We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2009

A great hotel in the best part of Bristol. The Marriot Royal is a very grand hotel and attracts and older and more business crowd. However, would be equally great for a weekend away.

The staff were friendly and efficient. The pool and spa area is a real retreat and well worth spending some time down there during the visit.

Was upgraded to a suite, which was pretty amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peejay_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,022 - 2,028 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2009

I stayed here and although it wasnt the chepeast room in town it was worth every penny. The whole place has the air of quality about it, the rooms are quite spacious and well appointed. The food was excellent as was the service. The health club was excellent, clean and well equiped and the pool area was fantastic. The only downside was the first night we were in a first floor family size room which took all the noise of the local pubs when they closed and it was reallt noisy, so we moved rooms to the side of the hotel and that was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vennottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My husband, our 12 year old son and I were upgraded to two adjoining rooms in the superior suite floor which was a fantastic surprise. The rooms were huge and clean and beautifully furnished. Lovely fluffy dressing gowns were provided. The pool and jacuzzi were brilliant and the steam room the best we have ever experienced. The £11 charge for car parking for 24 hours was well worth it as the hotel is in a prime location. Parking is secure and in the basement with easy direct access into the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our stay was very enjoyable. The breakfast was varied and of the high standard you would expect of a Marriott. A really beautiful and impressive hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verysweatybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Did not stay at this hotel as we were unfortunately booked into the Travelodge. We could not find our hotel so my husband went into the Marriott to ask for directions. Not only did they do this, they also gave us a ticket for their car park so we could take a short cut through it at no cost rather than work our way through a complex one-way system.

If this is the service they provided to us then I can only imagine that the service provided to guests is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PomPomRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We spent 2 nights here and had the most fantastic time.
The staff had obviously been trained highly in customer service, and were so helpful.
We had a standard room, but I wondered if they'd upgraded us because it was very spacey, great view, lovely large bathroom, and nice and quiet. More than we expected for standard room. Bed had a rather large dip in the middle, not uncomfortable, but a little annoying.
Breakfast was great; there was a large selection of continental style food, as well as full cooked English breakfast. We dined in the hotel restaurant, and our food was cooked to perfection. Wish we saved more room for the deserts!
Only annoying thing was the parking charge of £11 per day, which we felt should have been free or much more discounted for hotel guests.
Perfect for a weekend get-away, location is great too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londoner_8557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I spent two nights in this hotel before traveling to Salisbury. It has a great location to visit Bristol. I'd recommend to ask for a room in a high floor. Mine was in the fourth floor with a queen bed and was perfect. I got an amazing view of the Cathedral from my window and it was quiet despite of the fact that there were wedding receptions both the nights I spent there. I booked through the Marriott website and I paid 94K breakfast included per night. Unfortunately, I must make a complaint about the cleaning staff. The bathroom was not properly cleaned and neither was the room! Really poor for a hotel like this!!! Both breakfast buffet and the room service were good. Staff is extremely nice and gentle!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoSpanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, always smiling. Our room was very spacious, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very adequate in nice surroundings.
Location was fantastic, very central to everything. Have absolutely no complaints.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
Thank tiger004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £70 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing