We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...apart from Bad Billy Joel and Chronic Curtis Stigers...”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hassocks
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect...apart from Bad Billy Joel and Chronic Curtis Stigers...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'd feel terrible if I took a mark away from the hotel because of some badly thought out "entertainment" - but I came very close to doing so. More of that in a moment.

We booked through a website named Splendia. I wouldn't recommend doing that. I noticed we had been charged twenty five quid too much. Splendia demonstrated quite clearly that they couldn't care less and wanted me to sort it out with the hotel. I did, and the hotel were brilliant; but I shouldn't have had to- it was the agents job. Book with the hotel directly, or with a reputable booking agent- i.e. a different one. The hotel refunded the overpayment and, to apologise for the error, upgraded our room and gave us two cocktail vouchers.

The room was great. Spacious, well equipped, comfortable. We were on the sixth floor with views towards the cathedral. I would point out, however, that our friends on the fourth floor said that the bathroom was so small in their room that they had to walk in sideways. We had no complaints whatsoever.

The staff were lovely throughout; whether at reception, the bar or the restaurant. Top marks there. Breakfast was good, and at a usual hotel type price- but if you don't want a hotel breakfast the harbour is just behind the hotel and has lots of alternatives.

I have but one complaint. Saturday night we decided to retire to the bar for a quiet drink and a chat. Upon arrival we noticed they had a pianist and saxophonist about to strike up. We thought that might be pleasant. How wrong we were. They may have been a duo, but they played as if they had never met. They also did their level best to outdo each other in a demonstration of their improvisation skills. Never had I heard so many classic tunes murdered in such a terrible way. Never had I been previously tempted to garrotte a pianist with his own piano wire. They appeared to be inspired by Wynton Marsalis, however were entirely devoid of his talent- and ruined what should have been a relaxing evening. Note to hotel- you did everything well, but this kind of "entertainment" is not suitable for your bar. We will undoubtedly return to your hotel, but we will have to take our bar bill elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you're staying at the weekend, don't book a room overlooking the harbour. It's vibran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

We really appreciate the time you have taken to contribute such a comprehensive review. I am pleased that you have had overall a pleasant and memorable stay with us. You will be glad to hear our Saturday evening entertainments is rolling and changes weekly.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back with us soon!

Regards,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,890
    1,201
    355
    112
    63
See reviews for
366
1,933
131
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here again last month and was pleased to see that they are maintaining their high standards of service and food. Really good breakfasts. The restaurant was a bit pricey for an evening meal, but this such a good location for access to nearby restaurants an eateries. Great that tyhe car parking is free as it's quite expensive in Bristol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Bristol Hotel, we really do appreciate your custom.

I am delighted to read that you had experienced our usual ‘high standard’ of service on your most recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It is not cheap, but is a great base.

Bed is very comfy, rooms are nice and clean and everything works.
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was lovely, quality food in a relaxed setting and go down early for a quiet water front view.
Parking is free for guests, which for bristol is rare, and worth £20 a day for sure. We parked up and left the car there for 3 days using our feet to explore
sunday breakfast was nice as they had live piano playing, not too loud and a break from monotonous music some hotels play
Lifts are temperamental, and one wasnt working at all, which sometimes means you have to use the stairs
It is perfectly located for exploring the city, the night time area surround it, the waterfront is there outside the window and the various attractions all within walking distance

BUT, if you are going when there is an event on at the waterfront beware. Although there is triple glazing the boom boom of the music(bass) can still be heard and kept me up. I could have and should have asked to move to an interior room, but I liked the stunning views over bristol of the harbour front side rooms.

Overall - excellent and definitely a preferred hotel for us in Bristol. Thanks to the team there for making the stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Waterfront views have best views, but can be a little noise if an event is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haysinarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read that we are your preferred hotel in Bristol. Why not try one of our 7 sister properties; with 3 hotels in London, properties in Dublin, Cork and Washington DC – I am confident you will receive the same experience throughout the Doyle Collection.

In the meantime I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Bristol soon.

Regards,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Bristol Hotel 6th to 8th June. The room was a quiet one on the 3rd floor and was very good. We particularly liked the Temple Spa toiletries and the selection of teas on the drinks tray. The bathroom was small but for 2 nights it didn't cause a problem. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and the dining rooms overlooked the harbour. A pianist playing was quite novel. The location is excellent and the adjoining car park was an added bonus. We will definitely return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted that you have shared your recommendation with the online travel community and more importantly I am so pleased to read that we managed to deliver a memorable experiences throughout your stay.

The team and I do hope to have you back with us again soon.

Regards,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed on a Sat night in April, we arrived at the hotel around 11.30am and we were happy to find that we could check-in and use our room straight away. It was a small room but was very clean and modern as was the rest of the hotel, a fantastic plus point was that there's an NCP car park attached to the hotel (you could park on the level that your room was on, straight through a door and into the hotel corridor near your room) where you can park for free during your stay. Our room was on the left hand side towards the rear as you look at the hotel which meant that there was some noise from the bar below. However as we were having a late night out it didn't effect us too much. The restaurant / breakfast room was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel over-looking the harbour which gave a fantastic view whilst dining. Breakfast had a great selection which consisted of croissants, cold meats, cheeses, home made smoothies, pastries, and the usual cooked English. There was also a man playing a piano which sounds romantic but was very loud and annoying. Also, very unusually for a big hotel when we went down for breakfast well within the set times, the room was full and along with several other guests we had to queue for a table. We were sent to queue at the bar for croissants and coffee and when we finally got to the front that had run out! Luckily we were then called to the table and did enjoy a plentiful breakfast. Shame it was such a disjointed experience. Overall the location was great for going out in the evening and only five-ten mins to get to Bristol city centre shops and markets. If in Bristol again we would be happy to stay here again. NOTE: Made an error below....there's no swimming pool or spa !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review,

I am delighted that you had an overall great stay with us. I am also pleased you availed of the complimentary car parking in the adjacent NCP car park; we are the only city centre hotel offering this inclusive of overnight rate.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back with us soon.

Regards,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location, great parking, great staff, great rooms, great beds, great bathrooms, great shower, great breakfast, great price! (Did I say great?)

Seriously - the hotel has everthing you need - a comfy bed and a super shower right in the heart of Bristol.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinHide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for your 5 star review!
It is so pleasing to read that you had a great stay with us; we really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the online travel community.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you both back with us soon!

Regards,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Good location and feel good factor. Very polite staff as you book in.Stayed here 10 times in last 2 years.Nice rooms and breakfast is top class.Car parking is next door,with pubs and entertainment just minutes away

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TruthfulJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review!

We really do appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay and that you feel we are a ‘hotel with a touch of class.’

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Regards,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing