We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, great position in Bristol, but no free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Cant fault the hotel for ease of parking (although had to pay extra), our room was clean and decor was very nice. View from room not very good, but we only wanted an over night stay so that wasnt really an issue. It is in easy walking distance of the theatres, restaurants and attractions at the harbourside. Had to sleep with the air con on, as couldnt open the window and it got quite warm for us. Breakfast was excellent, buffet style. The only suprising downside was no free wifi, which I found hard to understand. I think it could at least be set that you need a code to use, especially if you are staying.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I love it - simple as.

Picture the scene - Saturday afternoon I arrived at a Travel Lodge in Bath only to find the twin room that had been booked was a double, so in the interests of masculine safety and thanks to the unhelpful staff, I ended up sleeping on the floor. Fast forward 24 hours and I found myself stood in the lobby of the Marriot Royal, a smiling receptionist checking me in and the gentle hum of people buzzing around.

Arriving at my room I was greeted by two large, soft and comfy beds, plenty of towels and the Sky Sports F1 channel on the tv.....I was already happy.

As the race finished I had a wonderfully warm shower before wandering down to the bar for a drink. A warm smile and greeting was offered by the reception staff as I walked past, and I was soon sat at my table in the bar having a beer with some complimentary nibble waiting for my wife to arrive.

After an excellent nights sleep we headed for breakfast where once upon we were immediately made to feel welcome before diving in to the diverse buffet accompanied by tea of a proper strength.

If I could afford to I would stay at this hotel every weekend, it is quite simply phenomenal in all aspects. Friendly and helpful at all times, the staff are always on hand to help with any requirement or issue, they really are a credit to the company.

In summary, having visited Marriot hotels all over the country and world, I would say this is one of the finest places to stay the UK has on offer - a place to try at least once before you die.

Thank you Marriot for a wonderful evening.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here for a night and had a great stay. The room had an extra inner door which made it very peaceful despite being a very large and, as it turned out, fully booked hotel. Breakfast was good and they had gluten free bread which is always a nice surprise, but perhaps to be expected in a hotel of this size and stature. One small but irritating negative, you have to pay for WIFI, think £15 for 24 hours. This seems very mean-minded when you paying £160 for a room for the night. Can't remember the last time we paid for WIFI in a hotel. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are pleasant. We were warned breakfast would be busy, but we were seated straight away and service was good.

Room Tip: We had an executive room on the third floor, 1301, even though it's opposite the lift you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012 while attending Crimefest - the international crime fiction convention. I was surprised to find out that they were charging for wi-fi - I think it was 10 pounds per day at the time. I questioned the staff about this and was told that they were locked-in to a contract with the provider and that the policy would probably change.

Well, we are planning to attend this year's Crimefest in May and just received hotel information from our tour organizer. We will be staying in three other hotels in Cornwall and Oxford, as well as the Marriott in BristoI, and each of them offers free wi-fi. I was shocked to see that the Marriott is still charging for wi-fi and that it would now cost 15 pounds a day! We Americans would be paying more than $25 a day for this service. No thank you, Marriott. If the the pub across the street still offers free wi-fi, that's were we will be.

On the positive side, the Marriott does have a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredgtjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, I can confirm that wifi is available free in bedrooms as a Gold Marriott Reward member and available free in public areas of the hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely hotel and staff. Room clean/comfy, Breakfast was plentiful. Hotel central to where we needed to be. (Very close to Bristol Hippodrome & Docks) They do charge you for parking £15, But you have peace of mind that your car is safe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Visited as a younger couple thinking we may feel slightly out of place but was be no means disappointed. Made to feel very welcome at all times.

Loved the gym and spa facilities, made a nice change from the day job! Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was superb. Not overpriced either for the high quality of the food.

Located in the centre of everything you'd like to do in Bristol really, really couldn't find one negative! Will return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £71 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing