We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run of the mill 4* chain hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Run of the mill 4* chain hotel in excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

If you visit Bristol and wish to stay in the centre you couldn't stay in a better place. However, with the location you also get the noise... this is inevitable as the hotel is surrounded by busy roads, restaurants and all the panoply of noises you'd expect in the heart of a commercial centre. The building itself is magnificent, inside it was refurbished a while ago and is showing signs of tiredness. For example the public loos are really quite run down and much in need of a lick of paint. The bedrooms are of a good size and with all the usual amenities you'd expect. Food is average (at least the one I had as part of a function), though breakfast is very good. Service is variable, from efficient to scatty. So all in all, it's what you'd expect, business hotel, part of large chain, in the hear of a busy city, no more, no less.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impavidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    757
    249
    109
    57
See reviews for
384
804
68
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed here in February 2008 and really enjoyed ourselves so decided to go back for a weekend. We contacted the hotel a few days prior to arrival to make a request for an upgraded room and were told that our request would be noted on the system. On arrival we were told no note had been made but were offered an upgrade to an a room on the executive floor for an extra £25 per night, we agreed but were very disppointed when we arrived at the tiny room, you don't mind paying extra but when you end up in a room that had clearly not been cleaned properly and is tiny you do feel a bit cheated. The mud on the floor and the empty pill bottle under the bedside cabinet were a big giveaway of this, also the sheets did not fit the bed!! I went to reception with the empty bottle and we swiftly moved to a far larger room which did contain the extras that we were expecting, such as enlarged bed, bath robes etc. They also waived the £25 per night charge, thankyou. In the evening we had dinner included in the Palm Restaurant, which was superb and we had excellent service from a young Goan Waitress. Everything was going pretty well until Sunday morning when we woke to find no hot water in the bathroom, we called reception and were told that an engineer was looking into the matter and were offered 20% off of the room rate, which was a very nice gesture but does not get you clean!?! Upon checking out we were served by a rather rude young lady, who got quite uppity when I asked for the manager's email address, so that I could send in a complaint. We have stayed in many Marriott hotels over the yars, and never had any real issues, however the Marriott Standards do not seem to be being adhered to here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

I visited this hotel for a business conference and found it to be distinctly lacking in many areas. Mainly: the public areas and facilities were grubby, messy and very tatty (broken toilet locks, posters with offers expiring the previous month etc. But by far the WORST part was the car park! To start with, on arrival the car park has a small, grimy sign approx 6" square that you won't see unless you are literally kerb crawling the very busy road it is on. You then drive into a desolate and quite oppressive "cave" of a car park. If I was alone at night there, I would be terrified. The whole place seems to have a veneer of niceness, but look more closely and you see broken facilities, stains and marks everywhere.

On leaving, it was a hundred times worse. There are no signs which tell you where you can pay for your car parking, so you naturally assume there will be pay stations on each floor (no). The only pay machine we found AFTER having to trudge all the way back up from 3 floors below ground was broken. The dirty, smelly lift has one tatty sheet dated Sep 09 saying you can only pay by credit card at reception, and given the exoribitant parking charges, most people WILL pay by card. Reception staff are extremely slow and inefficient at processing payments as well; and clearly couldn't care less about my complaints regarding no car park payment signage anywhere.

THEN, after having queued for the exit (which leads onto a very congested main road), the car waiting at the top of the ramp started reversing, which caused me to wait even longer. This delay then caused the exit gates to start closing and I had to hurridly reverse in case the other barrier arm came down onto my car! My colleague behind me then had to call for help at the ticket machine and get them to open the gates manually for me, but unfortunately when she went ahead, the machine rejected her ticket for non payment (she had paid) and she had to call them again! A total shambles - all in all, it took us 45minutes just to pay for our parking and get out of the car park! The only bright point were the event and porter staff who were charming and proactive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_J_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed here with a friend on the night before her wedding. The location is great, right in the heart of Bristol's city centre and next to the beautiful cathedral. The first minor irritation was that the lifts weren't working properly - one not all and the other seemed to have a mind of it's own. When we eventually reached our room it was very nice, the bathroom was particularly good and the bed comfortable. The big problem was when the wedding reception disco that was being held there started. The music was so loud - even though we were on the second floor. It wasn't an issue at first as we had the TV on and were chatting, but as it got later and later, the music seemed to get louder and louder. We asked the reception what time it would be finishing and were told 0030. This was annoying as my friend wanted to get an early night in readiness for her big day. As the music seemed to get louder, we asked if there was any chance they could turn it down (being now after 11pm) and were told no as they had a contract to hold the disco until 0030, they wouldn't even request the DJ for it to be turned down. We asked a further 3 times over the next hour and were told the same thing. The disco finally finished around 1am but we soon realised that we must have been sharing the floor with the reception guests as we were now kept awake by banging and shouting until around 4am (also people were returning from nights out adding to the general noise of the hotel). At around 6am the noise started again with people beginning to leave the hotel, so in all we had a maximum of 2 hours sleep. A plus point was that the breakfast we had ordered to be delivered to the room arrived on time and was very good, although we were too tired to eat it. The next fiasco was that the hot water had broken and there was no hot water at all. We were given the option to use the shower in the hotel's spa, not ideal for us to have to walk through the hotel to reach it but we were going to give it a go and requested robes to wear which we had to repeatedly request and wait an age for. They eventually turned up and the lady who brought them had wine with her as a gesture of goodwill. The hot water was then fixed and we could get ready in our room but our room didn't have an external window - the window looked onto the interior of the hotel, meaning for privacy you had to keep the curtain shut and therefore getting ready in a dark room with inadequate lights to make up for the lack of window was very difficult. In all it was a fiasco and very disappointing. The most disappointing thing for us was the attitude of the reception staff who clearly failed to grasp that, although we weren't paying as much as the bride and groom who were holding their wedding reception, we were paying £120 for a room that we could sleep in and they also had a contract with us to provide that, which they did not.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cr7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

This is my favourite hotel in Bristol. It's like visiting your favourite Aunt when you arrive! Bar area needs some attention service wise but overall this is a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Spent 3 nights there on the week end of the 11th. Normally go to the Chepstow Marriott
but they were full so we went to Bristol. This one has the edge on Chepstow. Much quieter but lots to do without taking the car out. Expensive car park but lovely staff, spotlessly clean, excellent food and a stunning dining room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Spent 2 nights at this hotel and wouldn't be bothered to go back just because of the bed.
It was one of those 'friendly' beds where it is impossible to stop rolling into the middle. Whilst there are very good reasons to be in the middle, sleeping is not one of them. It was a big bed, but because the mattress was so poor the sleep was terrible. Couldn't even balance near the edge of the mattress.
We were exhausted on return home and very glad to get back to a decent bed.
Hotel in itself is OK but they need to look at the beds. I expected more from a 4*

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel

Property: Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Address: College Green, Bristol BS1 5TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#7 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a fabulous location next to Bristol Cathedral and the historic waterfront, the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel offers ideal accommodations for enjoying England's southwestern charm. From the moment you arrive, our Victorian-style hotel captivates you with polished marble, warm mahogany and gleaming brass. Spacious rooms offer comfortable furnishings, 24-hour room service, and large work areas with high-speed Internet. For an event, choose our ballroom for 260 guests or a smaller meeting room for intimate gatherings. Enjoy an afternoon tea or cocktail at the Club Bar after your stroll from Bristol's historic sites. For dinner and Sunday lunch, the newly refurbished Walters Restaurant, offering locally sourced regional flavours from the South West. Visit our Roman-style leisure club for the perfect retreat - enjoy a refreshing swim, soothing sauna or invigorating workout. When looking for a luxury hotel in southern England, choose the Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel for its friendly staff and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bristol
Bristol Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing