We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located friendly hotel”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester
Level Contributor
331 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A well located friendly hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you are visiting Bristol you cannot find many hotels better placed than this one. Overlooking the Broad Quay restaurant area with easy access to Park Street and the centre of The City The Bristol Hotel ticks all the boxes.
The rooms are large and well equipped. The restaurant is well situated over looking the dock and the reception area is well appointed. One of the lifts was out of order when we visited and some building noise was apparent. Otherwise well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Go for one overlooking the new Millennium Square area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveThomasLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Dave Tomas Leicester,

Thank you for the great review,

It is pleasing to see you had an enjoyable stay and felt the location and Rooms suited your requirements.

I am pleased to say both lifts are in full working order now!

We hope to see you again when back visiting Bristol,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    1,174
    349
    112
    63
See reviews for
355
1,892
128
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Spent a lovely couple of days in Bristol over the August bank holiday.
We arrived at the Bristol Hotel about Mid day and we parked the car next door in the NCP Car park . We went to see if could leave our bag in the Hotel until our room was ready so we could go for a walk. To our surprise our room was ready and we could check in.
The staff we're very friendly and we had a lovely room overlooking the river.
The location could not have been better,just walk over the bridge and there were bars,restaurants and plenty to see close by(SS Great Britain,M Shed and lots more).
The breakfast next morning was one of the best we've ever had and after we checked out we were told we could leave the car in the car park F.O.C For the rest of the day.
Can't fault it

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevanjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Kevanjayne,

Thank you for the great review,

I am glad you had a room ready on arrival and you availed of our complimentary car parking over the weekend.

The MSHED and SS great Britain are certainly two superb recommendations for anyone looking for something to do whilst in the city,

We hope to see you again when back visiting Bristol,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Myself and my Husband are currently staying at The Bristol Hotel and we have found the hotel extremely disappointing. We were told we would have a river view room which we did not get, the food was just okay in the restaurant for dinner. We left the hotel at 9:45 am this morning and returned at 4pm and found our room had still not been cleaned. We called down 3 times to the reception desk where they did not answer. My Husband then went down to the desk where the reception staff made him feel like he was the problem, they were barely polite and offered a very insincere apology. Only I had spent the morning in the hospital and need to rest I would find another hotel. I am very annoyed as we are booked to stay here 6 nights while I am in and out of hospital for treatment and it has so far been extremely disappointing. I would have expected a lot more for the price we are paying.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stop here because of its location plus it's #4 on here with some excellent recommendations! We arrived on Monday and where greeted efficiently at reception even-though the hotel was busy with a huge wedding party arriving. We parked in the ncp next to the hotel as it had access to the hotel rooms and was free parking for the duration of our stay, even if you go out they will give you a ticket to get out of the car park which we did on Thursday. We didn't need to go out with the car until then as this hotel is perfectly situated for every part of the city, with just a wander over the bridge you have a plethora of eateries to choose from we eat at several of these places. The bedroom was extremely clean with the added touch of slippers and bath robes, and very comfortable bed, we had to ask for some firmer pillows and they where popped up to our room efficiently. The breakfast was a real highlight for my partner he loved the forest-fruits smoothie and the range of choice was extensive, with smocked salmon, cheeses, meats and many many tasty pastries. We popped in to the shore bar attached to the hotel and it was a nice surprise to save a few pennies on the drinks as we where stay at the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely come back, lovely touch on check out we received a couple of bottles of water!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire-Abson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Claire-Abson

Thank you for the Excellent review,

After staying with us for five nights you are certainly in a position to review the hotel!! We are glad we lived up to our Billing and extra pleased you availed of our complimentary car parking during your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Bristol was recommended by a family member, it's location was superb and although I loved my room I was a little miffed at first by not having a view over the quay. This I now think was a blessing as the nightlife went on until the early hours and I was able to have my window open without any noise disturbance. The superior room was furnished to a high standard, was well equipped, the bathroom a bit on the small side for my liking but absolutely nothing to complain about. The reception staff were so helpful. Breakfast was pleasant overlooking the quay although I felt the tables a little too close together for when you needed to move about getting your breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and would definitely make it my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Wendy M.

Thank you for the Excellent review,

We are delighted you enjoyed our location and hopefully on your next stay we will allocate you a room on the quayside.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at the Bristol Hotel for the Balloon Fiesta. Good location, decent hotel, little expensive for what you get. If I were to stay again I would prefer a room overlooking the river. I was advised to have a room to the rear to avoid the noise of the riverside. I think I would have preferred the noise as the room overlooked a concrete roof space and other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChampagneGirl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Champagnegirl2002

Thank you for the great review,

We are delighted you enjoyed our location and I hope you enjoyed the Balloon Fiesta, hopefully you got to see it Saturday as opposed to Sunday when the weather got quite poor.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our first choice hotel when visiting Bristol. Excellent location, well-appointed rooms, friendly & professional staff. Ample, secure and free parking in the adjacent NCP ( with direct access to the hotel after check-in). This was our third visit, we have introduced friends and family to the hotel, and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KKSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear KKsheffield

Thank you for the great review,

I am delighted we are your first choice when visiting Bristol & you avail of our complimentary car parking when with us. Also we really do appreciate the recommendations to friends and family about the hotel.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Doyle Collection, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing