We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on Valentine's Night. The hotel is in a great location right next to the Cathedral and not far from the shopping quarter and museums. The building itself looks rather grand and inside doesn't disappoint. The staff were welcoming and check in was swift. On reaching the room, it was spacious and clean though the view wasn't fantastic compared to some of the other rooms.
We had dinner a the hotel restaurant called Walter's. Again the staff were very welcoming and attentive. For starters we had the scallops and they were faultless. Lovely and tasty and succulent although the crabcake that came with it was slightly too dry. For mains I chose the belly pork and my partner the hake. The belly pork was cooked just to my liking and the lentils that came with it full of flavour. My partner's hake dish was heavenly. In fact, I wish I had that!
Well worth dining here although there are loads of great restaurants in Bristol.
Breakfast is buffet style although they do have a chef to cook your eggs. Good choice of foods on offer and it set us up for the rest of the day.
Checking out was seamless. would definitely go back again as a treat to ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to put such great comments on trip advisor, it was really good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over Valentines and your trip to Bristol a success, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,416 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Good location, very close to all restaurtants and clubs. Nice and friendly team, very helpful and knowledgeable. We had a nice room overlooking cathedral which was also very quiet. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for breakfast earlier on Saturday and Sunday to avoid the wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScorpioE61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked a night here as a Valentine's treat for my husband. We had tickets for a valentine's concert in the nearby Colston hall so it was very convenient. We enjoyed a swim in the pleasant indoor pool after a warm welcome from a delightful receptionist Lopa. She was the most charming receptionist we have ever encountered on our frequent hotel stays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope you enjoyed the concert in Bristols Colston Hall, a great venue. We will also ensure Lopa is recognised for her excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a business conference. From arrival staff were exceptional, check in easy, and a glass of cranberry juice, just what i needed after a tiring flight from skiing! Room very big and spacious, with well proportioned bathroom! Only downside in this hotel was our conference dinner, which was adequate at best. The main course was chicken which still was half pink , and the desert ( a tart) was extremely soggy!
I would definitely stay at this hotel again, but perhaps not eat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medic2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Public Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for providing feedback on trip advisor, we were pleased to hear you enjoyed your welcome drink and the bedroom met your expectations. Our Executive Chef is concerned about the food quality comments and is keen to establish which event you attended so he can undertake an investigation. I would be grateful to hear from you to establish these details.

Kind regards
Alison Jones
alison.jones@marriott.com
01179105307

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at The Marriot and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to a King size room which was lovely and spacious. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. The complimentary bath products were limited - just shampoo, body moisturiser and bath gel. No shower cap, sewing kit, conditioner etc.
The breakfast was very good, offering a full cooked English buffet, fresh fruits, pancakes and cold meats and cheeses. The service was excellent throughout from all members of staff.
The only thing that let the hotel down was the parking charges (an additional £30 for 2 nights). I feel that the room charges should be increased to include parking so you know exactly what you are paying.
The hotel is in an ideal position, close to bars, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night while traveling through the South-West of England with some friends in December 2013. The hotel is in a lovely building and well-located in the city centre. While the rooms are large and well maintained, the corridors and the lobby areas do look a little dated and dark. If you are staying here, I would strongly recommend opting for the add-on breakfast which was quite substantial and good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metaxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The public areas are well maintained, great atmosphere and excellent standard of interior design. The bedrooms need a renovating. The corridors unkempt (trays left, scuffed walls, dirty carpets and quite worn). Having stayed there for two nights in different rooms the standard of housekeeping was far superior in the second room. Good water pressure. The bedding good normal Marriott. No evening reception though and what winds me up is having to pay for wifi - grrrrr! Room service took ages ... 50 mins for a bucket of ice. Why not just have an ice machine?!

Would i stay there again maybe .... it was good but not that good look for a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We were very sorry to learn of the impact our guest corridors had on your visit, this was not our intention. Your detailed comments have been taken on board very seriously and will be share amongst our operational team for future leanring's, in particular our engineers, housekeepers and IR areas of the business. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with this valuable feedback. We really do hope this will not deter you from returning to our hotel should you find yourself back in Bristol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £71 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel in Bristol captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. A gem in the United Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing