We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel had been booked for a wedding party to stay in while attending a local wedding. It was excellent in every regard and the car park being integral to the hotel was a bonus. I was very satisfied with the hotel and the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ColchesterSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Bristol Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. I am also thrilled to see that you have given us a 5 star review!

We are looking forward to your return visit to Bristol and to welcome you back with us.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 3,760 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Bristol Hotel is well placed to visit Bristol and enjoy the waterfront. With beautiful decor and excellent service this really is a lovely place to stay.

They offer free parking in the adjacent NCP car park which is a bonus, as you can park your car and leave it for the afternoon or overnight at no additional charge.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. A hotel I will definitely stay at again in the future!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Harbour area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing 5 star review!

I am delighted that you had a great time with us. It’s pleasing to read that you have enjoyed the our complimentary car parking and our spacious bedrooms.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Bristol Hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed at The Bristol before and knew it was in a fantastic location. We asked for a quiet room as last time our room overlooked the harbour and was a little noisy.

This time our superior room on the 5th floor overlooked the courtyard and was excellent, so peaceful and quiet it was hard to believe we were within a few minutes walk of the busy harbour.

The hotel was spotless, wonderfully decorated and a lovely place to relax in. All the staff we spoke to were friendly and efficient.

Our bathroom was a little on the small side, however it did have a bath rather than just a shower, again spotless with complimentary toiletries.

Breakfast was included in our stay and again I couldnt fault it, lots of choice, full english, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries etc.

Finally on checking out we were given our parking pass and without even having to ask we were told we could enjoy more time in Bristol that day and leave when we were ready, what more could you ask for. We will definitely be back to stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a quiet room if you want to be sure of avoiding late night noise from bars on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was peaceful and quiet.

We do endeavour to create a personal and memorable stay and I am glad our staff has been able to convey this part of our culture.

I do look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night for an anniversary. Had a deluxe room over looking harbour which was spacious, clean and decorated perfectly. Room service breakfast was of good quality, lots and fresh. The car park beside is perfect and free! Will be returning again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Catfitzsimons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and for sharing your experiences with the travel community. May I also congratulate you on your Anniversary!

The hotel does boast a phenomenal location harbourside in the city centre - I am delighted this had such a positive impact on your stay with us - as did your experience with our Room service breakfast.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for one night for a friends birthday. I could not recommend this hotel enough. The staff are fantastic, nothing too much trouble, the rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. Central for the pubs and restaurants and shopping! Would definitely stay here again without a second thought for looking for anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AitchR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Bristol Hotel and for the 5 star review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. I am also thrilled to see my team delivered during your stay with us.

We are looking forward to your return visit to Bristol and to welcome you back with us.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a very comfortable two night stay in room 529 overlooking the river. Although we were opposite the very noisy bar and cafe area, the triple glazing was very effective and cut out most of the noise. The hotel is in a great location with all the attractions of the river and harbour side on the doorstep. We originally booked a superior room but then discovered that not all rooms have aircon, so I rang the hotel and paid for an upgrade to a deluxe room with aircon. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The only slight negative is that the aircon unit was not very effective and intermittently noisy so we did not sleep as well as we would have liked.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was all you could wish for and dinner in the River Grill was excellent with very attentive service.
Overall, we were very happy with our stay at The Bristol and would recommend it, but, in summer, make sure you get a room with aircon.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 5 star review!

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy to hear our breakfast and dinner offering impressed, it is such an important part of our guest experience and therefore a key focus for us as a team. Conversely, I appreciate your feedback and I am very grateful to you for taking the time to complete a review.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bristol Hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visit Bristol often and have stayed in most hotels. We stayed here under previous ownership when it was Jury's, but The Doyle Collection have much improved its facilities, ambiance and comfort. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank naveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth B, Director of Operations at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Amazing! Thank you for the 5 star review!

I am delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. Remember when you are returning next – to book directly with us again to take advantage of one of our six fantastic package offers including our vivacious ‘Take me to the bar package’
Hopefully I will have an opportunity to personally meet you next time you check in with us!

Sincerely,
Gareth Byrne
Director of Operations
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £79 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol! Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: the Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queens Square, Bristol Cathedral and At Bristol (across Pero's Bridge), and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre is right next door. For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar. Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing