We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a really nice hotel, the staff are friendly and accommodating, and the rooms (we were in a family room with a bath, an upgrade from our booking) a good size, clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, a short walk to the Harborside precinct, St Nicholas Market (which s fantastic for food, open weekdays) and in the other direction 5-10 minutes walk the shopping district.
I would also highly recommend the pool at the gym, which is free for hotel guests to use. It's extremely clean, the staff are helpful and it's child-friendly.
We booked through a website and got a very good deal, so ended up staying for a week.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CattyBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities that the hotel has to offer and that you also got to experience the nearby attractions within the City.

We do hope that you will come back and visit us again, to experience even more of what the surrounding area has to offer for families.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    545
    367
    230
    151
See reviews for
234
630
99
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed just for one night, the hotel was lovely, we were upgraded to a suite, all the staff were very helpful, breakfast very good, will definately be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor and we are extremely pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked this hotel last minute as not much choice available in Bristol for this particular weekend - We were very pleased with the hotel - very clean, lovely family room and allowed us to check in at 12.00pm as we had tickets for a matinee show at the Hippodrome.Staff very friendly and informative on local sites and restaurants. The facilities in the gym and pool were very adequate. The hotel is also only a 5 minutes walk to The Galleries and Cabot Circus shopping centres. We would definitely book again..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

As a team, we really appreciate your kind comments and are glad that you enjoyed your time at The Grand and also experienced some of the attractions and shops in the area.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
611 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Overall hard to fault. The Grand dates from the 1870s and is in the centre of Bristol's small historic core. In quiet Broad Street, it's close to the fine old buildings of Corn Street and a short pleasant stroll to the Georgian Queen Square, a leafy and peaceful place and one of the most beautiful squares you'll find anywhere. Also a short walk to the cathedral and Park Street and the Georgian/Regency charms of Clifton.
Our 'junior suite', on the first floor facing Broad Street, was spacious. Its quietness, large and comfortable bed and excellent air conditioning (unusual for England) guaranteed a good sleep. Good bathroom. Secure parking adjacent to the hotel. Only real criticism - internet was £10 for 24 hours but only for one computer and rather slow. And although the hotel is old, except in relation to its bones (exterior, old windows etc), this isn't really obvious - eg the ground floor reception and dining areas look entirely modern. Nevertheless, hard to do better in Bristol and at around £130 a night for a quiet, spacious and comfortable room, not unreasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed both the charms of our delightful Victorian Hotel, as well as discovering the delights of Bristol and do hope that the next time you visit Bristol, that you will return to stay at the Grand.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I checked into the Grand for a two night's stay. The room was a nice size and clean. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Although I paid, the internet connection was dead or "low." making it very difficult for me to catch up on emails and do my work. When I reported the problem to front desk, they told me to call the internet provider (instead of taking care of the problem for me.). Several times I called the front desk and no one picked up after 15 rings. The hotel is centrally located, and that is a nice thing. Long waits at registration desk. Breakfast was decent. Because of the problems noted, I do not think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sprigget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay at the Grand Hotel.

I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced with regards to the poor wi-fi connection during your stay, which BT have been investigating for us and also for the issues that you had with delay at the registration desk and the non-answering of the telephone. I would like to reassure you that this most certainly is not the normal level of service at the hotel.

We were pleased to read that you felt that your room was clean and that the breakfast was decent and do hope that you will reconsider and visit us again in the future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I was very impressed by attentive staff, our room and the facilities available.
The reception staff were extremely helpful and welcoming- nothing was too much trouble.
The porter was also very helpful- he offered to carry all our luggage to our car on the 2 floor of the car park.
We choose this hotel because of the secure parking and value for money - a rarity in central Bristol hotels. The car parking was certainly secure and very reassuring in a area of high car crime.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found the team helpful and welcoming and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I'd definitely recommend staying at this hotel- the only reason i've rated it 4 instead of 5 is because there was some sort of school party going on at the hotel the night I was staying- everywhere seemed to be full of loud teenagers which dulled the experience. Still the music from their event didn't travel into the hotel room which was fine. The cosy bar downstairs is romantic and a great place to chill out and have a drink. Traditional decor in the rooms which is like a step back in time- in a good way! I now live in Bristol and very close to this hotel so don't have a need to stay here again but I would recommend it to people looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerRBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay at the Grand.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, however would like to apologise for the disturbance that you encountered from the attendees at a School Prom event in the hotel.

We do hope that you will return to visit the team at the Grand now that you also live in the area, especially for a drink in Marlows Bar..

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly The Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#9 Family Hotel in Bristol
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand, Bristol Hotel Bristol
Thistle Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing