We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,859)
Filter reviews
1,859 results
Traveller rating
817
733
210
69
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
733
210
69
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskiln restaurantdouble treeglass kilnwarm cookieswelcome cookieon arrivalcity centrelovely hoteltrain stationtemple meads stationreception staffgood sizebusiness tripbreakfast was excellentenjoyable staytwin roomcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,595 - 1,600 of 1,859 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for one night on a weekend. Is a small walk from the centre of Bristol, but not too far out of the way. Greeted with a very clean reception and chocolate cookies which was a nice, friendly gesture. The room itself was really quite small, however very clean and modern. The shower is great, but again bathroom quite small and compact. Unfortunately the nearby church bells woke us up before 9am on the Sunday and continued non-stop for around 45 minutes, so be warned if you're expecting a lie in on the weekend...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkinfieldsofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

I agree with you that our hotel has a great location, easy walk from Temple Meads Train Station and that the City Centre (including Cabot Circus Shopping Centre and Bristol Harbourside) is only a short walk away.

I was very pleased you felt that the hotel had a ‘very clean reception’ area and that you felt the ‘chocolate cookie’ on arrival was a ‘friendly gesture’. The ‘cookie’ is a signature of the DoubleTree brand and is incredibly popular with all our guests.

I am sorry to read that you were woken up by the Church bells on Sunday morning. Next time you stay with us please inform our Sales team that you would like a room not facing the church so you are able to get your 'weekend lie in'.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stopped at this hotel this week while on a short business trip to Bristol , very nice comfortable rooms and very comfy beds, hotel rooms look really new and quite sumptuous . Wifi was excellent , very nice choice of breakfast food available I would definitely go back to this hotel if I was in the area,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest.

I am delighted that you decided to stop at our hotel whilst you visited Bristol on business. It was a pleasure to read that you felt our rooms were ‘very nice’ with ‘very comfy beds’ and that they look ‘quite sumptuous’.

We very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Bristol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

strange hotel as quite grotty from front but very modern inside. Room was very small but high quality fit-out. The lifts are very slow so allow lots of time if your in hurry

if you like excessive cleaning this is place to go ...had a cleaner in my room when I entered ( 6.40 PM)..still not sure what she was doing and cleaner entered my room at 8.30 am next day to start cleaning - thankfully was wearing something !

parking costs £8 a day which felt a bit steep given the location

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing your recent 4* review regarding your stay with us. I am glad you felt the interior of the hotel was very 'modern' and our bedrooms were fitted out to a high standard. We are very pleased with the £5m we recently spent refurbishing the hotel.

I am sorry you felt that the parking charge was high, we charge £7.50 for overnight parking which we regularly monitor ensuring that we stay one of the most cheapest hotels in Bristol for overnight parking.

I am aware our Director of Operations is in communication with you regarding your feedback about the housekeeping department.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stopped here several times when it was the Ramada and, whilst it was OK, it was looking a little tired. The Double Tree has been refurbished to a decent standard and is all the better for it. reception is on the first floor and boy do the lifts like going down to the Ground floor before coming up again. A petty annoyance but when you just want you bed it's infuriating the amount of time you seem to spend waiting for lifts here. Breakfast is still a shambles with queues out of the door while you wait for one gut to seat everyone who wants to gain access. Breakfast Buffet OK with plenty on offer. Good value for money and a great location.

Room Tip: The fifth floor has very little wter pressure in the shower so get a room lower down if you don't like running around to get wet
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest.

I am glad to read that you liked the changes we have made to the hotel and the reception area. We are really delighted with the £5m we have spent refurbishing and rebranding the hotel.

It was pleasing to read that you felt that your stay was ‘good value’ for money and that the hotel is in a ‘great location’ in Bristol. It was also great to read that you felt the breakfast buffet had plenty to offer. I am sorry you had to queue for breakfast; I will ensure your comments regarding your breakfast seating experience are passed onto our Restaurant Manager.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Decent sized, clean rooms, Good buffet breakfast. But restaurant food is a little bland and choice is basically the Wetherspoons esque bar menu, plus a couple of extras. Monkfish special great if you don't like the taste of fish but do like watery runner beans. You won't starve, but its not a culinaire's destination

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank s22urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine G, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 4* review.

I was pleased to read that you felt our bedrooms were of ‘decent size’ and were ‘clean’. It was also good to know you felt the breakfast buffet was ‘good’ however it was disappointing that you did not enjoy some of the other items we offer in our restaurant. I will ensure your comments/feedback is passed onto our kitchen department.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews