We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel before, two years ago, but my three night stay this time has made me realise just what a great hotel this is. Things got off to a great start when I was entered the hotel via the car park and met a lovely member of staff called Claudia, who was busy cleaning the floor but nevertheless took me all the way up to reception in the lift and made me feel very welcome.

From then on I really noticed that everyone working in the hotel, no matter what they were doing, made a point of smiling and saying hello. Makes you realise that actually this level of friendliness and courtesy is now quite rare in the world of corporate chain hotels. The barman who mixed us a mango bellini (on his, spot on, recommendation), the reception staff, the room cleaners, the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant - all of them were lovely.

Everything else about the hotel was great - food, room, bathroom, cleanliness, atmosphere - brilliant. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
It was great to read your comments about our hotel and associates, its such a boost to be recognisised for the fantastic, qualtiy custome service Marriott is reknown for, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    786
    264
    116
    61
See reviews for
395
841
68
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed a three or four nights a week at the Bristol Royal for about a month on business. The hotel is very centrally situated and the prettiest part of Bristol and the College Green area beside is very pretty. The building itself is stunning - old English architecture at its best - and the decor has been tastefully done including a couple of comfy, homely bars.

There are quite a number of rooms at this hotel but for a Marriott, they were pretty average. Whilst they were very clean, they were a little dated and the bathrooms especially had seen better days - the marble sink tops in all of the rooms I stayed in were chipped or cracked, the sinks themselves were the same, I had a ripped shower curtain and cracked tiles. The decor itself in the bathrooms is relatively 'grand' so it looks more like a tatty stately home - which is to say it's just about getting away with it. Other than that, the rooms are totally generic but lacking the sharpness of the Marriott that I usually see - in the London hotels for example. There is no iPod dock, no slippers etc.

The main bar at the hotel is very warm and welcoming with a real fire. The drinks prices are exorbitant like most hotels and I would recommend stepping out into the surrounds as you're surrounded by pubs, cafes and restaurants. The hotels own restaurant 'Walters' is trying to be 'great' and scraping an 'average to good'. The nights I did eat there I had a luke warm goat's cheese tart and an overcooked sirloin and the portions are very meagre for the price - you get about 8 chips with your steak and a tiny (I mean teeny weeeeeeeeny tiny) pot of bearnaise sauce. It feels mean rather than selective - good example, I asked for salad instead of chips with my steak, one night - it came in a tiny bowl and whilst it was nice, salad ain't exactly filling! The staff are lovely which makes up for the shockingly poor atmosphere in the restaurant - no music, hardly any patrons, it isn't great!

For food I'd recommend skipping over the road to Turtle Bay - great Caribbean food, or trek up the massive hill to Browns, or get a cab a 10 minute ride to Lido which has great food! There are loads of chain and independent restaurants within walking distance so I'd definitely eat out - and it's a lot cheaper.

The hotel does have a gym which is a small collection of machines in a very small room - you'd be better off burning the calories walking up the hill! There simplt aren't enough machines, it's quite airless and you're on top of everyone else - beware trying to get past the cross machines when someone is on the rowing machine - you need Indiana Jones skills!

There is also parking at this hotel - I think it's £14.50 or thereabouts for 24 hours and it's basically a multi storey car park underneath the hotel. You enter the car park down a little nook to the left of the main entrance at the front of the building. Beware using a sat nav - it takes you to the road at the rear of the hotel where you exit the car park!

Overall I would stay here again, ultimately it has clean, comfortable rooms, onsite parking and is right in the centre. I think Marriott have some work to do though to improve their facilities and food quality to match their wonderful staff!

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping, ask for an inward facing room as a number of rooms are directly above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionHeartedGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

booked this hotel on phone 2 hrs before arrival, no problem £120 plus parking £14.50 fine,deal accepted, got reference number off to check in, all fine until asked to pay, oh the rate is now £130.. gone up quick i thought, but cant do as i have a reservation reference number!
no no no.....not even with reference number its £130.. so be aware u grt bullied and ripped off, duty manager spoke awful english(german)... was give 2 no drinks vouchers..hmm ok, till got to bar, baileys coffee £5.50 to pay with voucher OMG what a rip off..and wrong..plus side best bed ive slept in and pillows were excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genehunt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, and I apologise for the challenge you encountered with the rate amendment, I agree this should not have been the case and the initial rate should have been honoured against your booking reference number. I do hope this incident will not deter you from continuing to use the Marriott Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked the stay for Bristol 10k, have to say Hotel looks great and definitely seems good value for the money, I was initially surprised, room was nice and clean, but sadly not enough glazing to keep the noise of the town out on a Saturday night, i finally gave up trying to sleep, at three am and rang to change room, I had to be up by six, young chap did organise another room quickly without having to move all my stuff and across the hall, at least I could get some sleep, I have never in my life stayed in a hotel I couldn't sleep and would advise bringing ear plugs in case you end up at the back of the hotel by the busy road and Saturday night revellers, managed to drag myself out of bed to get to breakfast and no one to show you to your seat, although it is clearly written to wait!! Gave up in the end as I started to doubt if the sign actually meant wait to be seated for breakfast, a real shame as it had the makings of a good stay but sadly looks can be deceiving !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are truly sorry and apologise for the challenges you encountered during your recent stay, which ultimately had an impact on the event you had entered on Sunday, please be assured that your comments are taken on board very seriously and will be addressed with our operational team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for Saturday night over May bank holiday for our 30th anniversary, Lots going on in Bristol so great that the hotel has a secure car park and that the hotel is in a great position near the quays. upon a very quick and efficient check in we were offered a complementary drink a very nice touch, I had requested a high floor room, and the room was very clean,with the usual amenities ,and a wonderful view overlooking the cathedral what was a lovely touch was the chocolate covered strawberries and card wishing us an enjoyable anniversary.We used the spa whilst we were there and this was most welcome after a day of walking around Bath, it is decorated to look like a Roman spa and the sauna and steam room very warm with a large Jacuzzi. As this was a bank holiday and very busy the hotel did put out notices to advise that the breakfast room would be busy at certain times but due to the efficiency of the waiting staff we did not find this a problem and the breakfast was very plentiful and fully stocked. Overall a most pleasant stay and one I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located by College Green this hotel gives easy access to the harbour and all the restaurants there. It's maintained its opulent marble, brass and dark wood from its glorious heyday. Staff are always helpful, efficient and polite. The hotel is up to the standards you would expect for a Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

As a Marriott it's a fairly known quantity. Rooms are a good size, front of house always efficient, great breakfast etc. Of the 2 Marriott venues in Bristol this is the superior one. On the flip side it is in need of some care around the bathrooms, and the wear and tear is quite noticeable when compared with, for example, the Hilton hotels in Bath and Bristol.
So still a good place to be, but some money will need to be spent in the next year or two or their hard work in giving good service could be undermined by drab and down at heel appearance of the accommodation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Property: Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing