We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful and efficient staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very helpful and efficient staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed for a short honeymoon after getting married nearby and found the hotel clean friendly and warm. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite after a slight misunderstanding . This appartment is lovely with a huge bathroom and all mod cons. Room service was quick. Food from the restaurant was superb both breakfast and dinner. Great location . Thanks to ALL the staff including Charlie on reception and Alan the waiter.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58franky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandBristol, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding both breakfast and dinner and also the service that you received whilst you were staying with us. Your feedback specifically for Charley and Alan will be passed on to them.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will come and visit us again in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    545
    366
    230
    149
See reviews for
234
629
99
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business. Had a single room no view at all and room very dark but ok for business purposes and staff very friendly and helpful. Food was good and room very clean . Conference facilities were good .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dozadavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandBristol, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your encounters with members of the team and were pleased that you found the hotel ideally located and to your satisfaction.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed here on the 3rd of November for a birthday present. We stayed in a double room which was very comfortable and spacious. The room was spotless. The people at the welcome desk were also polite and helpful, as were the staff who were around the hotel. We are thinking of booking a night here again as it was highly enjoyable. The food in the restaurant downstairs is also lovely, definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandBristol, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you found your room and restaurant experience to your satisfaction and that all staff that you encountered were polite and helpful.

We do hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future when you are next looking to stay in the City.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed at The Grand for a weekend away with some girl friends, good location and spa facilities very clean. All staff we came across at check in, breakfast, leisure in the housekeeping were all very friendly. Had a great room, bathroom a little dated but very clean. Overall a really good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandBristol, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you found the Grand to be ideal for your recent visit to the City and that you found all of the team to be very friendly with all areas very clean.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again when you are next in Bristol and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at the grand on a room only basis on the 11th & 12th of october for a weekend break although hotel is very near shops restruants etc, it's a bit of a walk to the train station. Check in was quick, room clean and nicely furnished, house keeping excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandBristol, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you found check-in to be quick and that you felt that housekeeping had done an excellent job with your room which was clean and nicely furnished.

We do hope that you will return to visit us again in the near future

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Lovely hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Room was spotless and nicely furnished. The pool and spa facilities also very good. Excellent location with everything we needed, Colston Hall, good restaurants, waterfront and shopping areas within a 10 minute walk. Nice dining area with good selection for breakfast. Would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajayne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandBristol, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you found the staff friendly and efficient and your room clean and nicely furnished. The hotel, as you rightly point out, is ideally located to visit the shops, harbourside, local restaurants and Colston Hall for an evening of entertainment.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had a lovely 6th anniversary break in Bristol, the location was perfect, right in the centre so we could walk everywhere and explore without having to take the car. The room and the bathroom was nice and big and the bed was really comfortable, it was a nice room to pop back to during the day. It was the perfect base to explore the city and if I was to go back I wouldn't hesitate to go back to The Grand.

Room Tip: we had the Deluxe Double . The view was rather boring, but the room itself was very large with a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_GrandBristol, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you found the Grand to your satisfaction during your recent anniversary break to Bristol and do hope that you will come back to celebrate your seventh wedding anniversary with us, if not before.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly The Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#9 Family Hotel in Bristol
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand, Bristol Hotel Bristol
Thistle Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing