We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and stylish hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have stayed several times in this Hotel for business purposes. It is very centrally located and close to many restaurants and bars. A walk to Clifton area at the afternoon/evening is a must. The Hotel is a typical old British traditional and stylish one. The stuff is very friendly and customer oriented. Rooms at the upper floors are better and more quiet. The breakfast is good - you can get almost everything and at good quality. The lobby is busy and ideal for business travelers. I fully recommend the Bristol Marriott Royal.

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the Cathedral and at the upper floors are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makhamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

6 of us had an enjoyable weekend away at the Royal Marriott. Our room was on the Mezzanine floor which was noisy on a Friday afternoon, we think we were right above the car park entrance. On asking reception they moved us to the third floor without quibble and it was much quieter. The room was nice enough, good shower but overall the bathroom was a bit tired and could do with a refurb but perfectly good for our needs. The communal parts of the hotel were of a high standard. Great breakfast with plenty of choice and best of all they take Clubcard vouchers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damo_M_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed here on business and chose this property mainly because of its location in relation to my workplace. I have stayed here in the past but not very recently.

The hotel certainly looks very picturesque when you first arrive. Check-in was fine, curteous and efficient - with very well-trained "friendly" staff.

I did find that the rooms and non-public areas really start to show their age - although there is nothing really to complain about: my room/suite was very spacious indeed.

I was a little disappointed with the room-service menu - it is rather limited. However breakfast is somewhat better, although it for no particular reason has a very "canteen"-like feel.

Overall a perfectly fine hotel, but lacking a little in atmosphere.

Room Tip: I would try to avoid the lower floors for 2 reason: firstly the noise from traffic and the livelier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPG_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Visited with a small coach party of 30 people. Expected to be placed in second rate rooms and get matching food and service. All of the group however were very pleased with the quality of their rooms and the food quality and quantity was appreciated by all. The evening dinners were attractively presented, well cooked and enjoyable. Breakfast buffet selection was excellent and the hotel had no problems dealing with my gluten free requirement. The warmth and genuine friendliness of the staff, even under pressure of a busy weekend, was appreciated by all of our party. Only criticism was the rather tired mattress in our room which uncomfortably tilted you to the centre of the bed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend in January for my birthday for a treat and thoroughly enjoyed it! The decor of the building is beautiful. The location is fantastic being right on park street with lovely shops and local restaurant ‘Sergios’ just 5 minutes walk away. We had afternoon tea and champagne in the drawing room which was such a lovely experience- a must do! Then we had cocktails at the bar in the evening- the cosmopolitan was the best I have ever tasted. The atmosphere of the hotel is very 'royal' indeed. The spa is clean and relaxing also. Overall, a luxurious birthday treat in the charming city of Bristol!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AutumnSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here a couple of times this year. First time in the Royal Suite, an amazing suite with views of the cathedral. Brilliant way to celebrate for a special occasion at a reasonable price. Last stay was an executive room, again, a spacious clean room. The hotel is a little bit dated and the bathrooms could do with a refit but they are clean and tidy. Staff are outstanding, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Bristol is a great place and the hotel is central to most places. I've stayed in most of the hotels in Bristol and this is my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Upper floors and a Cathedral views are normally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icancitdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Faultless ! ! Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend, could not find any fault with this hotel and being an ex-hotelier I am not easy to please. Excellent location, superior room was large and beautifully furnished, including plants (lovely touch), bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the linen was top quality. In fact it felt as if bed, linen, pillows and duvet were all brand new - surely an impression which all hotels should strive to achieve for their guests. The bathroom was spacious with a good selection of toiletries. Finally, the best part was the staff. Without exception, every member of staff was cheerful, smiling, friendly and efficient - well done. I have to ask - is this training, or are their recruitment methods spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £70 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing