We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The trick with modernising a grand old Victorian hotel is which bits to polish up and which ones to modernise. The Royal Hotel manages this with the confidence and style. Bedrooms with high ceilings in minimalist cool greys and bathrooms updated in chequered ceramics and chrome. The staff were extremely helpful and the benefits of having relatively cheap parking in the centre of Bristol should not be overlooked. Breakfast was fine although the dining room a little crowded and cramped - perhaps because there was a conference on at the time. As we were down visiting a son at the University, it was the perfect place to base ourselves for the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I booked the restaurant for Sunday lunch to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday and I was horrified at the level of poor service we received from this hotel.
I do not expect to receive such dismal service from a hotel group like the Marriott.
Firstly, we arrived at the hotel and requested a jug of Pimms to be told they do not offer such facility. Only sold by the glass at £4.50 per glass. So the assistant used her intelligence and asked the Manager who permitted the use of a jug to make up Pimms..

What I did not know or was advised at the time of the booking was that the Hotel do not offer Sunday Lunch!
So we arrived at the hotel restaurant to be offered bar snacks in the restaurant for my daughter's celebration meal. The service was atrocious and we waited 45 minutes to be served with bar snacks. The prices are hidious as well. My daughters were served cold chips,pizza that looked like it come from the local Tesco store and they had the audacity to charge for rubbish food being served.
I complained to the Manager as I was not prepared to pay for crap food which was knocked off the bill after my protest.

Be warned do not buy drinks or foods at this hotel as you surely be ripped off. Avoid all costs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I am sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience in our restaurant, I believe you have spoken to our Bars and Restaurant Manager on the day but if you feel that the issue is still not resolved, please do not hesitate to contact her again. I do hope one day you will return to our hotel when we can ensure you have a very enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Grand old building in a perfect location. The staff were most helpful and friendly and the breakfast is great although lacking in originality. But it's expensive and although the rooms are very large, the decor is tired in the bathrooms and the bed is mediocre. The paint was pealing in the bathroom, the toilet paper holder broken and for this price, a bouncy plastic bath! Really? Needs renewal.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jonoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolRoyal, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your comments about our hotel and associates; it's great to hear they were most helpful and friendy. Thank you for the comments on our bedrooms as well, all feedback is looked at by management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were booked in just for 1 night as we were taking in a show at the Hipperdrome.
On arrival we were offered an opportunity to pay an extra £50 for a suite, ordinarily I'd have probably passed, but heck you only live once! Our regular room was nice enough but when I saw the suite we could not resist. Made all the better as it came with a welcome 1/2 bottle of wine & they threw in the parking fee. (a combined cost of probably £35.00) so an added 15 notes. Good call: And well done to the proactive receptionist for getting us to spend a bit more! It worked.

The hotel is lovely, I'm not faulting it, breakfast plentiful although a bit ordinary, got to hand it to the foreign staff, far more smiley and friendly than the local ones!
Would stay again, might be nice for a week end break. Good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraylingDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel before, two years ago, but my three night stay this time has made me realise just what a great hotel this is. Things got off to a great start when I was entered the hotel via the car park and met a lovely member of staff called Claudia, who was busy cleaning the floor but nevertheless took me all the way up to reception in the lift and made me feel very welcome.

From then on I really noticed that everyone working in the hotel, no matter what they were doing, made a point of smiling and saying hello. Makes you realise that actually this level of friendliness and courtesy is now quite rare in the world of corporate chain hotels. The barman who mixed us a mango bellini (on his, spot on, recommendation), the reception staff, the room cleaners, the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant - all of them were lovely.

Everything else about the hotel was great - food, room, bathroom, cleanliness, atmosphere - brilliant. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmicTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

It was great to read your comments about our hotel and associates, its such a boost to be recognisised for the fantastic, qualtiy custome service Marriott is reknown for, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed a three or four nights a week at the Bristol Royal for about a month on business. The hotel is very centrally situated and the prettiest part of Bristol and the College Green area beside is very pretty. The building itself is stunning - old English architecture at its best - and the decor has been tastefully done including a couple of comfy, homely bars.

There are quite a number of rooms at this hotel but for a Marriott, they were pretty average. Whilst they were very clean, they were a little dated and the bathrooms especially had seen better days - the marble sink tops in all of the rooms I stayed in were chipped or cracked, the sinks themselves were the same, I had a ripped shower curtain and cracked tiles. The decor itself in the bathrooms is relatively 'grand' so it looks more like a tatty stately home - which is to say it's just about getting away with it. Other than that, the rooms are totally generic but lacking the sharpness of the Marriott that I usually see - in the London hotels for example. There is no iPod dock, no slippers etc.

The main bar at the hotel is very warm and welcoming with a real fire. The drinks prices are exorbitant like most hotels and I would recommend stepping out into the surrounds as you're surrounded by pubs, cafes and restaurants. The hotels own restaurant 'Walters' is trying to be 'great' and scraping an 'average to good'. The nights I did eat there I had a luke warm goat's cheese tart and an overcooked sirloin and the portions are very meagre for the price - you get about 8 chips with your steak and a tiny (I mean teeny weeeeeeeeny tiny) pot of bearnaise sauce. It feels mean rather than selective - good example, I asked for salad instead of chips with my steak, one night - it came in a tiny bowl and whilst it was nice, salad ain't exactly filling! The staff are lovely which makes up for the shockingly poor atmosphere in the restaurant - no music, hardly any patrons, it isn't great!

For food I'd recommend skipping over the road to Turtle Bay - great Caribbean food, or trek up the massive hill to Browns, or get a cab a 10 minute ride to Lido which has great food! There are loads of chain and independent restaurants within walking distance so I'd definitely eat out - and it's a lot cheaper.

The hotel does have a gym which is a small collection of machines in a very small room - you'd be better off burning the calories walking up the hill! There simplt aren't enough machines, it's quite airless and you're on top of everyone else - beware trying to get past the cross machines when someone is on the rowing machine - you need Indiana Jones skills!

There is also parking at this hotel - I think it's £14.50 or thereabouts for 24 hours and it's basically a multi storey car park underneath the hotel. You enter the car park down a little nook to the left of the main entrance at the front of the building. Beware using a sat nav - it takes you to the road at the rear of the hotel where you exit the car park!

Overall I would stay here again, ultimately it has clean, comfortable rooms, onsite parking and is right in the centre. I think Marriott have some work to do though to improve their facilities and food quality to match their wonderful staff!

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping, ask for an inward facing room as a number of rooms are directly above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionHeartedGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

booked this hotel on phone 2 hrs before arrival, no problem £120 plus parking £14.50 fine,deal accepted, got reference number off to check in, all fine until asked to pay, oh the rate is now £130.. gone up quick i thought, but cant do as i have a reservation reference number!
no no no.....not even with reference number its £130.. so be aware u grt bullied and ripped off, duty manager spoke awful english(german)... was give 2 no drinks vouchers..hmm ok, till got to bar, baileys coffee £5.50 to pay with voucher OMG what a rip off..and wrong..plus side best bed ive slept in and pillows were excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genehunt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your comments, and I apologise for the challenge you encountered with the rate amendment, I agree this should not have been the case and the initial rate should have been honoured against your booking reference number. I do hope this incident will not deter you from continuing to use the Marriott Group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £70 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing