktails and service is a phenominal way to see in any evening.

Thank you for your comments; the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing