We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I had a pleasure of staying two nights in this fantastic hotel. It is very conveniently located in the city centre, which made it easy to visit the restaurants and local attractions. The desk team was very friendly and professional. They really made me and others feel welcomed. The restaurant room was outstanding with it´s grand decor. Room was also very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,893 - 1,899 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel was beautiful, old and charming. The front desk staff was lovely and took the time to give us several room choices and explain the views and possible noise issues - on the Water Shed side (river) there is a road below that could be an issue. We opted for the cathedral/park side and the view was amazing...right smack in front of the cathedral. The hotel does have on-site parking which is very handy as the closest parking garage is a couple of blocks away. There is a nice bar and a stunning restaurant in the hotel.

The rooms are very nicely appointed and the bed is quite comfortable. We opted to upgrade to a superior room which was larger and included several amenities, including a half bottle of wine delivered to the room. There are several restaurants that are walking distance and the hotel is right on the Water Shed area (river). I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone going to Bristol and will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itrvlfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nice, 'grand' hotel.

Allocated a room in the basement which caused degree of apprehension. However, because of hilly location, basement is actually ground floor. Overall the room was conducive to good night's sleep due to comfortable bed, effective blackout curtains and it being very quiet (remarkable given city centre location).

Spacious bathroom with Marriott brand toiletries. Very powerful shower. The addition of a magnifying mirror would have been good as had to lean over cupboards/sink (a make-up thing!)

Good breakfast with plenty of choice and decent quality food.

This hotel is a good four star, maybe getting close to needing an update, but it wouldn't take much to make it five star - slippers/dressing gowns/better toiletries etc.

Recommend and would stay here again. Bit expensive, but then it seems that Bristol is expensive. Parking in basement £12.50 per day (but valid until midnight on day of departure).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrived at the hotel very tired after a lot of travelling and stayed one night. Staff were incredibly welcoming and pleasant. The concierge was very helpful and gave us a map and very detailed directions to the Clifton suspension bridge and we caught a bus outside the hotel (college green) and then walked back - very pleasant. We were given a lovely room overlooking the cathedral and did not hear any noise at all and had a good nights sleep - the Marriott beds and bedding are always very comfortable in our experience. In addition to the usual instant coffee and teas there was filter coffee was provided in the room - a very nice touch. There are 2 restaurants one for breakfast and one for the evening. The evening restaurant has very interesting architecture and is a lovely place to sit and have a meal. The staff (2 young ladies - one chinese and thai) were absolutely charming and very competent. The food was excellent, well presented and tasty and we felt that it was good value for the quality and ambience. The car park is directly connected to the hotel and you have to pay for it which is understandable as it is city centre and not too bad for £12.50 for 24 hours and it is well worth it for the convenience. We had a chip in our windscreen from our journey and the staff allowed the repair service to enter the car park free of charge to repair our car. We very much enjoyed out stay and after our difficult journey we felt rested and relaxed and ready for our onward journey. We will definitely return to this hotel if we ever have the opportunity to return to Bristol. We stay in hotels a lot and rarely do reviews but the service at this hotel prompted me to write this review.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephaniewirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Central location at bottom of Park Street and very short walk to lots of bars and restaurants on the water. Arrived to join my family around 7.30pm on a Saturday evening for 1 night stay and literally fell over wedding party hanging about in the reception area. Strong chemical smell from basement pool/spa on walk through public bar/lounge area to lifts. Because we were 3 sharing, the room rate only included breakfast for 2. At GBP15 for continental or GBP17 for full english, the GBP5 full english offer from the coffee shop across the road was more tempting. Saturday night in Bristol was wall to wall hen and stag parties (we must have seen over 20 groups; all of them in some form of fancy dress) which was entertaining and a little shocking! Hotel reception staff were helpful. Room was fine but on the top floor of this old building which meant it had a small window and of course it could only be partially opened as it was 'locked for our safety and control of room temperature etc'?!

Room Tip: Make sure not to get a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Great location adjacent the Bristol waterside/harbour area, the heart of Bristol nightlife, but only a short walk to the museums and the University district where food/drink prices tended to be lower than the city in most establishments. Take the ferry from the station (Bristol Temple Meads) if arriving by train for £1.90 which takes approx 15-20 minutes to the steps at the bottom of the hotel, the best way to see Bristol and arrive in this vibrant area

Room Tip: 4th Floor Harbourside view rooms are probaly the best..Parkign available at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Returned here after nearly 7 yrs and it's still lovely. Building is beautiful and staff are fab, very warm and approachable. Great location, night life very near by but couldn't hear any noise from our room, perfect.

Room Tip: Staff can advise which rooms are away from any noise from the pubs / bars etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorla55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £69 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing