We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bristol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,935)
Filter reviews
3,935 results
Traveller rating
2,077
1,287
387
119
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,077
1,287
387
119
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingdeluxe roomcar parkoverlooking the harbouradjacent ncpnespresso machinelovely hotelbars and restaurantsexcellent locationss great britainan upgradecity centresaturday nightlovely roomcomfy bedbuffet stylea lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,130 - 2,135 of 3,935 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. It is conveniently situated in the Old City area of Bristol which is pretty central for most of the sights and attractions of Bristol. Overall it was very presentable in terms of cleanliness, service and facilities although we did not actually eat any meals in the hotel. We stayed in Room 217 which was at the gable-end side of the building and not overlooking either the main road or the harbour-side. It was booked as a Superior Double Room which implies some degree of spaciousness but it was extremely tight on space. The bed, which I believe was a standard double, has small but tall bedside tables either side and all three items of furniture are almost wedged between the bedroom walls. My wife and I are both 6ft tall so the bed was slightly uncomfortable. On top of not sleeping particularly well my wife banged her forehead on the corner of the bedside table. Luckily it was her forehead and not her eye. Finally, the blackout curtains on the windows, which in many hotels have gaps either side, actually did keep out the street light. However the interior designers decided to put fancy lights beneath the wash-hand basin which are permanently switched on AND to have a bathroom door with a central glass panel to let the light shine back into the bedroom.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of beds and space within rooms. Don't rely on Hotel's own description of rooms, they obviously vary by hotel group. Harbourside "Stags and Hens" bars are opposite so for quiet rooms ask to be on the Main Road side.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Frankie R,

Thank you for the comprehensive review,

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel from a cleanliness, service and facilities view point. We will take your other comments on board and have already removed the light from 217 so it does not annoy any future guests.

We hope to welcome you back to The Bristol Hotel again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you are visiting Bristol you cannot find many hotels better placed than this one. Overlooking the Broad Quay restaurant area with easy access to Park Street and the centre of The City The Bristol Hotel ticks all the boxes.
The rooms are large and well equipped. The restaurant is well situated over looking the dock and the reception area is well appointed. One of the lifts was out of order when we visited and some building noise was apparent. Otherwise well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Go for one overlooking the new Millennium Square area
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveThomasLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Dave Tomas Leicester,

Thank you for the great review,

It is pleasing to see you had an enjoyable stay and felt the location and Rooms suited your requirements.

I am pleased to say both lifts are in full working order now!

We hope to see you again when back visiting Bristol,

Sincerely

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Spent a lovely couple of days in Bristol over the August bank holiday.
We arrived at the Bristol Hotel about Mid day and we parked the car next door in the NCP Car park . We went to see if could leave our bag in the Hotel until our room was ready so we could go for a walk. To our surprise our room was ready and we could check in.
The staff we're very friendly and we had a lovely room overlooking the river.
The location could not have been better,just walk over the bridge and there were bars,restaurants and plenty to see close by(SS Great Britain,M Shed and lots more).
The breakfast next morning was one of the best we've ever had and after we checked out we were told we could leave the car in the car park F.O.C For the rest of the day.
Can't fault it

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevanjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Kevanjayne,

Thank you for the great review,

I am glad you had a room ready on arrival and you availed of our complimentary car parking over the weekend.

The MSHED and SS great Britain are certainly two superb recommendations for anyone looking for something to do whilst in the city,

We hope to see you again when back visiting Bristol,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Myself and my Husband are currently staying at The Bristol Hotel and we have found the hotel extremely disappointing. We were told we would have a river view room which we did not get, the food was just okay in the restaurant for dinner. We left the hotel at 9:45 am this morning and returned at 4pm and found our room had still not been cleaned. We called down 3 times to the reception desk where they did not answer. My Husband then went down to the desk where the reception staff made him feel like he was the problem, they were barely polite and offered a very insincere apology. Only I had spent the morning in the hospital and need to rest I would find another hotel. I am very annoyed as we are booked to stay here 6 nights while I am in and out of hospital for treatment and it has so far been extremely disappointing. I would have expected a lot more for the price we are paying.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stop here because of its location plus it's #4 on here with some excellent recommendations! We arrived on Monday and where greeted efficiently at reception even-though the hotel was busy with a huge wedding party arriving. We parked in the ncp next to the hotel as it had access to the hotel rooms and was free parking for the duration of our stay, even if you go out they will give you a ticket to get out of the car park which we did on Thursday. We didn't need to go out with the car until then as this hotel is perfectly situated for every part of the city, with just a wander over the bridge you have a plethora of eateries to choose from we eat at several of these places. The bedroom was extremely clean with the added touch of slippers and bath robes, and very comfortable bed, we had to ask for some firmer pillows and they where popped up to our room efficiently. The breakfast was a real highlight for my partner he loved the forest-fruits smoothie and the range of choice was extensive, with smocked salmon, cheeses, meats and many many tasty pastries. We popped in to the shore bar attached to the hotel and it was a nice surprise to save a few pennies on the drinks as we where stay at the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely come back, lovely touch on check out we received a couple of bottles of water!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire-Abson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, General Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Claire-Abson

Thank you for the Excellent review,

After staying with us for five nights you are certainly in a position to review the hotel!! We are glad we lived up to our Billing and extra pleased you availed of our complimentary car parking during your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Sincerely,

Mark Payne
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews