We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Central”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Central Hotel with very good facilities and convenient car park. Food was just about ok for my expectation, the service, rooms and over all feel of this hotel is outstanding. You can walk to number of shops, restaurant and places of interests within minutes. not the cheapest but worth it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBMK1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    793
    271
    116
    61
See reviews for
404
854
69
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Location: Ideal as it just next to Park street where most of the Bristol night life goes on. It is also right by the harbour, a lovely place to enjoy a drink and food.
Hotel: Wonderful staff, welcome drink served on arrival, Roman style pool with a good gym facilities.

I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutgolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Our location is good for Park street and the waterside, glad you enjoyed your trip to Bristol and that our team made you feel welcome, lets hope you can return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had an overnight stay here in a King/Queen room on the ground floor. What a beautiful hotel, the room was superb, the staff were without exception cheerful and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. It has been a while since I stayed in a hotel that was so well equipped and a room that exceeded all our expectations. The only very slight concern was the parking - the spaces in the secure underground park were very tight indeed, but we managed with our saloon size car. The cost of parking the car here is £15 for the day - but it is a very secure park and saves trying to find a less secure public parking place. WiFi is available for free in the public areas of the hotel, but you pay a premium price for room use. It is not a cheap hotel, drinks and food are higher than eating and drinking out, but you cannot fault the quality and convenience of in house fare. All in all a wonderful overnight experience, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Drive a small car here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for two nights having been bought a Marriott gift token for our 40th wedding anniversary. The location of the hotel was excellent, only a few minutes walk from the harbour area and the many restaurants and bars. The staff couldn't have been nicer, and we both felt that they made a fantastic effort to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel itself was well furnished and pleasant. Another plus is that there is a Tesco Express and a similar Morrison's just across the road for those who are not having they stay funded by business.
Now we come to the real downside! Why on earth should I have to pay horrendous charges to use their Wi-Fi? It's free in the City's bars, it's even free on Bristol's busses but Marriott wants to charge me in double figures per day to connect. I just hate this corporate policy. We were both retired, and did not have those sort of resources, whereas the business travel just adds them to the bill. The sooner this sort of charge is consigned to the bin the better!
It would make me think twice about staying at a Marriott again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cayoevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went to watch a show in Bristol , hotel very close to theatre , and also close to quay . Lovely hotel , rooms good , food good and good atmosphere . Room was on the second floor , there was no traffic noise or any noise at all , if we ro to that theatre again we will be staying at the Marriott in College Green again .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night for a conference. Easy access to car park, maybe a little tight but city centre bonus. Check arranged by company so bags taken and placed in room. Service throughout was pleasant and attentive, although prices quite steep. The WiFi charges in this day and age is stupid, been all round world and these prices are high.
Food was OK and served well no issues.
Room 1461 on 4th floor large enough, corner bath strange as very small...
One issue fire alarm went off 4am only worked on certain floors, either none knew about it, they evacuated or stood outside rooms questioning clueless staff....very poor. All in all not bad.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I didn't stay here but an event I was attending used this hotel and I was very impressed with the staff. We had excellent food throughout the two days we were here. The staff were helpful and friendly. They kindly looked after a trolley I had used to transport books from my hotel so I didn't have to take it everywhere with me until I returned to my hotel late that evening. We had a gala dinner there and the food was tasty and served efficiently. Coping with 140 people is a real test and they came through with flying colours. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRSRY, Guest Relations Manager at Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
It was great to see we had assisted you during your attendance at an event, we hope that you will in the future be able to stay with and enjoy more of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Property: Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing