We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Business Only” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good for Business Only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was suggested to us as being a suitable hotel for a leisure break and having spa facilities. Big mistake! The hotel is totally devoid of any adequate leisure facilities. This is a business hotel and focuses on the corporate client. The food for breakfast was just about warm though the range of items was good and the waiting staff very polite. The evening meals were over described and generally only adequate though again the staff were attentive. Find one of the many good restaurants in the city, they will certainly be cheaper. Oh and if you are arriving by car don't forget the additional daily charge for parking. This is a hotel for the business meeting crowd.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent review regarding your leisure stay with us. We normally receive very positive feedback from both leisure and business guests with regards to the hotel and the facilities on offer, I am very sorry that you did not feel the same. I was however very pleased to hear that the staff were attentive to your needs and were 'very polite' during your stay with us.

I can confirm that we do regularly monitor our car parking charges ensuring that we remain one of the cheapest hotels in Bristol for overnight guest parking.

If you do decide to stay with us again, we would very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    620
    156
    57
    21
See reviews for
187
595
60
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stay at the Doubletree on average twice a week whilst on business in Bristol and have done so for over nine months. The hotel as ample parking and is within 5 mins walk of Temple Mead train station.
The hotel has a plush reception area and a prompt check-in, the professional and tentative staff are well turned out, helpful and are a credit to the Hilton brand. Rooms are large and well decorated.
Having stayed at most of the Bristol hotels in this range/location, the Doubletree is by far the best.

Room Tip: Certain rooms have stronger Wifi than others. Although I've never had an issue in any of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your recent 5* review and I am delighted to read that you are enjoying your regular stays with us whilst you are in Bristol on business.

I am very pleased to read you liked the hotels 'plush reception area' and that you feel the staff are 'professional', 'well turned out' and a 'credit to the Hilton brand'. I will ensure your comments are put on our Trip Advisor comment board in our staff canteen, so all the team can see them.

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, great location, lovely breakfast!

Stayed two nights Friday-Sunday absolutely faultless!

We were greeted with warm cookies, which were yummy. Rooms were very modern and had everything we needed.

We will be returning this December for christmas shopping!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teamjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your recent 5* review regarding your two nights stay with us. I was delighted to read that your stay at the hotel was 'faultless' and you felt the hotel and your stay was 'fantastic'.

We very much look forward to seeing you again in December when you will be returning to Bristol for Christmas shopping!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The reception staff were most welcoming, especially as we arrived a bit early and they gave us a room. That's where we went off the rails a little, because we had a room with an adjoining door (340) and it wasn't until 1 am that we realised that you could hear everything that was being said in the next room. As the conversations carried on loudly until 3am, we weren't best pleased. We did think about asking for another room, but at 3 am, it's a daunting prospect to get your stuff into another room, so just swallowed it ( although we did mention it at reception). That said, the room was clean, nicely decorated and well furnished. We didn't eat dinner here, but had breakfast which was very good. The only very minor point was that some cereal had been spilt on the steps leading to the seating and nearly every person looked at it, but while we were in the restaurant, it wasn't cleaned up, strange. Not sure why you're charged for parking, why not put this on the tariff, I can understand having a barrier to prevent non residents parking, to charge residents £7.50 is off putting. Perhaps it's because being near the station, a lot of residents do not have a car? That said, the car park was quite full. To be honest I would recommend it and indeed try it again because it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with a connecting door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your 4* review and for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was very sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise from other guests in the hotel and that the Restaurant team were slow at clearing the cereal on the floor. I will ensure your comments and feedback is passed onto the relevant departments.

We do regularly monitor our car parking charges ensuring that we remain one of the cheapest hotels in Bristol for overnight guest car parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here on business, the staff were all very friendly and professional, the rooms very modern, very big high quality flat screen TV, excellent shower and bed. The restaurant was very impressive, excellent wine choice, food choice, service and quality, as was the breakfast experience. The bar staff were great and a good selection of beers offered. The only thing I would say is the layout and tables of the bar just look a little like a canteen, the tables could do with something, even a candle and need splitting up a bit or a few plants/coves. Will definitely stay here again when in Bristol as a great location for the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralGant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that the staff were 'very friendly and professional'. I will ensure your review is posted onto our Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen so all staff members can see it.

Thank you also for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding the bar/lounge layout I will ensure your comments are passed onto our Bar Manager.

We very much look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

A great place to stay, you even get a cookie when you check in. The room was clean and the service was sublime. The lobby was a modern environment which tied in with the guest room. Worth the money and would definitely stay here again whether for business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the recent 5* review and your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you felt the hotel was a 'great place to stay' and that you enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookie that all guests staying at any DoubleTree by Hilton branded hotel receive on arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a really nice hotel. For the price I was paying, I honestly had to do a double-take as I walked through the door. All the public areas are modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are similar. The staff were extremely helpful at all times during my stay. The hotel bar is similarly modern and comfortable. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the city centre, to the pubs and restaurants and attractions. The bonus is the inexpensive parking so very close to the city centre - if you add this saving to the very competitively priced rooms, this place is a winner, and I will definitely be staying here again when visiting Bristol

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbettoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the 5* review you have recently given the hotel. All your comments and feedback are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and with the DoubleTree by Hilton brand.

I will ensure that your comments and feedback are placed on our Trip Advisor board in our staff canteen, so that everyone can see them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Address: Redcliffe Way, Bristol BS1 6NJ, England (Formerly Ramada Bristol City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bristol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Business Hotel in Bristol
#8 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 4 star quality and service in a relaxing and professional environment at the refurbished DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre. Our modern 206 bedroom hotel is situated in the heart of Bristol and is only a 5 minute walk away from Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and close to the M32/M4/M5. Our car park can accommodate up to 150 vehicles and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bristol City Hotel Bristol
Bristol Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing