We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room 1219”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The bed sags in the middle, which makes for an uncomfortable night's sleep for two heavy people. It is surprising for this hotel, where beds are normally firm. Also the room faces outward, and is only on the second floor, so traffic noise from Anchor Road can clearly be heard, as you struggle to find a comfortable position on the soft mattress. In the bathroom the sink's "marble" worktop is caked with years of limescale at the base of the taps. Otherwise, the bedroom and bathroom function well and are clean and comfortable.

The hotel's restaurant has never been busy on the occasions when I have eaten dinner there and the food has been excellent. Breakfast by contrast is busier.

Room Tip: Room 1219 has a sagging bed and at night traffic noise can clearly be heard.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,172)
There are newer reviews for Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,172 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel is one those special historic hotels that when visiting this area you should take advantage of.The rooms are large and most enjoyable. The front desk staff are most helpful. The breakfasts are unbelievable . You name it and it is there for you. The location is superb and with easy walking distance of the High Street shops and restaurants are also very easy to reach by foot.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are quite special.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for first time weekend visdit to Bristol. Lovely central location next to Cathedral and waterfront.Got £30 upgrade for room. Excellent service free 1/2 bottle of wine.Rooms clean and effective. Excellent spa and swimming facilities.B/fast was good with good a la carte options. Staff can appear rushed at times but overall very good. Only problem was car parking..very tight and charging per day instead of 24 hours means you end up paying for three days when arriving friday evening and leaving sunday morning...a bit oif a ripp off!!

Room Tip: ask for last minute upgrade
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caramelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked through Superbreak as we were gifted a voucher. Upon arrival the hotel had no notification of our booking from Superbreak. However when we produced our confirmation from Superbreak we were soon booked into a quiet room as requested, 4th floor away from the road. The room itself and its fixtures were of a high standard and well presented and clean if a little on the small side. We were booked in for two nights B&B with one dinner. The dinner was very good if potentially expensive if you were paying for it outwith a package. The choice at breakfast was the usual selection of hot and cold buffet items with plenty of choice. Hotel is centrally located and easy to find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonjbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Loved our stay in this hotel. Traded in some avios for a special weekend, and this was definitely one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. Staff were all super helpful and friendly, room was luxurious and the shower was superb!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kasakaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I visited it a year ago with friends, to see bristol city. what a day for us, we have to stay there with no options as bus service were not in work. decided to choose this one, but it comes to our memories when we enjoyed a lot with new year days there. 1st jan 13 though it was Tuesday. Helpful and friendly staffs and manager. It is having SPA but we have not used that one -seems to be very good. we have good enjoyable 1st night there with many facilities like wi-fi and good menu of foods. enjoyable, comfortable clean, with good quality in all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prem26bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Checked in mid-evening, hotel was very busy. Staff welcoming and efficient, three others checking in but all dealt with v quickly.

Given a room upgrade on arrival, a nice touch wherever you stay. Large, quite comfortable room. Free wifi and parking in room rate, likewise breakfast.

Care clearly paid to room cleanliness, relatively new tv and other equipment.
Breakfast very good choice, good restaurant atmosphere.

I would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £65 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing