We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for one night with my partner. Friendly reception staff on check in. Lovely leisure facilities though jacuzzi a tad cool for my liking. Had a spa treatment and it was one of the best full body massages I have ever had! Only dined in the hotel bar and food was of good quality and reasonably priced. 5-7 minute walking distance from Cabot circus. Will definately return..... Thank you!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flower1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    545
    367
    230
    151
See reviews for
234
630
99
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kempele
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here one night on a business trip. Probably this hotel has good central location in a old part of town, though I haven’t any change to look surroundings as I arrived late and left early. Certainly nothing to complain. Service at reception desk was very friendly and they were willing to fulfill even some specific requests I had. Good well served dinner and excellent English breakfast. Room was very small but still very comfortable and also clean. Actually taking in account of hotels age I was positively surprised of in how good condition and shape room was. This hotel is one of those old hotels having that atmosphere and feeling modern hotels don’t have.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeikkiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We are a small family who had a weekend city break in Bristol. I chose the Grand for its location and also it had a pool. The room was great, clean - the bed was comfy, we had a disturbed night due to a fire alarm - but I managed to get back to sleep quickly. Breakfasts were good and plentiful. All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed our popcorn and hot chocolate - a nice touch. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: the function rooms could be noisy so check to see if you are away from them :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 36TheRussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in the UK and many of them I will never return to. This one I will and will bring my wife next time! Friendly and courteous staff, reasonable room size (based on a twin), bathroom (with bath!!!). Breakfast was booked in advance so it was marginally cheaper, definitely worth it. OH, don't forget your swimmers, the pool was great and had a sauna and steam room. Parking not bad for Bristol at £8/ night's stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urumqi, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Overall looking at the reviews below there is a lot of whinging but we stayed for 2 nights recently and had a great time. The room was well sized with everything we needed. Staff were friendly and service was excellent. The location was great and I look forward to our next trip to Bristol. I wouldn't seat breakfast here though with the price versus what is on offer around the area there's no comparison.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lezros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

It cost just £89 for a single room on a Thursday evening, which I felt was excellent value for a single room. Whilst it was a single room, it was spacious, with an arm chair and table as well as a desk. There was no air conditioning, but a ceiling fan and opening window (restricted opening) were sufficient for cooler air, although Im not sure if that is enough in summer. The bathroom was a good size, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It was less than 1 mile from Bristol Temple Meads train station - don't bother with a taxi, just come out of the station, turn right when you reach the road and walk straight for around 10 minutes. Save on a taxi fare, and get some exercise too!

I attended a back tie dinner there which was well managed and managed, the food was very nice too considering they were catering for over 400.

The staff were excellent and courteous at all times of day. A delightful little touch from them, when I checked out on a Friday was to give me a Crunchie - for that Friday feeling! Such a simple thing, but thought it was a lovely touch.

I didn't use the leisure facilities, or eat within the restaurant due to events and time restrictions, so cannot comment on these.

Get it booked! I would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a weekend treat for my wife.Had such an enjoyable stay she loved it.Check in was very quick we were allocated a lovely room with incredible shower.Had a really good nights sleep in a sooo comfy bed.Ate in the restaurant both nights, meals were lovely with excellent service by the staff.Buffet breakfast set us up for the days 'shopping'..again very attentive service by breakfast staff.The hotel is ideally located for city centre but away from the usual city noise at night.Would highly recommend this beautiful old hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rotty113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly The Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#9 Family Hotel in Bristol
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand, Bristol Hotel Bristol
Thistle Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing