We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malago Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stay at the Malago regularly, as my daughter lives in Bristol. Its rooms are similar in standard to a Premier Inn, but it's much cheaper for me as I can pay just for a single room and breakfast is included. The Malago is always very clean, warm and a comfortable place to stay. The private car park is very tight - only suitable for smallish cars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    94
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
34
90
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Very nice place to stay for a night or two as it was very clean and comfortable, but the location wasn't fantastic and the wifi didn't work well on the third floor. The employees were extremely helpful and gave us directions to local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie_renny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The location of the B&B isn't great. It's a main road which is busy, especially in the morning, and the rooms shake when lorries go past. However, there is a Tesco metro just up the road and curry/fish and chips/thai food all within 5 mins. It is on a main bus route into the city which is great. The buses are cheap, modern and comfy. Also on the bus route to the airport which only takes about 15 mins.

The room size was great, everything clean, comfy bed, nice warming radiator, massive bathroom. Hairdryer and iron provided, plus tea/coffee. Breakfast was nothing special, a standard "continental" breakfast, but you can use the microwave for whatever you like. Didn't use the car park but the wifi signal was decent too, even from the top floor.

No lift so difficult if you have a lot of luggage or difficulty with stairs. Friendly staff, lots of information about the local area available.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chowso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

On arrival, parking was a nightmare, but room was spacious, clean and modern. Hallway carpets could do with a clean though! Didnt have a great night sleep as there was a lot of noise in the street below however we were there on a friday night so maybe quieter on a weekday. Breakfast was continental and quite basic, the dining area was abit cramped so we couldnt move around freely. It was ok for a weekend away shopping with the girls, dont think i would want to stay for more than one night and i wouldnt take my children there because of the inadequate parking (very stressful manoeuvres required !) and the noise outside.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel would be better as i think less noisy, also arrive early to get an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Let's make some bullet points for you guys,
good:
*location *transport to town (bus stop just outside) *tesco near *a few good places to eat *super clean room & bathroom *kettle, coffee & tea *room big enough

bad: *no internet upstairs (we had room 16) *really don't bother with breakfast unless you like tesco type packaging food *noisy *not enough staff around to help you check out *they take a payment upfront which we didn't know until check out, we were handed a payment receipt *hard mattress *cleaning lady coming early and knocking to the door when we were not ready

overall: good value for money but next time we will stay somewhere else

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night at the weekend. It was the most reasonable we could find that wasn't miles out of the city. It was still a mile or two from the center but was on quite a busy road so the bus stop was just down the road and buses went frequently, there was also free parking although not many spaces and full the night we stayed. Were greeting by a friendly lady who checked us in promptly, had a room on top floor facing the road which I thought may be noisy but had no problems. It is a budget place so we got what we expected, think the photos on the website are shot very well, but was clean and had everything required although shower was quite bad, having a bath made up for this, and bed was a tad hard. Was a reasonable selection at breakfast, I only had pastries which weren't the greatest, but sufficient. Free WiFi was a plus as were local shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Malago for a couple of nights, on arrival we had a nice greeting from a friendly receptionist, our room was clean and nicely furnished, couldn't quite see what was 'luxury' about the bathroom but was modern and clean and apparently toiletries were available on request. Breakfast was good with a selection of cold meat, cheese, boiled eggs and tomatoes plus the usual cereals, toast etc.Free WiFi is always a bonus and there is also free parking. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.0 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#19 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malago Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malago Bed & Breakfast

Property: Malago Bed & Breakfast
Address: 113 West Street, Bristol BS3 3PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malago Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Malago Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malago Hotel Bristol
Malago Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing