We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,330)
Filter reviews
2,330 results
Traveller rating
950
875
303
129
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
950
875
303
129
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollege greendrawing roomjunior suiteleisure clubsauna and steam roomcar parkleisure facilitieslovely hotelper daypublic areascity centrereception staffbreakfast was excellentthird floorsaturday nightfamily roombars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,759 - 1,764 of 2,330 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice hotel that was obviously really nice in its heyday. Still has a feeling a grandeur although the carpets are a little worn in places and the furniture in the public areas is not as plush as it probably once was. The bedrooms are a good size and are very clean and well-kept. The bathroom was nice and the shower was powerful and the bed was really comfortable. Overall, a great hotel in the centre of Bristol and despite it's central location, it was really quiet. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others when looking for a nice hotel in the centre which is far better than your average budget hotel and has far more character. For £20 more than the Ibis, it was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It costs £94 according to the website and is set to increase to £99 later this month, we booked via Thomas Cook and paid £199 for 2 nights including dinner on the first night and breakfast both days. The food was fantastic both for the evening meal and for breakfast. The rooms were sizeable, but fairly standard and the bed wasn't the most comfortable I have slept in. I was also a bit surprised to find that the windows didn't open especially in the smoking rooms. The location is fantastic and Bristol is a great place to go for a night out. Taxi's in Bristol are expensive, so I'd recommend asking the hotel for a map and walking - it's actually quite easy to navigate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Beautiful hotel, small but nice room. Car parking was expensive and yet another UK hotel with no free wifi. Restaurants over the road in harbour area were all really good.
Convenient location and really nice pool and gym too

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a lovely old hotel in a brilliant location in the heart of Bristol. You can see most of the downtown sights just by strolling around from the hotel.
It is a hotel from a bygone era, a little tattered in spots, but it is classy tat.
As with many older hotels that have modernised it suffers from some limitations. The bedrooms are lovely and the en-suites are fine, but it is all just a but squeezed in to get the facilities into bedrooms that were never designed for them. As a result the bedrooms suffer in comparison with modern hotels. But this hotel has the kind of character that you just can't buy.
Sadly they have a policy of charging guests for internet. Why, why, why? Please come into the 21st century! Internet in bedrooms has to be standard!
I also have a dislike of hotels that stuff the bedside tables with holy books, while flogging porn movies on the TV. How hippocritical is that? I find both of them to be awkward impositions.
Breakfast was stunningly good, and all round the service was of a high standard, albeit mostly Eastern European rather than Bristol natives.

Room Tip: None of the windows open, sadly. I can't see why. I don't buy the "safety" argument.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We decided to stay here because it is a fantastic location when going to see the Lion King at Bristol Hippodrome. Due to work commitments we were in a major rush, arriving at the hotel within an hour and a half of the show starting! It has to be said, that checking in was VERY slow. I think it took around 20-25 minutes, but the piano was playing while we were waiting and hot chocolate was offered to us (although I think coffee is a better option!). The receptionist apologised for the wait. When we explained how much of a rush we were in, and that we wanted food, she rang the kitchen to see if there was gluten free food available for me. There was a huge selection!

Boy were we glad to order club sandwiches for room service. I've genuinely never had such amazing gluten-free club sandwiches! The charge was reasonable too, which we were glad about.

The room was very nice,spacious with a very comfortable bed, but the bathroom was obviously grand once, but has lost it since that point in time.

We returned after the show to have some drinks before bed. I ordered a dacquiri (think it was a lavender and berry one?) which was lovely, and we had great service from the staff. In the morning, we casually arrived to breakfast. We don't normally arrive casually as breakfast isn't usually available as long as the bristol marriott royal hotel is. The options at breakfast was excellent- full cooked buffet breakfast (which I don't normally like but all was fresh), waffles, nutella, cereal, pastries, huge range of fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, cold meat, porridge. An excellent time all round!

We actually needed accommodation the following night (saturday) but the prices rose so much between the friday and saturday that we considered it wasn't worth the extra amount... instead we left, full from a tasty breakfast, happy feeling like we got value for money and satisfied after a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YamenBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews