We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal is the name but not the game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I had picked this place thinking it would be a comfortable 10-day stay in a luxury hotel. Well the name kind of gave it away but the actual stay disappointed. Even with an upgrade to a suite, the stay was equivalent to a 3 star US hotel. The bathroom was really behind their time, soap was a luxury, bed was not so royal and the carpet was as old as several kings ago. The breakfast was the typical US 'try to be' with minor differences: At some point, flies were actually feeding off the blocks of cheese that looked the same each morning and the grapefruit juice tasted as if it was dishwasher liquid tainted. Internet was ok and free with the upgrade. Location was conveniently located near restaurants and a walking distance to large area shops. In summary, English hotel ratings is inferior to that in US and since I am a Marriott fan I prefer it over other ones I stayed in. So Marriott staff: please replace the carpet and pay more attention to hygiene and will call you a 4 star. You really have 3 more weeks before my next visit so start working. Kindly a Marriott Gold member.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade it is worth it if you are an internet user and a stay in for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesCharles431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,647 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our room which was on the 3rd floor was a superior room and found it very comfortable. Cleaning was good and efficient and the the room was always available. The staff in the hotel are very pleasant and offer a very good service standard without being over bearing. Food in the restaurant is sensible limited and of good quality. The hotel is very well situated for buses, the docks, shops, and the SS great Britain. Catch a bus to Clifton but it is an easy walk back. Would recommend this note for the staff and location.

Room Tip: Third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicklesFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

non working internet, very old and broken bed, two faucets in the sink (normal for UK but would expect a more modern setting in a marriott). the only positives were a friendly staff and a nice location and setting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAFRMIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Amazingly well refurbished hotel. A modern hotel with a classic feel. Modern luxury within the rooms of a classic building. Very friendly staff and food is wonderful. Beautifully decorated bar areas and lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tengtannd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Booked a last minute stay at this hotel and all i can say is wow once again, we booked the junior suite and the room/bathroom was massive. The spa bath was very relaxing and was perfect before our night out. We went out in the afternoon and returned early evening to find chocolate strawberries waiting for us, this was lovely with the bottle of champagne we took. Breakfast was very busy in the morning but this didnt bother us. Would i recommend this hotel? This was our 5th time staying here so hell yes i wpuld

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at this hotel & I'm sure we will be back again. We stayed on the 3 night package with afternoon tea, our room was great and the bed was so comfortable, only downside was the noise of the generators under our window but once we knew what the noise was we could sleep! (avoid the rooms on 2nd floor close to the main lifts as these look onto the the generators)
Breakfast as usual in a marroitt hotel was fab & loads of choice. Yes the bar prices are expensive but the champange cocktail was worth the price.
All the staff we came into contact with were very polite and only too happy to help.
Thank you Marriott for another great stay, we are already planning another trip....although maybe when it's a bit warmer!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, steam room and jacuzzi etc and the bed was extremely comfortable. Excellent central location and the breakfast was plentiful, tasty and fresh.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £71 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel in Bristol captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. A gem in the United Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing