We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent location & great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Very comfy room, great bed, good lighting & linen, good toiletries, excellent shower, excellent car parking, great view over the docks from the cocktail bar, my 3rd stay & I'll be back. There might be cheaper hotels but by the time you add on the complimentary car parking right next door it beats those others. Excellent service from the reception team where nothing was too much trouble. Complimentary newspaper & a wake up call that actually rang the room. The room I had didn't have a view to talk of & I can see some people marking it down for this & also the lack of air con but in my book still cracking

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank therealcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the fabulous 5 star review!
It is great to read that we have ticked all the right boxes for you while you stayed with us. We are truly delighted that you will stay with us in the future.
My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon; hopefully we are your new Bristol home away from home.
Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,773
    1,137
    335
    109
    56
See reviews for
326
1,834
124
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice hotel, parking is next door in the multi storey car park but is free to people staying at the hotel. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and pleasant although the air con did not seem to provide the right temperature for the room and it was perhaps the hottest day of the year. The other problem we had was the shower not draining and flooding the bathroom. We called staff immediately and reported the problem only to be told by a very nice member of staff that this was a regular occurrence and continued to mop the floor until dry. However, nothing more was done about the problem, and, when we wanted to shower it was a case of stop start to let the water drain away! Very annoying! The desk staff were very friendly and helpful (the shower incident excluded). We had breakfast in the hotels restaurant with seating next to the floor to ceiling window that overlooks the river and the walkway. The food was excellent, I had a full English and my wife had a continental, plenty of it and as many cups of tea or coffee that we wanted. This hotel is in an excellent location, with staff that are both friendly and professional. I just wish they would sort out the niggling problems that spoilt an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trev403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review.

It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, overall. While you have had a great time with us – thank you for also taking your time to provide constructive feedback regarding your room. I totally welcome your comments as this helps us to continually improve our service and facilities.
I am looking forward to sharing your comments with my team and hope to welcome you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location was ideal, the service was excellent and all members of staff were very helpful and friendly. We mentioned having a view of the harbour in our on line booking. Upon arrival we were informed that we had been given a complimenary upgrade which provided exactly that and more. I would definitely return to The Bristol Hotel.

Room Tip: Request harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you experienced the warmth and friendliness of our team. Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

Kindest Regards

Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely hotel with a fantastic location. Very easy to get to all the restaurants and attractions in the area. Lovely big room with a nice and big bathroom. The hotel is in walking distance to most attractions. Heavily recommended.

Room Tip: We top floor seems like a new addition and the room was newly decorated. Don't know about the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your bedroom and bathroom. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Upon arrival, there was a queue to check in, staff immediately acknowledged us and were most efficient and friendly at checking us in. We were very impressed with the room, very clean and spacious and offered exceptional facilities, such as a Nespresso machine which was really appreciated in the morning. We loved the welcome card inviting us back to stay! The hotel is in such a great location overlooking the river, and is ideally close to bars and restaurants. Breakfast was outstanding, again staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be returning for another exceptional stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you experienced the warmth and friendliness of our team. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back – remember to book directly to get the best rates!

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly and efficient staff, great breakfast, highly recommended. Lovely hotel, friendly and efficient staff, great breakfast, highly recommended. Lovely hotel, friendly and efficient staff, great breakfast, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 star review!

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy to hear our breakfast offering impressed, it is such an important part of our guest experience and therefore a key focus for us as a team. I am glad you also enjoyed our hospitality – overall we are looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon!

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for the centre of Bristol and sits on the riverside. A taxi from Temple Meades station should be c£6. The staff are very helpful and breakfast is very good but busy. There were two factors which impacted on the overall rating - we stayed during an exceptionally hot period and were provided with an upgraded room on the 6th floor - However be aware this floor is an extension to the hotel and the complete floor and corridors were considerably warmer than the other 5 floors - uncomfortably so - so avoid this level on very warm periods. In addition although our room was meant to be an upgraded room we personally found this to be a bit on the small side for an executive double room with very little room to move but we did not view other rooms to compare - this is not a complaint simply an observation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almar132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted to read that you both had an overall good experience with us – however I am sorry that you experienced problems with the size of your room and the discomfort you experienced with regards to the heat.

Hopefully this will not deter you from trying us again. Please do contact me directly – I would be delighted to personally look after you for any future bookings to ensure we can deliver on both product and service.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel
Gareth_byrne@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Doyle Collection so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing