We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the waterfront!”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ashford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for the waterfront!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked for our daughter's graduation at the cathedral and to spend three days in the lovely city of Bristol. The location was perfect for the river (festival was on). Room a bit warm as no air con!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Bristol Hotel,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, overall. I am disappointed to read that your room did not have air-conditioning. We would have been delighted to arrange a more suitable room had you brought this to our attention.

Hopefully this will not deter you from trying us again. Please do contact me directly – I would be delighted to personally look after you for any future bookings to ensure we can deliver on both product and service.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,889
    1,201
    355
    112
    63
See reviews for
366
1,932
131
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one night. Nice clean tidy hotel good bedrooms clean bathroom. Could not ask for more. Nice location on the harbour side. Nice breakfast very busy and tables quite close together. The bar tender was really helpful all the staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review and for taking the time to tell others about The Bristol Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and more particularly that our bar team have delivered great service.

Thank you for choosing us and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for one night at this hotel.
Pro's:
The hotel is of an excellent high standard, the bar and reception area are immaculate.
parking in NCP car park next door is free, there is direct access from all floors to the car park.
The hotel's location is ideal for the heart of Bristol, couldn't ask for better.
Large, comfortable bed in the room. The room was clean and in a good state of repair.
Breakfast was very nice, big variety from full English to standard continental buffet.

Cons:
No air con / climate control - ok it doesn't matter most of the time in the UK but in this unusually hot summer it was impossible to sleep. A desk top fan was provided but did nothing to improve the heat.
Although the room was a good size the bathroom was tiny. Also the shower leaked all over the floor.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for luxury and want to be in the very heart of Bristol.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review,

Firstly I am delighted that you commented so positively on our facilities - it is great to read that our service ethos transcends clearly to our guest experiences.

Obviously it is disappointing to hear that your room did not have air-conditioning and your bathroom was small.

If returning to Bristol please feel free to get in touch with me directly and I will be happy to personally look after your future reservation and ensure you are allocated a bigger room with air-conditioning.

I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed, by accident, on the weekend of the Bristol Harbour Festival. We were shown rooms available by Mike Tavares who was honest about the possible levels of noise from the festival in the street below. However, we did choose a room on the 6th floor overlooking the harbour. The noise wasnt too bad, we used the air conditioning and slept very well. The customer service received from Mike was exceptional. The hotel is tastefully decorated, well maintained and exceptionally clean. The bathroom had all manner of thoughtful touches. The River Grille breakfast was wonderful and we wished we'd had dinner there. There was even a very good pianist. The free parking right next door is also a selling point.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will be going back and will definitely recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review!

I am delighted you experienced our teams warm and friendly service throughout the hotel.

We do endeavour to create a personal and memorable stay and I am glad our staff has been able to convey this part of our culture.

I will be sure to highlight your wonderful feedback to Mike.

I do look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for one night after Glastonbury so was looking forward to a bit of luxury. Was quite surprised to see how small the room we booked was, picture on booking.com was very misleading. Very little room around the bed. Bathroom also very small and shower door was basically useless as water went straight through the gap at the bottom.

On the other side though the hotel outside of the room was to a good standard, bar area was nice and the staff at reception very friendly and helpful.

Cant really comment on much else as was only in for one night and used very little of the facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review,

Firstly I am delighted that you commented so positively on both the River Lounge bar and staff - it is great to read that our service ethos transcends clearly to our guest experiences.

Obviously it is disappointing to hear that you felt your room was small.

If returning to Bristol please feel free to get in touch with me directly and I will be happy to personally look after your future reservation and ensure you are allocated a bigger room.

I hope to see you again soon

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Bristol hotel last week, normally I stay at the Radisson Blu but this time they where asking silly money to stay there. The reception was highly efficient and the room was super comfortable and super quiet which for a down town location can sometimes be a challenge. The Bristol Hotel really is one of the best centrally located hotels and the rooms and staff where great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Ooperations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review!

I am delighted you experienced our teams warm and friendly service throughout the hotel.

We do endeavour to create a personal and memorable stay and I am glad our staff has been able to convey this part of our culture.

I do look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a night and found the hotel on the internet, via a travel website therefore based on previous review's and value for money, thought we would give it a try, so glad we did as it was friendly, clean, great restaurant & Bar service and superb location for our needs, we would highly recommend......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Huddy1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

It is so pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your time with us here at The Bristol Hotel.

Remember to book directly with us for the best available group and individual room rates – I hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 39 in Bristol
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Doyle Collection, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing