We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved (and still has smoking rooms)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I thought I had better write this, after previous reviews of the hotel.....

Much improved! Service was what I expected of Marriott (in some places it exceeded it)

They still have smoking rooms (which the other Marriott in Bristol does not)

Biggest Gripe - they now print your invoice on thermal-type-paper - ludicrous, you lose half the invoice if the paper gets warm

Room Tip: if you want a smoklng room, phone the front desk when you make your online reservation
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,171)
There are newer reviews for Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 20+ years ago when I first opened as a swallow royal!
Pure class then and still the same now!
The restaurant is excellent and well worth visiting.
Breakfast room is huge with a great range of items.
Nice pool and gym. Could maybe do with a bit of a spruce up but overall this is a world class hotel and restaurant.


Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Joynesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

One of the best hotels I've every used. My only complaint is that they charge for parking!
I'm a Marriott Gold customer and I presume my room was upgraded. The room was spacious by European standards. Had a room overlooking the cathedral. Breakfast was a complete full breakfast with made to order eggs, cereals, meats, cheese, fruit, etc. Room was spotlessly clean. Enjoyed the tea and small cakes each evening in the room. I used the fitness center - could use a better space, but it wasn't bad. Kind of interesting in the basement facility with the painted brick walls. But well equipped - I was pleased. I did not use the pool or spa, but it was quite impressive looking. The bar was nice, including a nice mini menu. The staff were all friendly and nice. They did charge me for newspapers, but since this was not disclosed to me upon check in, they removed the charge.

The hotel is on College Green. Very close to the waterfront restaurants and pubs. A 5 minute walk to the Hippodrome theater. Lots of great places to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCtraveler1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A little mix up on check in.....receptionist very helpful and all was sorted efficiently.
We had king size room on Mezz level.......lovely room at back of building away from traffic, however Friday night and we could hear the drunks piling out of clubs........Actual room noise from other guests virtually non existent.
Bathroom clean with nice big fluffy towels as you would expect in a quality hotel....hot water took a long time coming through.
Restaurant for dinner ...good..piping hot food and breakfast hot buffet..plenty to choose from... Well managed.
Fruit bowl, left in room on return from theatre...generous proportions.
our only complaint was the lumpy bed....felt a bit like sleeping in a bowl of porridge.
The hotel was lovely full of character, staff all pleasant and helpful........would certainly return.
Never had time...but nice indoor pool.
Checkout...no problem.
THIS HOTEL I ideal position for theatre and shops, railway and bus routes. Close to docks and S.S Great. Britain.
Fantastic and thankyou the management and staff.

Room Tip: Get a room at back...avoid traffic noise. Our room a long way from lift ....anyone with walking dif...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked a room in the Marriott royal Bristol to stay overnight before a conference on the following morning.... Bad. The hotel is old, the carpets are dirty, the bathrooms look like they haven't been refurbished since 1950 and the corridors look dirty too. I wouldn't recommend staying there, it is not the cheapest either

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Some of the rooms here are great, others are really average. The food is good and the location is great. Also, really like how the pool and gym are in the old basement, which is really quirky but works really well.

Room Tip: Try and get something on a high floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A lovely hotel that has character and charm the newer modern box simply can't and don't have. Hotel rooms are large and well appointed even at the lower end. There has clearly been a lot of investment to keep a building like this so nice. With the modern approach to the dinning room matched lobby that showcased the hotel heritage that we had a lovely afternoon tea in.

The things I don't like are an inability to open the room windows and why Marriott use parking eye in there car park is beyond me. Had bad experience in the past with them as there no common sense used.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yachty4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £72 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing