We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent in all aspects: the professionalism and warm and welcoming attitudes of the staff; the cleanliness and high quality standard of the hotel; the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, a delightful array of amenities in fresh and bright bathrooms; the very tasty and diverse choice of food ....the list goes on. I will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pascale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review!

I am delighted you experienced our teams warm and friendly service throughout the hotel.

We do endeavour to create a personal and memorable stay and I am glad our staff has been able to convey this part of our culture.

I do look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,683)
There are newer reviews for The Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 3,683 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We booked the hotel for a theatre visit to Bristol. The hotel is ideally located, not too far the theatre but not right in the city centre. We took a package deal with pre theatre dinner. From start to finish everything was excellent - the booking, parking, check-in, room, food and service.
This is the second time we've stayed - a couple of years apart and both times our expectations were met.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review!

I am delighted you experienced our teams warm and friendly service throughout the hotel.
We do endeavour to create a personal and memorable stay and I am glad our staff has been able to convey this part of our culture.

I do look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here for one night before attending a conference in the hotel the following day, it seemed convenient to stay at the same hotel. It was easy to find, within walking distance from Temple Meads Station. Checkin was a bit of a nightmare as there were a lot of people checking in at the same time and the Reception area is very cramped and dark. I had heard from friends who had already arrived, some had luxurious rooms with Nespresso machines and the like, mind (No 126) was a very standard hotel room, probably not too different from when it was a Jurys Inn, with an outlook onto a flat roof and rooflights. There was no aircon but there were three windows which cooled things down - it was a very warm day.
After meeting up with friends and being out for the evening I settled down for the night, but realised quickly that the sounds from the bars etc at the very lively waterfront carried very quickly, so I closed the windows.
Unfortunately I was woken at 2am by my neighbours crashing in through their door and spending a very noisy couple of hours until one of them left. The walls being paper thin left nothing to the imagination. I will say the bed was very comfortable.
I had been warned that breakfast was a bit of a scrum, and I had a note through the door during the evening advising me to have breakfast early. After my disturbed night I preferred an extra half hour's sleep. The bathroom, though cramped, was very well equipped and the very good shower revived me enough to head down to the conference.
I can't think of any reason why I would be back, but £99 for the room and £10 for breakfast (which in the event I didn't have) was a bit steep for my experience, so I would look elsewhere if I was.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up seemed to have more facilities, if there are any with aircon so you can keep win...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PennyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review,

I am so sorry to hear of your few disappointments with your stay; however I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the bed in your room.


If returning to Bristol please feel free to get in touch with me directly and I will be happy to personally look after your future reservation and ensure you are allocated a nice, quiet room.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

comfortable, stylish, welcoming, clean, efficient, great location.. what more could you want?
Air conditioning!
It was ~30degrees when we stayed and the room was sweltering. With open windows the temperature in the bedroom dropped a little but the road noise is loud (pay extra for a waterfront room next time!).. shame to have done such a lovely refurb but not put the aircon in, I can only presume the cost was prohibitive for this concrete building?
Anyway, lovely stay in a funky hotel with a nice bar, great staff, good looking (but untested) restautant.. and the chances of a return visit being during a heatwave are (for the UK) frankly slim.. so all good!

Room Tip: Go riverside, or a high floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBLO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review,

Firstly I am delighted that you commented so positively on both the staff and hotel - it is great to read that our service ethos transcends clearly to our guest experiences.

Obviously it is disappointing to hear that your room did not have air-conditioning.

If returning to Bristol please feel free to get in touch with me directly and I will be happy to personally look after your future reservation and ensure you are allocated a room with air conditioning.

I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Plus: able to park the car in a central location helps big time
Minus: didn't know aircon is not available in the room - bit of a surprise when aircon in HOTEL is a norm. Provided a fan though. Bed is a bit soft for my liking.

Other than that, everything was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed parking in our complimentary car park.

Conversely, I do apologise that you room did not have air-conditioning but was happy to see that you were provided a fan.

Thank you for choosing us and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely hotel with exceptional service. Very good location too right by the harbour and king street. The only complaint I have is the room service meal was tiny. Fish and chips £16 and I had to go out after to find something else to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Bristol Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. However, I am sorry that your meal wasn’t to your satisfaction. We are looking forward to your return visit to Bristol and to welcome you back with us.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel was in an ideal harbour location with a lovely modern interior. We had an extremely spacious room complete with toiletries, Coffee machine, and huge bed that was very comfortable. The only criticism I would have, is that the bathroom was very small, but not something that was a huge issue for such a short stay. We chose the bubbles and berries package so had a bowl of raspberries and strawberries and a bottle of Cava delivered to our room. Check-in was quick and easy, we arrived very early so the hotel kept our bags and put them in the room when it was ready. Staff were very friendly and always made conversation in the lifts and corridors. We couldn't have asked for more when having breakfast in the river grille. Plenty to choose from including cooked breakfast, fruit, yogurts, cured meats and cheeses, pancakes, cereals, fruit juices, tea and coffee. Gluten free options were clearly labelled, and staff made sure I had gluten free bread too. When checking out, the hotel also kept our bags for the remainder if the day so we could explore Bristol to our hearts content. We can't wait to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbour, I would imagine, are quieter. Deluxe rooms have the extra facilities.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Em_Beswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback; it is incredibly important to me and my team and crucial as we look to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests.

I am delighted to read that overall you felt our product and service was excellent.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £83 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing